Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved the first half, the second half not so much., 22 Dec. 2012
By 
C. Halford "Rookie Romance" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'd been searching for holiday romances for Christmas when I came across Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish. Lady Sophie is the sensible daughter of a Duke, and is left the reluctant guardian of a baby when the mother (a household servant) flees and abandons her baby. Enter our hero, Vim Chapentier- he steps in and helps Sophie with baby Kit and when there's a snowstorm, he stays at the house and helps her to look after Kit. Vim assumes Sophie is a member of the household staff and he doesn't tell her that he is titled, and heir to a viscountcy.

The first half of this book was brilliantly written. I enjoyed the scenes with Sophie and Vim with Kit. Their fall into love is very believable and sweet. Vim is kind, handsome and thoughtful who truly cares for Kit. Sophie is sweet and caring with a habit of taking in strays. They both enjoy the anonymity of being 'commoners' and the cosy domestic atmosphere they create definitely helps them fall more in love with each other.

Then Sophie's brothers (finally) arrive at the house and aren't impressed when they realise Vima and Sophie have been alone together for several days. They then go to Vim's Uncle's estate in Kent (where Vim was headed originally) and then on to their own familial estate. This is pretty much where I started to enjoy the book less. Sophie was inexplicably stubborn about not marrying Vim, she wasn't forthright and honest with Vim about her feelings, and Vim struggles to understand her actions- as did I, most of the time I just wanted to shake the girl. Sophie often seemed very different, and I was frustrated that Vim wasn't more insistent when he'd compromised Sophie and loved her! Although, I was of course still rooting for them :)
All in all, I found the second half rather frustrating. The secondary characters were well written and rounded. Sometimes I felt that there was way too much information about them squeezed in, but it's part of a series.

I would give this 3.5 stars if I could, but I guess the first half carried it to 4 stars. So, worth a read and enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pity about the Americanisms, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (Windham) (Kindle Edition)
A well-written and extremely enjoyable story with two likeable and rounded lead characters. The interplay between Sophie's brothers adds an excellent exta-dimension. But when, oh when, will American writers learn that - if they must set their novels in England and particularly in an historical period - there are things we don't say now, let alone two hundred years ago.
For example, walking 'a few blocks'; having 'a passel of children'; a servant, or indeed anyone, called Joleen ... and so on. Please Ms Burrowes, if you don't know what's right and what isn't, employ someone who does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop the 'cookies', 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (Windham) (Kindle Edition)
Interesting and unusual story - Sindal is definitely a charmer! Reservations? Well, the references to muffins and cookies etc. are irritating. The American cookie is, and always has been, called a biscuit in UK and muffins are not cakes - more like crumpets really. I can't imagine Regency gentlemen or ladies being excited by them!! Still, if you can ignore those historical and linguistic faux pas, it's a great tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars marigold, 5 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is the most delightful of all her books l think, the rather retiring daughter of a duke is left literally holding the baby when the mother, one of household staff, runs off at the carriage station. The hero comes to her aid and he is the most delightful man one could ever meet, there is a terrible snow storm at the time so he insists that he helps her home and gradually they first fall in love with the baby and then with each other, but of course the path to true love is never smooth, not too much angst to be upsetting just enough to make a good story. all the minor characters are wonderfully rounded too. great read anytime of the year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 1 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (Windham) (Kindle Edition)
This series is by far one of my favourites, all the characters are likeable if not loveable, unique and definitely add their own stamp to each of the stories.

Whilst Sophie and Vim's story could have run the risk of being a contrived Christmas fairy tale, there's enough heartache, realism and grit to offset anything that could be considered too cheesy.

This book will have you laughing out loud and crying into your tissue and searching out the rest in the series. This is a definite must read for anyone who like's a little romance in their lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (Windham) (Kindle Edition)
A lovely light hearted easy read. Engagingly written you can easily imagine the situations the characters find themselves in and feel for them. However if you are one of those who like things to be really historically accurate then this is not for you, a young lady of this period would not act like this, BUT that didn’t bother me in the least I really enjoyed it, for me reading is a fantasy and way to relax and escape the pressure of everyday life and this book gives you that and makes you smile along the way. Go on give it whirl :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 4 Mar. 2012
A great read. A real romantic and have to just read one more chapter, and just one more chapter to see what Lady Sophie will do next. Quite difficult to put down at parts. The sexy bits are not too much but just enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish, 25 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (Windham) (Kindle Edition)
I have read all the books in this series and they are well worth a read if you like historical romances and the stories of a family. Grace Burrowes is a marvellous author bringing the books to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas story, 29 Jun. 2013
By 
J. M. Hall "J M Hall" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (Windham) (Kindle Edition)
A really enjoyable and easy read, just what you need to relax after a day in the garden, especially when the sun shines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grace Burroughs, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (Windham) (Kindle Edition)
This is another superb book I loved the story about Sophie vim and kit at Christmas l love Grace Burroughs keep writing Grace
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lady Sophie's Christmas Wish (Windham)
£4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews