Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait.
This is a great album by accomplished musicians. It is majestic and moving, a tremendous achievement.The band creates all that is best in folk-rock. June Tabor sings the best she ever has. The choice of songs is impeccable, from Scots ballads (complete with glossary of words translated), to modern popular hits, given a glorious arrangement e.g. "Love will tear us apart"...
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by J. B. Egan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You have to like this to like it, but its not boring
If you like this artist then you will probably love it; the talent shines through. if some of the tracks are your favourites then you may not. I thought they murdered ''Dark end of the street'' so that it sounded like shipwrecked shetland fisherman had been stranded with a copy of ''Gilded palace of sin'' and had learnt the song while waiting to be rescued. My friends...
Published 12 months ago by A C Lorimer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait., 19 Sep 2011
By 
J. B. Egan "ridgeway" (somerset, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
This is a great album by accomplished musicians. It is majestic and moving, a tremendous achievement.The band creates all that is best in folk-rock. June Tabor sings the best she ever has. The choice of songs is impeccable, from Scots ballads (complete with glossary of words translated), to modern popular hits, given a glorious arrangement e.g. "Love will tear us apart" and "At the dark end of the street". The traditional ballads are sung with reverence but also with powerful energy, my favourites being, "Son David", and " The Leaves of Life".But all the tracks are there on merit, not a filler to be heard. There's a well designed leaflet, giving all the words of traditional ballads with credits as to where collected and from which singer.The whole CD cover is beautifully designed too.Go out and get it, make it a massive hit. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electrification and melancholy benefit from each other, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
Having seen June Tabor and Oysterband in concert most recently, where they were playing several songs, which they said they were playing for the first time live (bet they said that to all their fans in recent concerts!) and which were previews from what would be on this album, I've been impatiently counting the days down till the release. And it's been well worth that wait!

I went to that concert because of Tabor, but have now been seduced by Oysterband as well. Tabor's dark, brooding voice still reaches most deeply and soulfully I think on the very simply accompanied The Hills Of Shiloh, and/but she is equally at home as chanteuse with the driving rhythms of Oysterband, and a more folk rock fusion. From the exciting opening track Bonny Bunch Of Roses the listener is taken unstoppably through Tabor and Oysterband's John Jones duetting on Joy Division's Love Will Tear Us Apart and Son David.

It's probably wrong to expect a studio album to quite reach the excitement of a live concert, but Jones' voice seems a touch more exposed, on piano high notes in the studio, against Tabor's powerful, but never straining vocals, specifically on Love Will Tear Us Apart. Notes which seemed to be pushed through only through felt emotion from Jones in that live performance here seems almost to be the result of technical strain on Love Will Tear Us Apart, though in the tight duetting on Dylan's Seven Curses Jones soars freely, and he is beautifully tender with Tabor on the closing track The Dark End Of The Street

Highlights for me are the excitement of the opening track, the aforementioned The Hills of Shiloh, the dynamism and vibrant excitement of If My Love Loves Me - particularly Ian Telfer's violin, the folk/religious ballad The Leaves Of Life, contrasting again, the driving, punchy beat and some beautiful acapella from Tabor and Oysterband.

But, hey, on subsequent plays, I find myself adding more tracks as highlights!

Oysterband and Tabor seem to spur each other enjoyably on. My big regret on this album is the non-inclusion of a couple of numbers from the live show last week - an electrifying performance of Jefferson's Airplane's White Rabbit and Velvet Underground's All Tomorrow's Parties (admittedly the latter one featured on the previous album 21 years ago) both proving Tabor can out Nico Nico and out Slick Slick. Her voice is truly amazing, and Oysterband have just the energy to match it. Rock's loss has been Folk's gain, with Tabor. She could I think sing almost anything .

I love the dark and painful reflective melancholy of Tabor's vocals, but the drive imposed by Oysterband's more urgent music works as a brilliant accelerator to Tabor, and she imposes a discipline and restraint well on them, so the balance point between the two is wonderful, electrifying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little ragged but very good, 20 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
I always thought that the collaboration between June Tabor and The Oysterband (there was a previous album many a year ago)was a strange one but strange partnerships often work well and this is certainly a case in point. The covers will probably be the initial points of interest and they don't disappoint particularly That Was My Veil. I was never a huge fan of the original (from the first PJ Harvey collaboration with John Parrish) but here it fizzes and kicks from the speakers egged on by great drumming; a feature on several tracks here. Love Will Tear Us Apart is lead by slow finger picked guitar with cello providing the main melody. The duet makes sense in the context of the lyrics and although the two voices are similar in pitch and tone (no harmonies here) they manage to drag a good deal of emotion from the piece. The Dark End of The Street is perhaps the most disappointing moment on the album; a lacklustre dirge which seems to lack the melody and emotion of the Van Morrison original.

The "folk" songs on the album are almost exclusively great with "Bonny Bunch of Roses" kicking off the album in great style. The key to the Oysterband style is rhythm and the drums and bass really kick up a storm on this one, never missing a beat. Other songs are lead by mandolin-driven rhythms and on several songs hammered dulcimer provides melody making for an interesting and varied listen. Tabor's vocals are as good as you'd expect throughout the album although, perhaps because of the nature of the backing music she fails to conjure up the emotion that listeners might expect from her recent solo albums which feature a smaller ensemble and generally stick to a repertoire of slower, folk material.

So, a good album full of interest and plenty here to enjoy for fans of Tabor and of folk rock. The headlines will mention the choice of covers but it is the original folk songs that provide the highlights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ragged Kingdom, 28 Nov 2013
By 
Susan Rushmer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
June and the Band received a lot of awards for this Cd and it is a great CD. Would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great eventual follow up, 25 Aug 2013
By 
John M. Cryne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
Saw live and confirmed great stuff June Tabor and the band a great combination a must have addition indeed indeed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Worthy Winner, 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
It is no accident that this album picked up a clutch of awards at the BBC Folk Awards this year. June Tabor is still one of the finest interpreters of traditional songs and the Oyster Band arrangements and backing make for an exciting sound. This is folk at its best. The tracks are varied and a mixture of traditional and modern writing in the traditional style. There are no weak tracks although some will be liked more than others as the styles are so variable. For example, I love 'Love will tear us apart' but am less fond of 'That was my veil'. There are also some interesting variations on old standards - 'Fountains Flowing' and 'Seven Curses' being two examples. This album will rapidly become a 'standard' and would be a good introduction to non-folkies as a demonstration of just how powerful and musical this genre is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Knockout!, 26 Feb 2012
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
This album brings together Britain's foremost female interpreter of traditional songs and a band who are basically journeymen of the folk/rock genre for a second album 21 years after Freedom and Rain. It is also,IMHO,very, very good. I can't remember the last time an album had such an immediate effct on me, (it was probably Steelye Span's Please to See the King or Sergeant Pepper as a matter of fact), and it has rarely been off the stereo since I purchased it.
June Tabor has a truly unique, deep voice with a timbre that lends itself particularly to melancholy material but here, with the backing of the Oysterband, she slips off the shackles and delivers a wonderful selection of songs ranging from the traditional such as Judas to the contemporary That Was My Veil. For me the outstanding track, (from an outstanding album), is the interpretation of Joy Division's Love Will Tear Us Apart which is both beautiful and moving. Alan Prosser's vocals work nicely with Tabor's simple yet rich delivery,and instrumentally the band is superb and very tight. In fact both parties benefit from this collabaration and are greater than the sum of their parts, which is as it should be!
I can't recommend this album too highly and would politely suggest you give it a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the Year!!, 4 Nov 2011
By 
K. A. James (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
My only complaint is that there is room for another 30 minutes on the CD. This is such a stunningly perfect release that it has to be on every critic's "Album of the year" list and a Mercury nominee. If I was "internet savvy" I'd start a campaign to get "Love Will Tear Us Apart" to number one in the UK for Xmas. If "Mad World" can do it then so can this heart-rending reconstruction of a beautiful, highly emotive, song.
I wonder of the Simon Cowell 10 minute wonders realise that with care their voices could go on improving for another 30+ years? June Tabor has no equal in the English language but Johnny Jones is also amongst our leading voices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not stopped playing it yet!, 22 Oct 2011
By 
T. Phillips (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
I am an unashamed June Tabor fan and a big Oyster Band fan too. What better to have them both back together after too long a gap since "Freedom and Rain"? Both parties have, of course, remained at the top of their game since then. Putting them together is one of those "marriages made in heaven".

The track selection is excellent. the versions of "Bonny Bunch of Roses" and "Sweet Sixteen" breathe new life into well-travelled classics. However, it is the imagination that led to "Love Will Tear Us Apart", Dylan's "Seven Curses", and an achingly good version of "Dark End Of The Street" that makes this collection so memorable. Just wonderful.

I'm finding this an album I cannot listen to just once. It gets played again almost immediately. Must be a contender for folk music album of the year, IMO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful blend of contemporary and traditional songs., 19 Sep 2011
This review is from: Ragged Kingdom (Audio CD)
The album arrived today and I have not stopped playing it yet!From the heart rending version of "Love will tear us apart",to the more traditional, "(When I was no but)Sweet Sixteen",the selection of songs on the album share a timeless quality with meaningful messages for today.The quality of the musicianship is what you would expect from artistes of this calibre. An excellent and long awaited follow up to "Freedom and Rain",1990.If you liked that you will love this.
I look forward to the live performances on the current tour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ragged Kingdom
Ragged Kingdom by Oysterband June Tabor
Buy MP3 Album£7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews