Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars23
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Daisy Dalrymple is writing an article about the Tower of London. She is invited to visit some old friends - Mrs and Miss Tebbitt - who are staying with the Governor. She quickly realises that there are tensions between the garrison and the Yeoman Warders. Daisy leaves the Tower early one morning a couple of days later having spent the night there to watch the ceremony of the keys, she finds the dead body of a Yeoman Warder with a pike stuck in his back.

Naturally her husband, Detective Chief Inspector Alec Fletcher a Scotland Yard detective, is called in to investigate the murder. In the process the tensions and feuds are all brought to the surface, putting several other people in danger. This is a well written and atmospheric mystery with interesting background information about the history and workings of the Tower of London.

There are some interesting - and amusing - characters in this story especially the two daughters of the Governor, Belinda and Fay. The Tebbitts make a welcome return to the series as well - outspoken elderly Mrs Tebbitt and her daughter Myrtle. They first appeared in Die Laughing (Daisy Dalrymple) I enjoyed this instalment of this entertaining series. The books can be read out of order but it is best to start with Death at Wentwater Court (Daisy Dalrymple) in order to see the development of the relationships between the series characters.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
Have read most of the Daisy Dalrymple novels - this one left me rather uninterested. Apart from the two girls I couldn't work up much enthusiasm for any of the characters and gave up bothering with the geographical detail. Dénoument weak, I thought. Passed a wet afternoon, but not one of the best.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2013
I'm working my way through this series in order, otherwise I would probably have given up on this one quite early. Much of the appeal of the Daisy Dalrymple books for me have been the imaginative settings, but this one is just too contrived and is dull. Apart from two young girls, none of the characters are very interesting and I just didn't care about the outcome.

As the title suggests, most of the action takes place in the Tower of London. Daisy goes to take up an invitation and in so doing hopes to gain material for an article - to those new to the series I should say that she's a journalist. This visit leads to another, during which, surprise surprise she stumbles across yet another body, thus preparing the ground for what, in my opinion, is a lacklustre story with too much boring detail about the layout of the T of L.

We do get some colour, in the form of Daisy's six month old twin babies and their terrifying nanny, but this is my least favourite of the series so far.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
Daisy Dalrymple is always a good read, light hearted, entertaining, informative and well researched. The villain of the piece of this one was a bit more obvious than in some of Carola Dunn's excellent series but this did not detract from it being a good read filled as always with interesting characters, wit and humour. The interactions between Daisy, Alec and the other characters are what make this series so completely readable that I hope the series is still going when Belinda is grown up and helping. The incidental information about the White Tower, the Yeoman Warders and the ravens is fascinating. The idea of a raven being sacked for bad language has to be taken from a true incident I'm sure! Not the best or strongest of Carola Dunn's plots but totally redeemed by all the other excellent features and well worth reading and re-reading.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
I love murder mysteries set in the 1920/30s. (They tend to be less depressing) I searched on Amazon and read the feedbacks and chose Carole Dunn. I bought the first 8 books from the Daisy Dalrymple series. I love them, I escape into a cosy world of romance and intrigue every evening. The stories are very well written, not too long and flow very easily.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 August 2011
This is the sixteenth novel in the Daisy Dalrymple mystery series by Corola Dunn.

Young journalist Daisy Fletcher is trying to balance being a wife and mother with her career in 1920s London, when one of her assignments leads her to the Tower of London. On her way home from the Tower she discovers the body of one of the guards, but as she starts to investigate the murder, her police officer husband Alec arrives, takes over, and sends her home. The idea of an amateur woman detective in the 1920s, seemed fascinating and I really expected to love the story, but sadly Daisy Dalrymple briefly appears in her own mystery and when she does it is only to meddle in her husband's investigation or argue with her children's nanny.

The atmosphere is great and the descriptions, especially those of the Tower of London are so good, that although I have never been to the place, I could almost see it. Also, the many interesting bits of information about the Tower and the British history trivia were excellent. However, the plot, though interesting, is rather repetitive and far from gripping and although some characters were well developed, most were underdeveloped and thus not interesting at all.

I have always found the Tower of London and its history fascinating, so when I came across this little mystery I decided to read it, without having read any of the previous books in the series, which was a mistake. Not having read the first books, I had no idea what the main characters were like and the author didn't bother to introduce them in this book, even briefly, as it is usually done with other book series. A few paragraphs here and there with basic information about their appearance, age, style and background would not annoy frequent readers of the series and would make things clear and more interesting for new readers. As it is, I didn't really enjoy the book and I think that if someone wants to read this series, this is not a good place to start and it's best to start from the first books.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2016
As ever, great fun to read a Daisy book. My one issue was that I read on kindle, the map was not easy to read and i could not refer back to it easily. With the complex layout of the tower, the map must have been a great aid to reading. Nevertheless, an excellent read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 January 2012
In style the Daisy Dalrymple book that this most closely resembles is Rattle His Bones (Daisy Dalrymple Mystery) and it shares that book's failings: too many characters, too much geographical detail of the setting and too much coincidence in the plot. It also suffers from a frankly ridiculous denoument.

Having said all that Dunn writes as well as ever and handles her regular cast of characters with her usual affection.
11 comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
this order went through smoothly and satisfactorily. thanks to all who make this happen. This is our usual experience of dealing with amazon and other dealers through them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2015
If you like the daisy Dalrymple series you'll like this story. As usual it's a gentle and humorous story. Can't really say any more!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse