Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It'll house you
At one point in the mid 1980s came "electro", a new take on hip hop. You get at least one track using an "electro beat" on this compilation. You also get a couple of tracks pre-dating house, and then some Chicago house classics (Marshall Jefferson, Frankie Knuckles), Detroit techno classics (Kevin Anderson's Inner City), New York house classics (Todd Terry, Jungle...
Published on 16 Feb. 2012 by Stan FREDO

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear!!!!!!!!!
Some of the tracks are poor audio reproduction.
One of the tracks only plays in one speaker, proper pants.

Makes you wonder were they get the copies from to rip.
Dont recommend if your a collector of quality not quantity.

This is another release on Harmless.
I got a few on this release and they are generally inconsistent...
Published on 19 May 2012 by Sauce Pot


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It'll house you, 16 Feb. 2012
By 
Stan FREDO (BORDEAUX, Aquitaine, France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
At one point in the mid 1980s came "electro", a new take on hip hop. You get at least one track using an "electro beat" on this compilation. You also get a couple of tracks pre-dating house, and then some Chicago house classics (Marshall Jefferson, Frankie Knuckles), Detroit techno classics (Kevin Anderson's Inner City), New York house classics (Todd Terry, Jungle Brothers powered by Todd Terry), piano house, church house tracks etc. (but, rather strangely, no real 'Acid House' classic). All the way up to early 1990s UK hits (Gat Decor, Future Sound Of London and the like). All in their glorious long versions. All stone cold classics apart from the token OK-ish track. All on The Haçienda playlist. And then to cap it off, you get a (rather superfluous) mix of the same tracks by Farley. I pretty much like the extra-long cover of Stevie Wonder's 'As Always'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprise Surprise, 4 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
Bought this for my eldest son who's really Into this genre,because It came without a wrapping,I decided to have a quick play, very naughty I know. To my surprise and my sons surprise I liked the 1st Cd straight away got me mentally bobbing around, I think It was the many varied artists that worked for me. The 2nd CD was not In the same class and I found It somewhat disappointing, but you can't have everything can you!!!! I think for the 1st CD It's well worth Buying.

Cheers Pensioner Pete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
loved the film love the music ... rave on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
very good 3 disc CD some classidc tracks and good remix by Terry Farley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars weekender, 4 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
what a cd music is ace i watch the film and that was ace to delivery was fast as well great price as well will go back to this seller thanx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality..., 17 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
a classic collection that captures the era to perfection and leaves you wanting to head out on the rave. CD#1 is an unusual mix but I guess that's due to the story of the film?? DVD bought with CD as a pair so I'll soon find out... Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 July 2014
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
brings back the memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars oh dear!!!!!!!!!, 19 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
Some of the tracks are poor audio reproduction.
One of the tracks only plays in one speaker, proper pants.

Makes you wonder were they get the copies from to rip.
Dont recommend if your a collector of quality not quantity.

This is another release on Harmless.
I got a few on this release and they are generally inconsistent.

Consistently poor!!!!!!!!!

The tracks that are OK are passable.

Plop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but would have been better if you were actually there., 12 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. Scott David Baikie (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
Hmm. A bit of a mixed bag for me this one. Some tracks have aged badly in my opinion particularly the vocals on many of the tracks which range from cheesy to just plain annoying. However, Passion by Gat Decor (Tag Records), Papa New Guinea by Future Sound of London and Leftfields, Not Forgotten (Hand Hands Mix) are almost worth the cost of the CD by themselves. Overall, fair play to the people who made the soundtrack for not putting all the usual suspects on (eg Voodoo Ray) but for those who were'nt there at the time and are listening drug and alcohol-free its more of an interesting snapshot than a record you'll listen to over and over again. That said I have'nt seen the film yet (DVD on the way) and it might all make sense in the context of the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration (Audio CD)
good tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration
Weekender: Soundtrack Gems & Further Inspiration by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews