Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A few flaws but great detective fiction
First off, I've been lucky enough to avoid the installation and startup issues that mean a lot of people can't play the game. I have had a performance issue which rendered the game unplayable which I was able to fix using '-str' in the command line, and the game still runs slowly all things considered.

The game has been out for some time now on consoles and has...
Published on 4 Dec. 2011 by Mr. Gareth J. Hughes

versus
61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad console port, bad support, decent game
Let me start by saying that getting LA Noire to work has been the most frustrating experience in my 15+ years as a PC gamer.

Quick tips:
- If you want to play this game on a laptop: DO NOT BUY!
See the 1 star reviews of laptop owners for more details
- If you cannot install this game on your C:\ drive: DO NOT BUY!
Read my review below to...
Published on 1 Jan. 2012 by Tom


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Game Changer, 1 Feb. 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
In some ways GTA 4.5 - this is certainly a game changer.

Only critism is that the game is not 'big' enough BUT the quality of what is on offer is GRADE 'A'.

You really must buy it - it is THE game of 2011. I really loved it. When I bought Batman Arkham - watching the characters talking with the old lip syncing - made Batman (a brand new game)look ancient! The way the characters have expressions and the lip syncing is better than some computer generated characters in recent Hollywood films - it's that good!!! A - MAZE - ING!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars at your own risks, 20 Feb. 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I gave it the lowest score possible because i just could'nt play the game
from what i've heard Rockstar is so affraid of piracy that they over protect their games
after i installed it, it doesn't start
i tried to get help on the official rockstar sites without any success, so i had to get another "copy" somewhere else
it's a good adventure game anyway, i recommend it but you must know there's a chance depending on your hardware and astrological sign that it wont work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cool, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
This was on my brothers wish list and it is one of his faves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Goods received promptly and as advertised = no problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars L.A. Noire ... promises a lot, but delivers less than advertised, 11 Nov. 2011
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
If you are looking for a game which will challenge your hand-eye coordination, intellect and give you plenty of eye-candy all the time then sadly, L.A. Noire (on the PC) is probably NOT for you. I'm sorry to say that L.A. Noire fails miserably in several areas. Although it is true to say that graphics such as buildings, neighborhoods and objects, especially inside buildings are of very high texture and rendering quality and the animation is fluid with good camera tracking, the actual driving environments which you use while in the pursuit of suspects or simply driving from scene to scene are not; in fact, I would go as far as to say that those of us who have tried and enjoyed modern racing games, or even interactive graphic novels and adventures such as the recent Grand Theft Auto series of games or even combat simulators will be very disappointed by the driving and combat aspects of this game.

Thankfully, the detective interface, information keeping system and the way in which you interrogate suspects and examine crime scenes is very simple and efficient. You can pick up items, examine them and subsequently use them to obtain clues; but the interface and method employed in interrogating really could use some work as you have at the heart of it options - in which you believe, disbelieve or doubt the suspect. Obviously, if you believe them, or disbelieve them the questioning will change and so will the emotional impact of any scene to reflect this, but if you choose to doubt them then the character acts as if you are simply fishing for information or attempting to get them to confess to a crime or concealing information. One of the pluses of the game is the facial mapping - which looks pretty real, but at times the bodies and the body motion capture is pretty basic at best.

When moving the character, you simply aim them in the direction you wish to travel and assuming that you can climb a drainpipe, ladder, wall or other surface the character will simply keep on going irrespective of the landscape being traversed. Driving is even simpler, requiring a key to accelerate, brake, go left or right and a handbrake - but it is so primitive, as is the animation that it best reminded me of mid-nineties games rather than a state-of-the-art game from 2010-2011.

In short, and in my opinion, L.A. Noire is not as good as its advertising suggests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Great game but got a bit repetetive towards the end,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Game. Awful Port, 11 May 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Rockstar can't port games. Almost every port in the last 4 years has been so buggy and awfully optimized, that it's a wonder how this passed any kind of quality check, get it on Xbox or PS3 instead, because it's a fantastic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good game, 16 July 2012
By 
Mr. S. D. Willis "willass" (UK, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I have read various reviews and it seems people have had problems with installing the game and then with the patch also. I have just bought the game myself on steam because it was on offer.

I have had no issues atall. It could be that you need to have a higher spec pc than stated in the game requirements which is often the case or it could be that since alot of these reviews were written the game has sorted itself out. I am running all the ingame settings to max including dx11 and also maxed out all the nvidia settings in the control panel. I would not recommend using dx11 unless you have a very high spec pc I have found with dx11 games before my last upgrade that they can be very buggy but now with my current spec I have no issues. With or without dx 11 the game still looks really good.

I thought this game would be pretty poor but its actually one of the best games ive played in the last couple of years.
I will not go into detail about the game itself becuase it will just be repeating what other people have said but alot of people have been comparing it to gta, but it is not gta it is a totally different game. If you want to play gta, play gta instead. If you are unsure whether its for you watch videos on youtube. [...] - This video is very helpful to make your decision.

One thing I did notice is the launcher has graphics settings which I maxed out but in the game it also has the same settings but they were not set to the same as the launcher settings so I had to change them there too and also after the patch installed the launcher turned off dx11 so I had to turn that back on so its worth looking after the patch has installed to see if you need to change some of the game settings back to how you had them.

intel quad i7-3820 3.60ghz, 8gb 1800mhz ddr3 ram, 2 x 560ti sli
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad purchase, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
I regretted ever spending much money on this product. I was let down completely after seeing the preview. Anyway I think its the manufactureres fault, doesnt work on my computer system
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fail., 31 Dec. 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) (DVD-ROM)
Can't cope with Optimus on an Nvidia GPU'd gaming laptop. Ignore the five star reviewers and their 'gaming laptops are useless' rant. My machine has run anything I've thrown at it including Metro 2033, MW3, Mafia 2, Just Cause 2 etc. (typically on med settings) so its got nothing to do with the capabilities of gaming laptops, rather its just another example of a shoddy console port by a developer. Apparently a crack is available to enable the game to run but why should a paying customer resort to this?
Check out the Nvidia forum thread to get a scale of the problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD)
L.A. Noire - The Complete Edition (PC DVD) by Take 2 Interactive (Windows Vista / XP)
£7.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews