Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game
Ace Combat: Assault Horizon Legacy. A good game.

Expecting a 3DS for Chrismas I looked around for a few games including flight sims. At any rate all the games I chose had four or more stars in the ratings. I liked the look of this game but chose Pilotwings Resort over this game for the simple reason that there was no star rating and no review write up...
Published on 8 Jan. 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really awful graphics!
Really awful graphics on this game. Looks like something you would play on a Gameboy with low grade graphics. So bad, that it will soon be listed on Ebay! Don`t waste your money I would suggest!!! If I could, it would be returned for a refund?
Published 24 months ago by Steveosnapper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game, 8 Jan. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Ace Combat: Assault Horizon Legacy. A good game.

Expecting a 3DS for Chrismas I looked around for a few games including flight sims. At any rate all the games I chose had four or more stars in the ratings. I liked the look of this game but chose Pilotwings Resort over this game for the simple reason that there was no star rating and no review write up. Certainly Pilotwings ResortPilotwings Resort (Nintendo 3DS) lives up to the reviews, although it is completely different from the game under review.
Immediately following Chrsitmas this game has halfed in price and so I bought it.
Whereas Pilotwings Resort is simply about controlling whatever you are flying and all about fun: Ace Combat: Assault Horison Legacy is a true combat simulation.

I have flown the first six missions in easy mode, nevertheless you still face a challenge. Each mission gets progressively harder as the story line unfolds.
The mission environment feels, looks and reacts realistically as if in a 3D universe. You fly in real time to the destination of your choice. The enemy planes are restricted to the laws of physics. Apart from avoiding and attacking other aircraft you fly around buildings to avoid ground to air missiles and dive to attack ships, vehicles and SAM sites.

Yes the game is exiting! I found myself moving the 3DS around so much while I was playing that I had to turn off the 3D visuals in order to see what I was doing. I have had similar experiences in Super Mario 3D land.Super Mario 3D Land (Nintendo 3DS)

Apart from the strategy aspect, I have previously found found that other flight sims of this ilk often leave the aircraft control almost impossilbe to deal with. However, this game does give you control of your aircraft.

The grey joystick button of the 3DS acts as you would expact of an aircraft control stick. Moving the button to left or right causes the aircraft to bank to the left or right. Moving the joystick up or down causes the aircraft to do the reverse i.e. up=joystick forward= point the nose of the aircraft down.

You can chose a variety of aircraft to fly. The graphics are good. In the missions I have tried so far, I have not had to land or take off. The aircraft is aready flying at the start of a mission.

There are lots more features that I haven't covered as I have not looked at them properly.

Due to the fact tha I have not yet played more than the first few missions I give it four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome to the Danger Zone (For those who don't get, that watch Top Gun), 1 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. A. Mcgrath "Of Chaos" (Eldwick UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
Bought this game as it was cheap and I enjoy some flight combat games. I have to say I was very, very pleasantly surprised by this game.

Graphics:

Very good graphics. The plane models and effects are top notch. The ground scenery is nice but can get a little ugly if you get too close to the floor. But as most of the time you are high in the sky, it all looks very pretty. All in all this game is very aesthetically pleasing.

Controls:

Easy to pick this game up and play. The circle pad controls your craft and, depending on which plane you are flying, is very responsive and accurate. This game employs what is known as action moves. These happen if you are tailing an enemy plane or have a missile or enemy craft craft on yours. A gauge will fill up and you can then press Y. Your plane will do an automatic move placing you behind the other craft, making it easier to gun them down or blast em with a missile. At first this felt a bit like cheating, but when you play on the harder settings you'll need this maneuver to stay ahead of the game.

Lifespan:

There is a decent campaign mode which sees you (a mercenary pilot) fighting a rebel group who want to blow you and the Allied forces to bits. As the story progresses you can choose a new path to take which adds to replay value. All in all generic story, which won't win this game the golden joystick award, but at least if you gives you a reason to continue on. Missions are varied, some have you destroying Sea/ground/sky units, whilst others have you escorting and defending ground/sea/sky units, as well as many other elements like rival pilots, jamming planes and supply drops which vary things up a bit. The difficulty curve is fine and once you complete some of the campaign missions, you unlock some extra missions. The game will last you quite a while if you want to complete everything and gets A's on all the levels.

Sound:

Very good. Decent speech and great effects make this a very enjoyable game. Music, some bits are a bit futuristic whilst others are just like 80's Top gun, but overall very nice.

Overall:

This game really surprised me as I wasn't expecting much at all. What I got was a very decent, easy to control and totally thrilling game. once you master the controls you'll be zooming and dog fighting all over. Only issue with this game is, its very hard to put down, you constantly find yourself saying "Only just one more go".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great plane game, 13 Jan. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
i think this is a good game. based on the fact the game engine is very good. the graphics are really crisp. and render fast. and make the game very enjoyable. the gameplay is simple fly shoot, and the missions are complex. quite tricky at first, but once you pick it up.

having played Air Combat on playstation 1. it was ace. now thats all i can say. if you played the original, then its a must buy. again another bargain on here. so thats good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive portable Ace Combat game, 6 Mar. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
First of All, this game appears to be a remake of one of the previous Ace Combat titles (2 or 3 not sure). I'll summarize the review in Pros and Cons.

Pros
+ the image quality is superb
+ steady framerate most of the time
+ an improved remake of the ps1 title
+ game is fantastic length and contest-wise

Cons
- Controls a bit acrade-ish
- Doesn't support Circle Pad Pro like the JPN version
- Not complex and advanced as the latest Ace combat titles (4,5,6,AH)

Simply put, Ace Combat series fan who owns a 3DS? Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Flight Game, 12 Jan. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is a great flight sim and really shows what the 3DS can do. The heart of the game is the Story Mode, where you take the role of a fighter pilot tasked with various missions against the "rebels". Although fairly linear, there are a couple of places where you can choose between missions. The controls work well and I really enjoy the power moves. As long as you can keep close to your target for long enough for the meter to fill up, you can pull off a special move that brings you in behind the enemy. This makes for a good mix between arcade game and full on sim.

There's a good range of aircraft and weaponry to buy as you earn points through out the missions. You can also replay any completed mission which means you can try out various combination of aircraft and missiles. Add to that the low price, and this is an excellent addition to your 3DS games collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, 17 Nov. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
3d graphics and clear voice briefings are good.Can play more than once because of your changing flight patterns and the enemy reactions to your approuch to them.Fun and like the older versions that i liked about Ace Combat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 29 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
This is a slow game to get into: the first mission will not leave you impressed. It is easy and straightforward.

However, from then on the missions get harder and harder and you unlock more and more cool aircraft, missiles, paint-jobs, etc.

I have racked up 19 hours of flight-time already. It is that addictive. You always want that new aircraft with that cool gun or whatever.

There are 23 missions. This sounds few until you realize that there are four difficulty modes and you can alter the path of your missions, so that one time you might go: Mission 1, 2, 3b, 4b, 5b, 6, 7... instead of 1, 2, 3a, 4a, 5a, 6, 7...

There are also survival missions and extra missions and a freeplay mode.

You collect medals.

The graphics are brilliant in the sky. Dogfights are quick, difficult and not unrealistic. Evasive manaevres are used to escape missiles. Attack manaevres are used to flip your plane right behind your enemy's so that gunning them down is actually possible.

At first, as has been said, the manaevres feel like cheating. But when you access the faster missions and difficulty settings they become vitally important and far more difficult to use.

The scenery is good from above, but cities and buildings are poor at close range.

Ace squadrons of increasingly better skill frequently interrupt missions to try and "take down the firebird" - you. These are challenging and enjoyable.

For anyone who loved Topgun, this game is perfect. Wingmen are either cocky or pushy, mission controllers are gruff, "hit the brakes and he'll fly right by' manaevres make you feel like Maverick!

No problems. Only quality entertainment and excellent action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected!, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I bought this game to use with the Circle Pad Pro XL, that I had just finished playing MGS with. Unfortunately I didn't do enough research and discovered upon receiving the item that only the Japanese versions are compatible with the Circle Pad Pro.

I have now nearly completed the game on easy, and I am surprised how much I have enjoyed playing it.

I have never been drawn to this type of game, but a good mix of different mission objectives in story mode, with a well thought out learning curve have made this a good gaming experience. At less than £10.00 it is also well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it!, 28 July 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
I am very pleased with my purchase.
The game is really good and worth the money i would definitely recommend it to anyone who enjoys flight sims or in the action type games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS) (Video Game)
A really good game for the 3DS and far better than I expected, great playability and options e.g. choice of aircraft etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ace Combat Assault Horizon Legacy (Nintendo 3DS)
£12.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews