Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uniqe and fun. Must for Animefans
A bit about the game: As a Anime fan, old school gamer and a collector of both, i have pretty much seen most of the games out there since the end of 80s. I can honestly say that Asura Wrath brings in elements from both worlds in a really good way. Thats being said despise the knowledge of games like Naruto and Dragonball games that is out already. The thing with Asuras...
Published on 4 April 2012 by Tommy Sæther

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Expected more from a spectacle fighter
I was expecting a much more intense game after I'd played the demo and watched a few videos of it, but after a while the layout of the story (set out as missions that play intro/outro credits after each one), gets very boring very quickly. Such a shame as I had hoped this game would rock.

The fighting is just the same combo over and over again until you hit the...
Published on 22 April 2013 by Josh Edwards


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uniqe and fun. Must for Animefans, 4 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A bit about the game: As a Anime fan, old school gamer and a collector of both, i have pretty much seen most of the games out there since the end of 80s. I can honestly say that Asura Wrath brings in elements from both worlds in a really good way. Thats being said despise the knowledge of games like Naruto and Dragonball games that is out already. The thing with Asuras Wrath is that it is unique in its own way. Like when you get one odd standalone title that comes out every now and then like say borderlands is uniqe and so on.

Gameplay: It might sound scary to some about the quick time events and rail shootings in the game, but honestly the controls in this game is a piece of cake and you have more than enough time to prompt commands and at the same time really enjoy the story and animation, which i think is out of this world in a good way. You got quite a few awesome beat em up scenes as well so theres more than enough variation that way. Especially as a Dragonball, One Piece and Naruto fan i found the animations to be spot on. The story is awesome and i think the gameplay mix is good for this game. Tough i might have missed a tiny bit more interaction it still wasnt negative enough for me to put down the score for this game. The game is in form of episodes where you just like in an anime got credit roll and intro credits which can easily be skipped if your dont want that. The music score is really good in the game also. Made me want to buy the soundtrack :)

Extra: Its also worth mentioning that if you are like me and still enjoying this game, there is already a couple of dlc for it in form of episodes for only 160 microsoft points each which is compared to other games quite cheap. I wont put any spoilers in here but i hope the review will help you a small bit :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable bash-fest., 21 April 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
after learning about this game, i was looking forward to playing it, the characters looked good and the plot appealed to me as fan of Japanese animation, things like Full Metal Alchemist or Dragon Ball. The characters are really well animated and the story is a very good one which has a few twists and turns.

the graphics are pretty good and the animation flows wonderfully in battles with certain attacks looking incredible. the style of animation is that of an animation show, partly because its based on a Japanese show.

the audio is good and fits in well with the game and its story.

the game play is very good, while you can beat normally enemies with regular attacks, bosses are long and drawn out, you can not beat them by mere button mashing, you need to build what is called the burst meter to full to unleash a devastating attack to actually hurt them.

overall this game is what ALL games should be: fun, it doesn't get too hard, but nor does get too easy, and if your finding the difficulty a problem, then change it to suit your skill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Not exactly what I expected from Capcom. The game is good, but very different from the proper clash and slash titles like DMC. It gets a bit tedious getting through all the quick time events, but the storyline is quite good, there is still some of the good old bashing and the graphics are good. If you are looking for something different this is the game for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Asuras Wrath (A propper review), 28 Mar. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Asuras Wrath is a difficult game to review because some would even argue as to weather it is less of a game and more of an interactive anime movie. Im sure this is news to absolutely no one who has any interest in actually buying the game in the first place, but if you're here on a care free whim then I refer you back to my opening sentence. If you view the two half's that make up this whole individually I think it's a bit too easy to criticise this `gameutainment' hybrid, as neither aspect gives us anything new.

If we first look at the game play its divided mainly into two sections, ill get onto the quicktimebuttonpressything later. There's an on rails shooter section in the vein of a dumbed down Panzer Dragoon (hey Saturn fans), and a fighting section similar to...Well any third person fighting game you could care to mention. game play is uncomplicated but for the most part solid and satisfying, with your attacks so all encompassing it matters little that the lock on feature feels a little broken. At its worst this can lead to it feeling like its offering little more than the gradual wearing of down of your controllers B and Y buttons, however an element of strategy does creep in to the harder boss fights of the game. Charging up a burst meter by firing initially pointless projectiles into say a 30ft turtles face will be your first priority in most of your scuffles with these often screen filling Gohma (one half of the games line up of baddies). On unleashing your burst mode your attacks are upgraded and you can really lay into these roided up members of the jungle book as there attacks bounce off you like a steady stream of piss off of perspex. Once you've got this and the various attack patterns down it all gets a bit more fun, as staring at the game over screen for the umpteenth time is the exact opposite (I think this game is best played through on hard for a good challange).

All this so far might sound pretty underwhelming especially seen as you'll probably be paying the best part of £40 for this and no doubt you've seen the 4 stars I have given it already, so here's the part where I hopefully make this game sound more appealing as I genuinely think this game represents something new (contrary to what you've just read), and should be played by as many gamers as possible.

This is a game of sheer visual spectacle. Even the simplest fights are rendered jaw dropping with the slightest press of the Y button (Heavy Attack), and to me it makes sense that the cut scenes and gameplay are integrated as they are. In order for this game to make you feel like your assuming the role of a diety it needs to do so in a manageable way. Its like in say the Arkham series of Batman games it would have fallen flat if after the cut scene you flailed around, looking about as menacing as a carrier bag caught in a gust of wind, so in order to do so it adopts a relatively simple, intuitive gameplay mechanic that helps you apply your skills more like how batman might. Asuras Wrath does this in the aforementioned way on an even more basic scale. The role of a demi god is aptly realised as you defy logic and seemingly impossible odds all with a correctly timed press of the Y button or a deft flick of the analogue stick, which I think is exactly how easy it would be for a deity anyway all magic powers and what not. (I can see Mosses now rapidly tapping the B button in order to part the red sea). Things like unleashing your final attack is akin to visual orgasm as you break the jaw of a colossus with a single punch, or burst your way through the guts of a flying mockery of nature in a blaze of light, all in all making you feel pretty damn god like, at least till you pause it to go for a wee.

In conclusion its all the smoke and mirrors that make this game such a unique experience, and that's exactly what I think this game is. Even when viewed solely as an anime its clichéd (if enjoyably so), and as a story it feels a touch incomplete, however the level of scale and the artistic flair is exceptional, almost mirroring the gameplay in terms of its dazzlingly un-dazzling approach. However its when these two half's come together it makes this an experience like nothing you've ever seen/played. In the midst of the usual guts and guns games of late, its nice to see a unique IP, and one so thoroughly tied up in its own Japaneseness. The standout moments of this game will stay with me for a long time, of which they are too many, and too varied to mention, and the only way you'll get to know what im on about is to buy the game and see for yourself . However if the idea of the worlds most dramatic finger poke, a fight to the death on the moon, and an achievements for looking at some tits don't spike your curiosity then maybe this isn't the game for you. I hope this review helps.

Some spoilers and other thoughts.....................Play the game first..........................

This reviews already a lot longer than I planned, but there are a few other things I wanted to get across, maybe to people who have finished the game, and also just to get it off my chest. I totally agree with people slagging off Capcom for there approach to DLC, and with Bio Wear jumping on the same bandwagon it feels like the beginning of the end for standard story telling in games. However the best protest is to just not download the extra content, not to give it a one star review on Amazon (unless you really did think it was that bad of a game). Im reviewing it as a standalone product, as it's the only thing that makes any kind of senses. The game stands up on its own absolutely fine, and I want others to enjoy this game too. Id be lying if I said the whole `true episode' thing at the end wasn't absolute ass. That stupid spider with the stock anime villain voice saying " yes ho ho ho it was me all along" is about the worst advertisement for a sequel or story related DLC there could ever EVER be. Although I did feel it was very `Anime' of them to do something so lame (go on. Imagine a sequel....See its awful). So just take it as it is, and stop sulking, Auras wrath is a great game.

Lastly some of the achievements in this game I wouldn't wish upon my worst enemy to do. They're such a chore! Getting all the episodes all on S rank or Doing it with a certain gauge equipped? it's the gaming equivalent of "oh you finished the game....Now play it with one eye closed......Done that?...Ok...Erm. now play it wearing a cardigan...." its just criminal what passes for an achievement these days. Lastly (have I said that already) If there's one thing I could realistically change about the game would be that `creaking' sound effect (it sounds a bit like a giant metal ship rolling in the sea...Know what I mean). Seriously take a drink whenever you hear this noise, and you will consume like a fish. Once you notice it (although I don't know how you could fail to) it becomes quite irritating, ever time he powers up a punch, shakes a fist, stands, up sits down JEEEEEESUSSSS.
Rant over. Let me know what you think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome game, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is presented like an anime, but it is so much more. It's just awesome, both the story and gameplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars And Again, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought it as a present and it put a smile on a little face, what more can you ask for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Its like watching an anime good fun and the story if epic.
The only draw back if to get the true ending you will require to have to buy a dlc for £5.00
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game, little short, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is exhilarating throughout the entire story, with a decent story as well, however it does play out more like an animated show, a great show, but a show nonetheless.. for more information i'd strongly recommend watching AngryJoe's review on the game on Youtube before purchase like I did..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great game., 15 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Although some may not like the style of this game set out more like a interactive movie, I enjoyed it thoroughly from the great anime style story not to mention being a hardcore fan of quick time events in games. Overall I would recommend this game to someone who would like to sit down and have a good story and not so much for hardcore gamer's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Delivery was quick and the game was excellent or so I heard. Bought it as a gift for my brother and he says it's great! Can't complain, happy all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360)
Asura's Wrath (Xbox 360) by Capcom (Xbox 360)
£10.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews