Customer Reviews


52 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MSP A to Z
'So, what do you get on MSPs NATIONAL TREASURES?' I hear you cry.
Well, the standard edition contains 2 CDs, CD 1 (77:27) covers the years up to 1996 from MOTOWN JUNK but excludes the original YOU LOVE US in favour of the re-recorded version, CD 2 (75:24) brings you bang up to date with THIS IS THE DAY as the last track.
The DELUXE VERSION also contains a region...
Published on 3 Nov. 2011 by Duluoz Lautrec

versus
17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great music ruined by record company.
Already have nearly every track. But as taking daughter to O2 got for nice packaging and ease of use. She knows many songs but not all.
Unfortunately SONY are a DISGRACE.
Digital remastering in this case means try to make it sound good on a tiny old ipod docking station. (the reason bands like Coldplay are popular).
To compress to mp3 quality on CD all the...
Published on 25 Nov. 2011 by M. P. Jones


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars True national treasure, 10 April 2014
By 
Mrs. L. M. Hobbs (Birmingham. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Treasures: The Complete Singles (Audio CD)
A great compilation from the superb Manic Street Preachers. Listening to this you can see how the band changed from the early songs to newer ones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 24 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Treasures: The Complete Singles (Audio CD)
Fabulous body of work from a truly unique band that always goes it`s own way, I especially love the early songs on here from the first 3 albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars They had a lot of good singles, 5 Jun. 2013
By 
R. Greeno (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
And they're all on here. The first singles collection is now out of date, so this one is essential if you want all their recent singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Massive collection of singles - all of the Manics' best songs (although nestled amongst some of their not so ..., 12 Sept. 2014
This review is from: National Treasures: The Complete Singles (Audio CD)
Massive collection of singles - all of the Manics' best songs (although nestled amongst some of their not so best)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent album from a brillint band, 8 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Treasures: The Complete Singles (Audio CD)
Excellent album from a brillint band, all the singles on one album, ( two disc's) what more could you ask for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 7 Dec. 2011
By 
Heather Roberts "welshblodwen" (Forest of Dean, Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: National Treasures: The Complete Singles (Audio CD)
Ordered the CD as I'd booked tickets for the concert at the O2 later on this month. A huge range of music on the cd's encompassing the career (so far) of The Manics. It's a favourite in the car and enjoyable when played loudly or quietly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... of the songs on this album bit this is great to have all the hits on one album, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Treasures: The Complete Singles (Audio CD)
already have most of the songs on this album bit this is great to have all the hits on one album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world changed the band, not the band that changed the world, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
I came to this, originally, with the jaded smile of the grizzled and middle aged man. It wasn't that I changed, as such. It's more that the more I saw of the world, the less I liked it, and the world, wether I wanted it to or not, changed me. Over time, I trusted less. Believed in less.

Other bands may have meant more. But no band ever meant so much. This music that gave me a world beyond the mundane and inane. The NME was my time machine. My gateway. And there, in the middle of it all, was this. 3 minutes of something. I had no idea exactly what was happening. Four spray painted Welsh punk throwbacks. This was mine. Nobody could take this away from me.

And the lyrics. Hundreds of lines that shaped my world, and how I see the world. "I don't want to be a man." "There's nothing nice in my head : the adult world took it all away." "Gorgeous poverty of created needs". These shaped my world view. I saw the world though their eyes. Though eyes just like mine. Eyes hungry, and aware, and shut out, dispossessed. I was just little people. At best, then, I hoped for change. I got a job instead. Libraries gave us power. And then work came, and made us free.

This band was - is - my truth. I connected with these people. Barely older than me, too, living in a town seemingly without much hope. We may have been relatively rich, we had food, and beds. But that is not all a man needs. The Manics grasped this nettle, and squeezed until it stung the life out of complacencey. Even the first handful of singles, not featured here, made the point. "Hospital closures kill more than car bombs ever will."

And the production? So few people mention how immaculate the Manics have always sounded. The mid point between The Stooges and Queen, the Manics have been - always will - always wanted to be - a perfect rock band. Angry, articulate, political, and above all, keeping the flame of human goodness burning in a world made of liars, losers. "All we love is lonely records", as I heard it.

But it holds within it a central thread. A rage against the complacency of modern society. Where shopping is entertainment. Each of these 38 songs is an anthem. A progression. The album starts with the coiled snake of "Motown Junk". It ends with "This Is The Day", the Manics doing The The, middle-aged men playing songs from their childhood. Inbetween The Manics were underdogs and hasbeens, Britain's biggest band and Britains most laughable parody. But these songs. They saved my life.

Over time, the Manics changed. We all did. They took the focus of the eye, and moved it to themselves. With the disappearance of Richey Edwards - proudly listed as a member on the sleeve - the band became circumspect. They changed. Would anyone have expected them to continue the insane fury of "The Holy Bible"? And survived? Of course not. "Everything Must Go" was, compared to what came next, an unexpected moment. Even if for nothing else that it existed. Let alone be so good. Instead of focusing on the world around them, The Manics became introspective. And rightly so. It changes you, life.

To follow this up with their biggest record, a concept record about depression which brought up a number one about the Spanish Civil War, was some coup. Looked at from a remove, "This Is My Truth Tell Me Yours" is still too long, too stumbling, and, in places, boring . But also, this record covered, for me, at the age of 25, the sense of premature awareness of the passing of time, that time is short, that the future is running out, that whatever happens, we are just passengers in the wave of time. The singles from this record were bland, especially the excerably rote song-about-touring "You Stole The Sun From My Heart".

Having mined this maudlin avenue to the point of near irrelevancy, the next album "Know Your Enemy" saw The Manics, almost, in retreat. After all, how many records can you make? The videos for this period too, showed the first signs of a lack of vitality. Look. It's three blokes, miming to a song, in a room, shorn of context and with no artistic content.

"Lifeblood" continued the decline artistically. The singles were OK - "The Love Of Richard Nixon" was a strangely political take on New Order's 1985-86 mesh of rock and electronic. But the band had played themselves into a corner. Perhaps the most important element was that the Manics were evolving, always moving, and part of this was coming to terms with what life must be and not what life might be. The world changed the band, not the band that changed the world.

The return then was "Your Love Alone Is Not Enough", part of the bands rebirth. The Manics were in danger of becoming dangerously normal, safe. Lyrics that communicated on the personal, losing touch with the rest of the world around them. The young punks became parody, the songs were good, but they no longer grabbed your soul by the lapels, and demanded, now, TO BE HEARD. What came next? More of the same.

At the end of this, those, The Manics were in danger of becoming just another band, searching for the thing that made them so great, forever on a journey. It is difficult, artistically, to always remain relevant and vital in 20 years. If anything, this shows how artists evolve, find a kind of peace with what cannot be changed, and how we change over time. They may have made records that sometimes were lacking in the essential fire of creation, or perhaps, became close to being of importance only to themselves, but if nothing else, this record is 2 hours, 20 minutes of songs that saved my life and songs that charted the change from children to parents. The Manics are national treasures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A definitive singles compilation designed for life, 31 Oct. 2011
By 
possessed.by.a.lemon - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: National Treasures: The Complete Singles (Audio CD)
This new 2-disc Manics compilation is like picking up a copy of a classic film with its bloated sequel thrown in a box with it for free. The first disc presents a perfect Hollywood-esque narrative. From the exposition of Motown Junk, where the young men set out to destroy rock n roll, through the meltdown climax of Faster and loss of the leading man, to the happy(ish) resolution of the three remaining members flying off into the sunset to Australia, it's the perfect rock 'n' roll story in just under 80 minutes.

Then they carried on, and although disc 2 isn't without its memorable set pieces in the shape of Your Love Alone Is Not Enough and bigger explosions in the form of chart-topping singles If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next and The Masses Against The Classes, the plot gets messy and the star of the first film is nowhere to be seen.

Whereas disc 1 is a descent into madness, a tale of Life Becoming a Landslide before Everything Must Go eventually frees the band from its history, disc 2 only shows that James Dean Bradfield, Nicky Wire and Sean Moore actually went on to live miserably ever after. Souls are Empty, the Sun has been Stolen from their Hearts. They're reflecting on the beginning when they were winning as early as The Everlasting and still doing it twelve years later in the final self-penned single Postcards From A Young Man. Then a new cover of The The's This Is The Day attempts to finish things off optimistically but the lacklustre performance doesn't sell the feeling.

The second half suffers in places, then, from the Manics happily becoming just another band, content with churning out meaningless but hook-driven Radio 2 playlist fodder like Autumnsong and (It's Not War) Just The End of Love. Nice enough but so are Coldplay and Snow Patrol. The 21st century Manics are better than this, it's a pity they do their best to keep it a secret.

It doesn't really matter because they've already thrashed the opposition by the half-time interval. The first disc is a bit brilliant from start to finish. They (or the record company) might have chosen the inferior rerecorded version of You Love Us, but apart from that these remastered and unedited tracks easily merit an upgrade from previous singles collection Forever Delayed on their own. Really, you can't fault what's here, especially the Generation Terrorists tracks that have been crying out for someone to crank the volume up for years.

As a complete package, National Treasures offers great value for money. In terms of the packaging, the common or garden booklet has three band photos and four images of a random attractive blond girl. And why not? The deluxe version comes in a more fetching book format with far more previously unreleased photos of the band, although these often amount to unused shots from well known sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great music ruined by record company., 25 Nov. 2011
By 
M. P. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Already have nearly every track. But as taking daughter to O2 got for nice packaging and ease of use. She knows many songs but not all.
Unfortunately SONY are a DISGRACE.
Digital remastering in this case means try to make it sound good on a tiny old ipod docking station. (the reason bands like Coldplay are popular).
To compress to mp3 quality on CD all the sound is at the same volume. Every subtlety in drum beat, voice, volume of guitar, lost for ever! No layers, craft,art or build in the music. The parts when you want to Pogo are set at the same volume as the quietest part of a ballad. If you still have a decent music system with nice stereo speakers (or even a cd walkman) avoid like the plague! I am going to burn off original CDs on to 2 CDRs (for our own use)and place these in the packaging.
The 2 CDs are now beer mats. I am sure the Manics were sold an earlier listen of remastering before some idiot compressed it all. (I expect DVD has same sound)
Limited Q Album only thing really worth having from this car crash.

Oh! and see fans at O2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

National Treasures: The Complete Singles
National Treasures: The Complete Singles by Manic Street Preachers (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews