Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good tracks
Although Queen would release another three albums with Freddie Mercury (including the posthumous Made in Heaven), A Kind of Magic would turn out to be the band's last ever album promoted with a concert tour, due to Mercury's diagnosis with AIDS the following year and his eventual death from AIDS in 1991. For the first time in their career, the band allowed filming of them...
Published on 12 Sept. 2011 by Mr. R. G. Prizeman

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars There Can Be Only One
1986 was a big year for me. Not only was it the year one of my favourite movies, Highlander, was released it was also the year I became a Queen fan - not because of Highlander (I did not see that film until its release on VHS - remember that format?) though. I became a fan after my brother bought a copy of Live Magic in December 1986. After then I made an effort to...
Published on 8 Sept. 2011 by G. Noble


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some good tracks, 12 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. R. G. Prizeman "Dickie 1" (croydon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Although Queen would release another three albums with Freddie Mercury (including the posthumous Made in Heaven), A Kind of Magic would turn out to be the band's last ever album promoted with a concert tour, due to Mercury's diagnosis with AIDS the following year and his eventual death from AIDS in 1991. For the first time in their career, the band allowed filming of them while they were in the recording studio. The video for "One Vision" shows them in various stages of writing and recording the song.A Kind of Magic reached 1 in the UK, selling 100,000 copies in its first week, and remained in the UK charts for sixty-three weeks.The album spawned four hit singles; the album's title track "A Kind of Magic", "One Vision" and "Friends Will Be Friends".Also the sixth track on the album, "Who Wants to Live Forever", features an orchestra conducted by Michael Kamen, while the last track, "Princes of the Universe", is the theme song to Highlander.It is Queen's first album with a title track, and every album released thereafter also contained one. Critical reaction to the album was mixed, but it has, in recent years, been cited by music publications and fans as one of Queen's best records of the 1980s. The 1994 edition of the Guinness All Time Top 1000 Albums listed A Kind of Magic 171 in the all-time greatest rock and pop albums.my original CD has many of the bonus tracks tagged on the end of the disc, this version has decided to add them to the bonus disc and also add a heavier version of A kind of magic, again with the extras not really anything rare or special. This was Queens first album recorded and mixed digitally, and having the original and the new version now, there is an improvement in the frequency range and thank heavens not a massive increase in volume to ruin the quality.This is still worth investigating if there is a gap in your Queen collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen at their Peak, 3 Nov. 2012
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
DISC 1 (The Album)
"A Kind of Magic" was probably the peak of Queen's studio-based highly-polished era of the 1980s/90s and blew me away when I picked up a copy upon its release in 1986. 'Classic' may be an over-used word these days, but just listen to the album over and over again and songs such as "A Kind of Magic", "Who Wants to Live Forever" and "Princes of the Universe" will still sound fresh and such is the skill in the production of the album and its multi-layers that I STILL hear something different in each track even today! That is certainly clearer again in this newly remastered re-release. Gone is the diversity, pomp and tempo change of yesteryear, but here is a rock group at the peak of their output again out-classing the music of the moment (having seen out glam, punk, disco, Queen were now taking on the new romantics). A number of the songs featured in the film "Highlander" or are based on themes from the movie, but this is NOT a soundtrack album. There is such amazing energy in songs from "One Vision" to "Princes of the Universe" and warmth and emotion from well-crafted songs such as "Friends Will Be Friends" and "One Year of Love".

DISC 2 (THE 'EP')
The purpose of the 2011 'Deluxe Editions' (putting all cynical marketing, profit-making, blood-from-a-stone comments to one side) is to give a bonus 'EP' of rare or previously unreleased tracks which compliment the original album. In the case of the later albums it was always going to be a difficult choice of what to leave off as there are any number of tracks that could have been included when this was the time when remixes, extended versions and instrumentals were so popular and the marketing machine started to kick in with 12" singles, picture discs and alternate single versions a-plenty.

So we actually get a few rare tracks on here, including some early versions of "One Vision" / "A Kind of Magic", a couple of single versions and a live track. Not bad. But, three 'bonus' tracks were previously included on the original CD album release and only two of them are included this time around, meaning for most people that you have to keep hold of your original CD to hear "A Kind of A Kind of Magic". Also, the EP fails to gather up all of the additional material that exists commercially in other formats, namely:
- One Vision (Extended version)
- Blurred Vision (b-side)
- A Kind of Magic (Extended version)
- A Dozen Red Roses for my Darling (b-side)
- Friends Will Be Friends (Extended version)
- Who Wants to Live Forever (Single version)
- Pain is so Close to Pleasure (Extended remix)
- The Prize (Instrumental)
Given that the rare (and incomplete) 12" Collection album is long deleted then that leaves quite a number of vinyl records to hold on to for completists! In addition, there are the other versions of existing tracks and unreleased tracks produced for the Highlander movie which still lack an official release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Remasters, 24 Nov. 2011
By 
D. J. Roberts (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I am pinning the following comments to all of the Queen back catalogue (excepting "Flash" which I wont get on cd) as they apply right across the board. I wont comment on the music - others have done so very well. I want to praise the sound.

Modern mastering technology will in most cases demonstrate more noticeable improvements in older recordings. I have now bought and listened to all of the recent Queen reissues and chronologically the benefits of the 2011 remastering lessen as recording technology and technique improved album by album.

The biggest improvement is to the earlier analogue work, which to my ear sound more "Queen" than the digitally recorded stuff - more bite and attack - irrespective of musical direction. My view is that digital recording "rounded" the Queen sound, particularly Brian May's guitar.

However, notwithstanding this there are clear improvements throughout the catalogue, even the later ones which were recorded using digital technology to whatever degree. Music is more open, brighter and fuller in a very revealing, listenable and non-tiring way. Bass and drum parts are now very clear as are the vocals which are expressive warm and very detailed - many more sibilants can now be heard which really brightens up "Queen 2" and "A Night At The Opera" for example where there were a tremendous number of overdubs which saturated the sound in places.

As I said in a previous review of "Greatest Hits", those who have a fair or passing interest in Queen will be happy with earlier issues, but for the enthusiast these remasters really are rewarding listens and well worth investing in. They really are very good indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's great but..., 9 Jun. 2012
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I like this re-released version. There is one thing though. What happened to the songs "A Dozen Red Roses For My Darling" or "New York, NY"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars is fantastic., 13 July 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
the bonus e.p. is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
One of the better Queen Cds. Had many years ago and decided to rekindle my youth and buy again. Good mix of songs quality very good and supplier posted quickly and wrapped well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Digital Queen, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
The original 1986 cd was amazing.... This newer digital cd with extra tracks on it is simply full of new energy. Its like listening to a new released cd 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get it, it is worhty!, 14 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Such a great Album. The CD 2 is not really a piece of art, but really good album anyway. A must for every one who loves music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Kind of Magic Deluxe, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
It's Queen! A popular and much loved album from the eighties, as previously mentioned, tracks which appear in the movie Highlander.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Freddie still can do it, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Kind Of Magic [2011 Remaster: Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
The album has it all, the soundtrack single's combined with newer stuff, nice stuff on it and love the Highlander soundtracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews