Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To live and die in Japan
I'm sticking my neck out here but I have to say that if you found this novel 'boring' you probably aren't going to like anything by Murakami - 'boring' is lazy reviewing anyway, but there are enough layers in this to put it up there with some of the Japanese writer's most engaging work. It's not supposed to be an exciting adventure or even an odyssey, but a philosophical...
Published 20 months ago by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but fascinating
I am a Murakami fan who would put the Wind-Up Bird Chronicle at the top of my list of favourites.

This trilogy does ramble and would probably benefit from intelligent editing but I can always forgive Murakami all his faults because of the impeccable way that he writes.

I am of the reviewers that like Murakami characters. I like the clean, simple...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by Alexandra Walker


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 1Q84 Book 3, 26 Oct 2011
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
I will assume that if you are considering reading Book 3 of 1Q84 that you have read (and enjoyed) Book 1 and 2. If so, you are in for a treat. This book has taken over my life recently and I have enjoyed every second of reading it. To begin with, Book 3 is a continuation of the previous books - that is, it is not a 'stand alone' novel and will make no sense unless you have read the previous books.

This time, the chapters are told from the point of view of Aomame, Tengo and Ushikawa, who previously offered a 'deal' to Tengo from the New Japan Foundation and who vetted Aomame before she met the Leader. For people who thought the previous books dragged, or meandered, this book will not be for you. Much of this book contains people who are looking for others, while others are hiding. Ushikawa has been told by Buzzcut and Ponytail (the Leader's bodyguards) to trace Aomame. Aomame is in hiding, while Fuka-Eri is hiding in Tengo's apartment.

There are times when Aomame comes very close to meeting Tengo, but somehow events keep them apart. Tengo's father goes into a coma and he spends time with him. His father was a NHK fee collector and one begins to appear throughout the book, visiting and threatening their apartments. Ushikawa begins to find links between Aomame and Tengo and between Aomame and the dowager. As he gets closer, will Aomame evade capture and finally meet up with Tengo? Do the Leader's followers want to hurt her, or do they need her?

This book has a lot of introspection, but it also has a lot of hidden menace, with an undercurrent of violence and threat running throughout the pages. The writing is simply wonderful and the author creates a real sense of what people are feeling. There is one moment when Ushikawa is in the bath, for example, and his thoughts are compared to dogs which "frolicked around" and "chased pointlessly after squirrels," before coming back to Ushikawa who "patted their heads and fastened their collars back on." The writing is excellent, you care about the characters (even Ushikawa) and for an author to sustain the tension in the way he does is breathtaking. If you did not like Book 1 and 2, then you will probably not like this either. Hopefully you did and you will, because this is superb writing and a stunning achievement. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Story Continues, 26 Oct 2011
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
It may only have been a week ago that the first two parts of this story came out, but it feels like ages having to wait for this part. We are back in the world of 1Q84, but we also have another prominent character; we now have alternating chapters between Ushikawa, Aomame, and Tengo (apart from the very last chapter). If you remember, Ushikawa was already in the story, and here we find out a lot more about him and his exact relationship to the cult, Sakigake.

With alternating chapters between three characters, not only has Murakami already created a surreal world very much like our own, but now has added an extra, playing with time, as we read what one character did, and then what the other was doing, thus adding yet another dimension to this complex tale.

Sakigake want to get their hands on Aomame, and so Ushikawa is required to find her, but at the same time Aomame has problems of her own staying hidden, and wanting to find Tengo. Tengo has to deal with his father, who is in a coma, and then passes away. Will Aomame and Tengo ever meet? Read this part of the tale to find out, and find out what ultimately happens, and whether 1Q84 will be left behind for 1984.

This whole tale, including the first two parts has taken in so much. It is surreal, it is fantastical, it is an allegory, as well as being metaphysical and philosophical, and leaves you asking so many questions about the world around us. If you haven't read the first two parts then please don't read this by itself, you do get an idea of some of what has already transpired, but not enough to leave you not scratching your head in bewilderment. This kindle edition does have an active table of contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex, Death, Weirdness and Daikon Radishes,, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. M. Dennison "Mike D" (Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Hardcover)
If you're a Murakami fan you'll love 1Q84. It's definitely up there with "The Wind-Up Bird Chronicles" and "Dance, Dance, Dance". All the elements and characters you would expect of a Murakami novel are present. The lead male character - Tengo - is a sensitive young man with an unhappy upbringing ploughing his idiosyncratic and troubled furrow through life. He is on a quest to find what is missing from his life and as well as wanting to unravel some of the mysteries relating to his past. He is of course both discriminate and passionate about food, drink, clothes, music and literature. The main female character - Aomame - is beautiful, determined and very capable young woman who has also had to overcome a very unhappy childhood and is every bit as much a loner as Tengo. The mandatory weirdness includes "Air Chrysalises", "Little People" and a second - little, green - moon.
Murakami is a superb story-teller, who writes with intelligence and compassion about real people who have to cope with very real human issues like family, sex, love, death and loneliness in a world where fantastical things can and frequently do happen. If you've never read a Murakami book before you're in for a treat so long as you're prepared to go with the flow. You'll also learn a lot about Literature, Classical Music and Japanese vegetables.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just plain boring...Read the critical reviews before you purchase these books!, 21 Mar 2012
By 
Mr T Niwa (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading Murakami's 'Norwegian Wood' last year and decided to indulge myself in the complete set of 1Q84 books without reading any reviews about this set of three books. I wish I hadn't wasted my money and instead read the critical reviews first. It would have saved me a lot of wasted time reading this.

What was wrong with it?....As a full set of three books I found it long, drawn out, repetitive, with boring and uninteresting characters who 1) don't do a heck of a lot and 2) you don't really care about because of the way they are presented. There are people who have reviewed this is an outstanding piece of work and argue profusely that Murakami is attempting to open up a new way of writing. This work isn't Kafkaesque to me at all and nor does it open up a whole new realm of how we should approach and conceive of the written word. It is just simply a poor attempt at trying to be 'different' without acheiving what he seems to be attempting to do. I tend to agree with Christian Williams from the A.V. Club who called the book "stylistically clumsy" with "layers of tone-deaf dialogue, turgid description, and unyielding plot" giving it a D rating.

The one thing that really made me cringe throughout these novels is the 'sex with minors' theme that runs throughout which is a major part of the storyline from beginning to end. There is enough darkness in the world to not have it in your face in a novel that you were hoping to enjoy and learn something from. Avoid these books and spend your money on other worthwhile literary works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful..........., 14 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Hardcover)
Book 3 improves on 1/2 in two areas - translation and repetition. However the storyline is probably as bad if not worse than 1 and 2. Synopsis : Aomame is stuck in an apartment for the entire book thinking about Tengo with the odd knock on the door from what maybe Tengos dad and silly phone calls from Tamaru. Tengo is either in hospital with his unconscious father(Sooo Exciting !) or stuck in his apartment wondering about Aomame. Bobblehead Ushikawa is looking for Aomame and checks her school and gym to find out more about her and where she might be and then he's stuck in an apartment with a camera. They're all in an alternative world and don't like it. That's about it really! Some reviewers have called these books complex!

If I ever read another book, other than a Cook Book, that details what somebody is eating every single time they decide to stuff something in there gobs, I'll burn the book. It is so annoying !!!!

Up to this I would have considered Murakami my favourite author. Not anymore I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Paperback)
Very well written. Entertaining. The sci-fi part is believeable and the characters come though strongly. A real pleasure to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating Read, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Paperback)
Having read the previous two books, I was eager to read the third. Haruki Murakami takes you into another world gently without you realising it is happening. He writes beautifully and his descriptions are vivid. An excellent read, enough for me to want to read more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow! a wonderfully constructed denouement to Books 1 & 2, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Just loved this world of IQ84 and am left feeling I have lost something after saying goodbye to Tengo and Aomame...Don't you love it when books do that? still, I keep looking up at the sky and counting the number of moons...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Really intriguing book, elements of fantasy in a fully fleshed out and realistic world. Fully rounded characters and plenty of desire to read on for all three books. Best read in years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Part of a trilogy, 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
I loved this book which is the third part of the book, it is a fictional vision of another world, that is strange, but sufficiently like this world to be quite scary. If you like strange stories and strong women you will enjoy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 312 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3494edc)

This product

1Q84: Book 3
1Q84: Book 3 by Haruki Murakami
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews