Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breath of Fresh Air
As a rookie to both HTML and CSS, and not being much the wiser after having laboured through several other tomes on these matters, it came as a pleasant surprise and a breath of fresh air when I started working through this book and things began to make sense. The author takes nothing for granted. From a sound base, he states the next objectives clearly, then guides the...
Published on 14 Oct 2011 by Coljolin

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but....absolute positioning?
I teach introductory web design and thought that this would be a good book to back up the course. To a certain extent it is; complex ideas are explained simply and well. There is even a site to work on as students progress through the book. The only problem is that the site is laid out with absolute positioning relative to the viewport as the author thinks that will...
Published on 15 Sep 2012 by PocketPen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Breath of Fresh Air, 14 Oct 2011
As a rookie to both HTML and CSS, and not being much the wiser after having laboured through several other tomes on these matters, it came as a pleasant surprise and a breath of fresh air when I started working through this book and things began to make sense. The author takes nothing for granted. From a sound base, he states the next objectives clearly, then guides the reader to that objective, explaining the reasoning behind every step along the way. And he does not take any short cuts. A very well crafted and principled piece of work. Thank you Ian LLoyd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well written and explained, 9 July 2013
This is a very good book which explains the language with clear coding examples together with the resulting web page changes. It does not include any colour printing which you might think was a problem when covering web-design, however, it works fine. It is very comprehensive - extending to over 500 pages.

I have made good progress using this book combined with the [...] web site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward, 2 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was attending a local web design course and this book helped make sense of it all! Very straight forward and easy to understand. Now use as a constant source of reference when doing anything to do with web design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Build Your website the right way using HTML and CS 3 rd Edition., 9 Nov 2011
This is an excellent book for learning HTML and CSS. The book is well written and well structured. I did'nt know much about coding and designing websites but having worked through the examples, I found it very interesting and quite easy to follow. Many thanks to Ian LLoyd for producing a great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars clear and concise read, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
i purchased this book as it recommended reading for an evening class in web design. I would happily recommend it to anyone considering web designer either as a hobby or as a profession.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing!!, 5 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a plumber wanting to learn about web design, I found this to be fantastic!! It's extremely well set out, with easy step by step instructions I was able to build a website from scratch in only a few days. No previous experience either. This is the first review I've written, very very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but....absolute positioning?, 15 Sep 2012
By 
PocketPen (Killarney, Ireland) - See all my reviews
I teach introductory web design and thought that this would be a good book to back up the course. To a certain extent it is; complex ideas are explained simply and well. There is even a site to work on as students progress through the book. The only problem is that the site is laid out with absolute positioning relative to the viewport as the author thinks that will be an easier method for the student to learn. If they progress with web design it is very unlikely that they will be laying out their sites in this way, especially with the current trend towards responsive web design. I would strongly advocate that it would be more practical to utilise the more widely-used approach of floats and positioning relative to the page container. Disappointing that I cannot recommend wholeheartedly as I am a great collector of Sitepoint books. Elements of the book are very good but overall I find the approach to building the trial website and inappropriate for modern web building techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear introduction to html and css, 29 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. Andrew W. Kerr (Dunbar, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Build Your Own Web Site The Right Way Using HTML & CSS, 3rd Edition (Kindle Edition)
This is a clear explanation of the principles and markup language, based on a working example. An excellent starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gave it away, 29 May 2014
By 
K. Summers (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have been to China to teach and as American / English books are expensive there, I gave my interpreter my copy of this book and got myself another when I came home. He loved it and so do I. Great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly outstandng book - the best for self-teaching HTML and CSS, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Hm Bennett "howardbennett3" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I am a teacher and have looked for the definitive self-help HTML / CSS book for my students for years.

I'm not sure if this is it but it is DEFINITELY the best on the market - explanations and structure are clear, and the guy writes nicely.

The book introduces various topics in a sensible order and explains them properly with respect for the vital rules without making them burdensome.

Definitely the best self-teaching book and I only wish it had been there before I spent months hunting on the web for instruction on the various topics.

Doesn't include everything (so it isn't 1500 pages thick) and it's not so pretty to look at but to be naughty it's quite a bit cheaper in your local branch of Waterstones.....

Don't waste your time on w3schools - this will give you more direction and teach you so much more so quickly - go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews