Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST SEE
Now, I am a fan of Angelina's. One might say a die-hard fan of hers. I even bought 'The Good Sheppherd' which was a cinematic train wreck. But having found 'Gia' in a little second-hand DVD shop, I thought I'd add to my collection and was genuinely surprised by how moved I was by Angelina as the young and painfully innocent Gia. This film has become the one that I lend...
Published on 23 Jan. 2004 by Charlotte Harper

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks like it was not just set in the 1980s
Weak TV-movie effort. Looks like it was not just set in the 1980s, it was produced then, too. Laughable 'sex scene' early on, replete with saxophone music and no-show, clearly inspired by the directors' memories of the 1970s.
Published 5 days ago by SB


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST SEE, 23 Jan. 2004
This review is from: Gia [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Now, I am a fan of Angelina's. One might say a die-hard fan of hers. I even bought 'The Good Sheppherd' which was a cinematic train wreck. But having found 'Gia' in a little second-hand DVD shop, I thought I'd add to my collection and was genuinely surprised by how moved I was by Angelina as the young and painfully innocent Gia. This film has become the one that I lend people to remedy their 'Brangeina' hatred and to give Angelina some redemption for some of her less well-chosen roles. The film starts with a young, carefree girl who has a happy but sheltered life working in her dad's restaurant. Spotted by a talent scout, she is swept into a world that she is too young and naieve in many ways to be in, where she is loved and loathed in equal measure. If you thought being a model was all easy living, partying and sex, you were right... on the surface. But this true story shows you the darker underbelly of life in the spotlight and how this beautiful young woman was chewed up and spat out by the very industry which promised her the world.
The plot includes a very sad portrayal of Gia's turbulent and often obsessive relationship with women- her mother, her girlfriend, her mentor in the industry; and with the drugs that would ultimately claim her young life. And you can't help simultaniously wanting to protect her, slap her, and be with her. This film will really change your mind about Angelina if you don't particularly rate her, and if you like a film to make you think then you should watch this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dark and delicious, 9 July 2006
By 
Ms. K. Phillips "msmysterious" (Stockport, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gia [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Gia is not a film for the faint hearted, it features the pain of a drug fueled existence and a life of loneliness.

For those willing to watch from beginning to end will share all the emotion of Gia (played brilliantly by Angelina Jolie)

The film is partly set out as documentary featuring characters surrounding Gias short life. Their varied opinions and thoughts help to sculpture Gia as a person as you watch her journey unfold.

I do recommend this film to Angelina Jolie fans but also anyone interested in a story about strength. Gia Marie Curangi was a real person and what from what I've read of this fascinating womans true struggle this depiction of her life is fairly true to life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "....this or me?", 1 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Gia [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I must admit here and now that I wasn't a huge fan of Angelina Jolie before I saw this movie. I had seen "The Bone Collector" and thought it good...but quite frankly I had turned my back on her other role choices such as Lara Croft. However the theme behind "Gia" caught my eye and I took a peek....I'm glad I did.
Jolie is quite simply brilliant in this movie. No one else could have played the role of the supermodel who epitomised the slogan, "Too beautiful to die, too wild to live". With her stunning looks, background in modelling and rebellious charm, the line between actress and character, reality and fiction is lost and forgotten in this movie....a symbol of good directing, a fantastic story line and above average casting.
The movie moves from when Gia was first discovered at the age of 17, along the route of cameras, relationships, drug abuse and her eventual death in 1986 attributed to H.I.V. A sample of a rare mainstream movie that places a lesbian relationship at the heart of it's storyline...and paints it in an acceptable, artistic and moving tone.
Acting credit must also be given to the likes of Kylie Travis, Mercedes Ruehl, Faye Dunaway, and Elizabeth Mitchell of recent BBC feature "Man and Boy" and "ER" fame. Mitchell plays alongside Jolie as Linda, her make-up artist and love interest. Ironically, for me, it is Mitchell who delivers the most powerful line of the movie, "....this or me?"; once delivered the lump in the throat developed and I was glad I had taken a peek at "Gia".
All in all an excellent movie that treats a very senstive subject with great respect. Through it you get a sense of Gia Curangi the person...something that the 1980's public and fashion industry failed to acknowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Performance By Jolie, 21 Mar. 2002
This review is from: Gia [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
As a big, big Angelina Jolie fan for many years, Gia was the one film I was still to see as it has not been shown on UK television and was never in cinemas. Before I saw it, I thought it was going to be your typical cheesey TV Movie that gets shown on Channel Five at 3.30pm. However, it blew me away and confirmed what a fantastic actress Angelina really is.It tells the story of tragic supermodel Gia Marie Carangi and her battles against drugs and later HIV. The part of Gia is a tough part to play but Jolie handles it so well - indeed I think only Angelina could have played this part (just as only she could play Lara Croft). As with all of her films, every time Jolie appears on screen she lights it up and is always a pleasure to watch. Her performance in Gia reduced me - a fully grown 6'3 man - to tears! It's a long film at two hours but it flies by. I have every other Jolie film on DVD and this is a worthy addition to the back catalogue. If you are a Jolie fan, I'm sure you're going to buy this anyway. However, if you are still to discover exactly what it is that makes people praise Jolie,snap this up at a bargain price. You won't regret it and you'll soon be an avid Angelina follower! ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Astounding, 10 Sept. 2001
By 
This review is from: Gia [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
This is one of the best films I have ever seen. It tells the story of Gia Marie Carangi, one of America's first supermodels. Not only is the story compelling, but the acting by Angeline Jolie is second to none. Angelina is best young actress I have ever seen. She is Gia, the lesbian. Gia, the model. Gia, the daughter. Gia, the drug addict. The story ends with the death of a star by AIDS from an infected needle. Not only if the story of her professional life amazing, it's intertwined with the story of her personal life. She is a lesbian and her onscreen lover, Elizabeth Mitchell puts on a great show aswell. This is a MUST SEE film. It will have you crying, laughing and anything else. I have never seen a film with such emotion and such brilliant portrayal of emotion as GIA starring Angeina Jolie. BUY THIS !!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jolie's best work overlooked., 2 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gia [DVD] (DVD)
Jolie plays the part of Gia with real skill. I think this film is often overlooked in the wake of Jolie's larger roles, but this really is an exceptional film that tells the true story of model Gia Carangi. Heartfelt and tragic, this film is a great addition to any collection as the gritty element of modelling and drug abuse, as well as homosexuality are confronted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heart Breaking., 11 Oct. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gia [VHS] [1998] (VHS Tape)
I'd heard a little about Gia from Angelina Jolie websites (I'm a fan of hers) and became interested in the film because of the storylines of drug abuse and lesbianism/bisexuality. The story is a heart breaking one and it tells all to well how society chews people up and then spits them out. From the face on every magazine cover (Cyndi Crawford was known as Baby Gia when she first began modeling), the girl everybody wanted to be to a homeless junkie with AIDS, whom now, next to nobody remembers. The film isn't particularly true to her life story but taken just as a film it's fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BrownPolar Verdict, 8 Mar. 2015
This review is from: Gia (DVD)
One of the of the weakest traits of humanity is its desperate longing for love. Those who receive that in abundance during the formative years of their life bloom into productive, responsible, caring and loving adults. Those who do not, end up searching for someone or something to hold onto all their remaining, miserably suffocating lives, often degenerating into social outcasts and misfits. Although redemption for these lost souls is never too far, attaining it is never too easy, because those who are selfless enough to make the necessary sacrifices for anyone, let alone for a misfit, are few and far between.

The excruciatingly sad story of Gia Carangi may appear extraordinary on the surface, but, in the essence, its is not for many who are constantly searching for a lap to lay their weary heads on.

In this underrated but exemplary, TV movie, Angelina Jolie relives the complex, enigmatic and tortured persona of Gia as if it were her own. It is hard to imagine anyone else could have played this role with such ease and with such outstanding results, knowing that the star herself was living a comparably ‘wild’ life, as it was the ceaseless gossip in numerous media reports at the time when the budding star delivered perhaps the best performances in her career.

The contrast between the supermodel and the star though becomes quite clear when watching this film. Gia did not receive at crucial points in her short but colourful life what she was desperately longing for from anyone including her own mother. Instead, she was just passing time, doing something she didn't believe in. By the time help finally arrived, it was all too late! In contrast, Angelina has amply proven to all of us that beauty, charisma and talent alone do not sustain stardom, unless if one has the personal strength and the faith in oneself to withstand the smelliest mud that the media usually throws at someone becoming famous. Today, Jolie is considered to be the sexiest star of her generation by the same gutter media who were hounding her when she was making the best movies of her career, and, among many other trophies she has collected on her way to the top, is her heartthrob hubby who makes nearly all women on the plant blue with envy. What a way to go young woman!

We are living in a world where the standards of beauty and sexuality are determined by a few powerful people who own, run or manipulate mass multimedia. Every second of the day, the media parades before our eyes who is supposed to be more beautiful and sexier than the average man or woman on the street. It is an invincible force that enslaves us to such an extent that more and more of us no longer have any confidence in who we are and what we look like. Insecurity and anxiety about one’s appearance are the worst enemy of personal strength and charisma, but no amount of education or advice is enough to fight basic and ingrained vulnerabilities of the human mind. And, neither do all the silicon, beauty engineering and chemicals in the world, unless if the basic truths about allure is understood. Attractiveness of a person cannot be chemically engineered. It is something that radiates from within, when a person is truly happy with the persona he or she naturally is and learns to appreciate the unique characteristics that make he or she someone special.

Watching this film, I believe, is a good start for anyone, if he or she wants to make a break from the shackles of celebrity worship that plagues our society today and wants to lead a useful and productive life that is built on self belief and personal strength rather than on media illusions!

BrownPolar
August 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Youth Exploitation Film Revelation, 26 Jan. 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gia [DVD] (DVD)
The fashion world wants beautiful woman draped in expensive goods for all to stare in shock and awe. It is then we all fully understand our lives are paltry in comparison. There appears to be another dimension we have not been invited to. The film is a long slow portrayal at the rise and descent without the wagging finger of morality appearing in your face.

This film exposes myths. This should never be forgetten as the gaze falls upon Angelina's beautiful lithe supple sensuous body coupled with her pouting deep erotic lips. In this film Angelina ironically is allowed to act. The vibrancy of how she inhabits the role suggests Gia and Angelina intersect at certain points. Angelina usually provided with the usual Hollywood fayre for an attractive woman bursts out of Mr. and Mrs Smith, Brangelina.

The crux of the story is Gia's increasing isolation as she becomes mannequinned, told to keep quiet and drape herself in luxury dahhhhling. She is denied a personality and shifts from the punk free spirit to the successful super model, initialy through the vibrancy of her personality, then as a brand and finally as an airbrush composite. The Faustian journey of success.

The sexual throb and ooze of her first photo shoots is a descent into becoming the doll, puppet emotions dulled with boredom and fatigue at the plastic fakery of everyday existence.

Still it is better than working in her dad's cafe. Later in the film one of her rehab group work members pointedly states Gia had a shot at fame and was adored. Revealing she had looked up to the white vogue supergirls, she saw herself as an inferior black girl in comparison. Imagine her shock when the same person turns up at her drug rehab group and she learns it was all a con.

At least she got to learn the truth. The projection aims to dazzle and it works on many levels. Few people get invited to the party and fewer divulge the inside story. The gossip magazines fill the vacuity with tales of zest to mask the intertia, a party is going on and you have not been invited.

The film portrays Gia's increasing alienation as her raw untamed vibrancy dulls with heroin, crack cocaine and her success as a manequin. Pushing everyone, whilst also craving real attention, personal connections not sex or fame. Success and recognition are vehicles to access money to nullify personal pain. This seals her off and drives away the people she needed. Ironically it is only at the end she gains what she needed most of all, just before she dies.

The film is a slow paced mutli faceted love story for men and women but if you are not in the right frame it can be laboured. It requires the ability to sit and concentrate and reflect as it is not escapist but thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angelina's Truly Spellbinding, 1 Aug. 2008
By 
H. Hall "H Hall" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gia [DVD] (DVD)
I recently watched this and having not heard anything about the supermodel Gia Carangi was instantly blown away by Angelina Jolie's portrayal as Gia. You can see why Angelina won an Oscar a year later in her other great film Girl Interrupted. This sad and moving true story tries to explain why Gia did what she did. I won't spoil this for you but, this is not for the faint-hearted. I thought all the acting was great as was Faye Dunaway as Gia's Agent. Angelina's truly spellbinding in this film. Great film all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gia [Blu-ray] [1998] [US Import]
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews