Customer Reviews


260 Reviews
5 star:
 (129)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (33)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but one fault
Bought these together with the 5.1/7.1 DSS box, and after a little while to set it up all was good.
There's lots of wires and as the other reviews have stated you need the extra adapter to use with HDMI, but I had one in my xbox box anyway.
Sound quality is excellent and while I'm not sure you get proper surround sound feeling, after a while getting used to...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by W. Pettit

versus
26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Starter / Back-Up Headset
I bought this headset to replace a more expensive one that broke and its a good headset for the most part.

You wont get the same quality sound as a slightly more expensive model (Turtle Beach X12'S are fantastic at 39.99) but they do the job and they do it well.

If you use a HDMI cable to connect your XBOX 360 to the TV and have the newer version...
Published 21 months ago by Mac UK


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but one fault, 9 Jan 2012
By 
W. Pettit (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
Bought these together with the 5.1/7.1 DSS box, and after a little while to set it up all was good.
There's lots of wires and as the other reviews have stated you need the extra adapter to use with HDMI, but I had one in my xbox box anyway.
Sound quality is excellent and while I'm not sure you get proper surround sound feeling, after a while getting used to them, you do get a sense of direction from them.
The sounds you pick up from games is unbelievable, you hear things you didn't know where in the game.

The build quality is good, apart from one obvious fault. For some reason the material they use on the ear pieces leaves a black mark around your ears. So as long as you wash before going out, you're ok - otherwise you may get some funny looks!
For that reason I'm knocking a star off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Money Well Spent, 17 May 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
Was thrilled with these! The sound of the game and even when I play music through them is just... It's beautiful.

The first game I played with them was Fable 3 and oh my god, I heard things I didn't even know where within the game! It picks up your voice really well with great adjustment. The voice can be a little loud however, still working that out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Starter / Back-Up Headset, 10 Oct 2012
By 
Mac UK (Cambridge, UK.) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
I bought this headset to replace a more expensive one that broke and its a good headset for the most part.

You wont get the same quality sound as a slightly more expensive model (Turtle Beach X12'S are fantastic at 39.99) but they do the job and they do it well.

If you use a HDMI cable to connect your XBOX 360 to the TV and have the newer version Xbox unit you may need an RCA audio adapter but thats only 2.00 pound on Amazon and should be listed under the product as "Frequently Purchased With This Are" these also come with a free HDMI cable so not bad at all for the price if you need it.

These would make a great starter headset for the younger gamer, a good backup headset for the addicted FPS gamer or a fine headset if money is tight, I would say try to get something a bit better if you can afford it.

Overall 3/5 Not Bad Worth Considering :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
Bought this headset on one day delivery and they came on time.It is a simple set up and the sound quality is amazing, you can hear things that you wouldn't hear through normal TV speakers.They are reasonably priced and I would highly reccomend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quality, Great Price. Solid Build., 4 Oct 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
My 11 Year Old son is delighted with these. He had some Birthday Cash to spend, a friend of his did buy them from our local shop (Smyths Ireland), this Amazon Purchase with free delivery to Ireland (I bought a FEW THINGS) did work out a fair bit cheaper, amazing the Quality of sound, you can hear things you could not hear before (Modern Warfare, Black Op's etc).Voice is better also for XBOX LIVE PLAY with his muckeroo's, great control over sound as volume is on Box at your hand. He had the original Headset that came with his XBOX 360, no comparison, I had planned to get these for Xmas so happy he spent his own money wisely. I did not need the Adaptor as I just plugged the Audio Pins straight into the 32" TV Side Audio connectors which were unused, HDMI Cable for XBOX straight into HDMI, no need for me to spend an extra few quid!
Also very well made, as well lad's his age still tend to chuck stuff around the place no matter how often you ask them to take care of their things, these should fair better than the flimsy efforts supplied with the 360.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars turtle beach headset, 23 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
item was good delivered on time,BUT be warned u will need to purchase a XBOX AV adapter cable if u want to use it with HDMI connection,it does not state this until u try to set it up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works fine but..., 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
I purchased these as a replacement to the original headset that came with my xbox.
What the description didn't say is that if you use a hdmi cable for your xbox then this is not compatible without some sort of adapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic addition to my xbox, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
Read a few reviews regarding this set, poor mic, flimsey etc But i have had no probs. they are great value and a great sound.

NOTE: If you have connected your XBOX via HDMI Then you WILL NEED an RCA Audio Adapter sold separately for about 2:99 on Amazon or E-Bay,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best headset ever, 8 Feb 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
You genuinely don't need to pay loads for a headset. These are phenomenal, the sound is amazing and you can hear things in the game music and sound effects that youve never heard before. I was actully blown away how brilliant these are considering how much cheaper they are than the majority of headsets. The wires are really long so that's not a problem if you have your xbox and tv far away or close to you, you don't need to buy any other adapters to go with it and they come in the original packaging so they are legitimate turtle beach's. Seriously hardcore gamers you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My friend was very skeptical (mind you, he's skeptical of everything)...until he put these on., 27 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary) (Accessory)
Before I start, I am not blowing Turtle Beach's trumpet at all. I personally only got a pair slightly before my friend's and they were PX22's (they are a heavyweight stereo headset mind you). I ordered these for a friend whose tinny 360 headset is broken (considering that those Microsoft ones are overpriced, tinny and quite flimsy). I bought these for him and after a long wait for the adapter peripheral (which should come with all headsets mind you, an extra 8 quid for an important item), he put these on and said that it felt like a cinema experience.

While these ones don't come with the in-line mixer with the bass and treble like the PX22 and the like come with, Turtle Beach really mix the sound well without them, with good treble and lashings of bass (Personally, a bass bias here. A must if you like your FPS's). The one gripe I do have is that the mic, although flexible, is still quite rigid to me. Maybe if it had a more looser cable, then I would give it full props. (If you do buy this headset, behind the speakers in the packaging, there is a turtle beach sticker....thank me later)

(another thing: Amazon should be more specific with what colour you would be getting. Some people can be picky, luckily I wasn't one of them.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 226 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Turtle Beach Ear Force XL1 Headset Xbox 360 (Colour May Vary)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews