Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 3D!
This is by far the best example of 3D television I have experienced so far. The film starts as if it is another mediocre excuse to use 3D with a poor quality scene of jellyfish. The scene then changes to a most fantastic 3D treat. If you want to see exactly how good your 3D tv can be then get yourself a copy of this IMAX treat!
Published on 16 Sep 2011 by Rwl Williams

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Average
While the 3D quality is excellent there is a need to move away from productions that showcase the 3D technology. It reminded me of the 3D showcase that occassionally becomes available on SKY 3D to entice its customers to subscribe. It is a series of unconnected trailers. Anyone who has seen the BBC Blue Planet and similar series will be underwhelmed. I did not learn...
Published on 11 Feb 2011 by Michael Cattigan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic 3D!, 16 Sep 2011
By 
Rwl Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX Deep Sea [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is by far the best example of 3D television I have experienced so far. The film starts as if it is another mediocre excuse to use 3D with a poor quality scene of jellyfish. The scene then changes to a most fantastic 3D treat. If you want to see exactly how good your 3D tv can be then get yourself a copy of this IMAX treat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERLAND UNDER THE SEA, 13 Dec 2010
By 
M. Hinks (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A beautiful and clourful underwater documentary -I was totally amazed at rhe bright blues and pinks of the various species of fish and crustaceans With the added bonus of the 3d effects ,this bought the whole documentary to life and with danny elfmans music (he scored edward scissorhands etc) this made for an enchanting trip to discover the fascinating facts that occur beneath the oceans to keep it all in balance A DEFINITE 3D BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent 3d., 8 Aug 2012
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: IMAX Deep Sea [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The 3d in this film , like all the undersea 3d adventures is excellent. 3d really shines for underwater photography. The film features a beautiful soundtrack and alternating narration from john depp and kate winslet. They are speaking to you and it works, there are actually one star reviews complaining the music is too loud, actually they are wrong ,this is mellow music and the words come through clearly. This like most imax products is only 40 minutes long but each minute is fascinating and poignant as we learn that 90% of large fish have been taken out of the sea by overfishing, mankind is very good at wiping out everything in his path though. we have known that for years. Still this is a wonderful 3d movie that inspires awe. It takes place in reef areas mostly and not the deep sea. Those creatures down there in true deep would make a great movie though. This was shown at movie theaters and was NOT done to showcase 3d as one reviewer stated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a bit jack and jill..., 24 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. J. Edmunds "Jim" (Bath, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Very good 3d content, although i'd been hoping for more swim past shots of colourful reefs. The commentary is aimed at the under-twelve market with the interesting info buried amidst a mass of banality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfull 3D movie, 13 Sep 2011
By 
Geoffrey Jones (Blackwater, Hants) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX Deep Sea [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As an owner of a 3D TV I tend to buy what ever they can produce, shame if the rumours about 3D not taking of well enough and that movie makers are thing of stopping making them, watching 3D nature is so interesting and puts them into more perspective for me, I think they are superb and will keep buying them as they produce them. This particular one was worth the hard work by the production crew for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Average, 11 Feb 2011
By 
While the 3D quality is excellent there is a need to move away from productions that showcase the 3D technology. It reminded me of the 3D showcase that occassionally becomes available on SKY 3D to entice its customers to subscribe. It is a series of unconnected trailers. Anyone who has seen the BBC Blue Planet and similar series will be underwhelmed. I did not learn anything new. The use of Johnny depp and the other actor whetted my appetite but in reality do not add to the documentary.

I want more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!!!, 11 July 2014
By 
StephJ (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is by far the best underwater film I have yet seen. Having watched dozens over the past few weeks, I thought I had seen some good ones, but this film sets new standards. The 3D is fantastic, with the clearest underwater images I have ever seen, and the filming in general is first class with wonderful, vibrant colors and amazing sequences.. I loved the sound track, and the narrators, I thought did a great job, with just the right amount of information and some humour.

The content is fantastic - a whole array of fabulous creatures, many of which I have not even glimpsed on those other documentaries. Their feeding and defensive/evasive behaviour is shown like in no other documentary I have seen.

I was totally mesmerised and enraptured by this brilliant production and cannot praise it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imax 3D Deep Sea, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well presented with very good filming. Commentary can be a bit boring with quite of duplication. But is still watchable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent camera work, 24 May 2013
By 
J. Hallam "jhallam" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX Deep Sea [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
More like a Blu-Ray view into an exotic fish tank.
The images are everything - don't expect to be educated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: IMAX Deep Sea [Blu-ray 3D + Blu-ray + UV Copy] [2011] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
3D is stunning and that is what I wanted cos other films converted 3D r rubbish, buy that if u want real 3D on your telly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews