Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To live and die in Japan
I'm sticking my neck out here but I have to say that if you found this novel 'boring' you probably aren't going to like anything by Murakami - 'boring' is lazy reviewing anyway, but there are enough layers in this to put it up there with some of the Japanese writer's most engaging work. It's not supposed to be an exciting adventure or even an odyssey, but a philosophical...
Published 23 months ago by Scaroth, Last of the Jagaroth

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flawed but fascinating
I am a Murakami fan who would put the Wind-Up Bird Chronicle at the top of my list of favourites.

This trilogy does ramble and would probably benefit from intelligent editing but I can always forgive Murakami all his faults because of the impeccable way that he writes.

I am of the reviewers that like Murakami characters. I like the clean, simple...
Published on 4 Mar 2012 by Alexandra Walker


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars keeps you turning the page, 28 Feb 2013
By 
MRS S BRIDGE (SKIPTON, N. YORKSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Paperback)
keeps you turning the page and you miss it when you finally finish it, puts closer on the whole trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Loved all three books of "1Q84", 22 Feb 2013
By 
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Paperback)
I came across this novel after reading "The Night Circus". Initially, I read the sample version and became immediately hooked. I wanted to know more about Aomame and Tengo's new "1Q84" world. Murakami wove a wonderfully descriptive plot through the three novels and I completed the 925 page novel in no time feeling wonderfully satisfied at its conclusion. Those who have commented that the story 'dragged' or was 'longer than necessary' failed to appreciate the tapestry Murakami was constructing carefully around his two principal characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Murakami, 10 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. A. Q. Kopp (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Paperback)
The completion of an excellent trilogy. I had the first two parts for Christmas and had to buy this to finish story about an intriguing parallel world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars like it, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
for the first 60% was so slow but after that I couldn't put it down. A bit disappoint at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, but felt unfinished, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the first two books, and was looking forward to the conclusion. This one brought a few threads together, but still left quite a lot incomplete. It feels like the author was leaving himself a few storylines open for a fourth book, which just seems greedy!

Overall I enjoyed them though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my review, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
I haven't finished the book, but its almost done. Loved it, until now. I think this is better than the previous two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1Q84 Book 3, 28 Jan 2013
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book but it wasn't quite as gripping as books one and two. I would still definitely recommend it though- a great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Murakami has long been one of my favourite authors and this book didn't disappoint. A gripping novel that I found hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IQ84: Book 3, 12 Nov 2012
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Kindle Edition)
Another absorbing novel from Murakami. I am always drawn into every character or set piece he creates and like the surrealism and space he gives for the reader's interpretation. I could take another two or three books in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Repetitious, lazy writing, 13 Feb 2012
This review is from: 1Q84: Book 3 (Hardcover)
In my opinion, there was no need for a book 3 - with proper editing the first 2 books could have easily absorbed #3 - hence covered the entire story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 110 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1Q84: Book 3
1Q84: Book 3 by Haruki Murakami
3.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews