Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
313
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£4.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 18 November 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A typical Agatha Raisin book, this is lighthearted and entertaining:- it is amusing enough to make you laugh outloud in several places; it is entertaining; it is frustrating (there are certain clues that you wnat to keep reminding them of ... what about the diamonds? Have you forgotten the diamonds?); it is enjoyable; it is irritating (why am I enjoying it so much?); it is fun!
For those of us who have already enjoyed some of the previous books in the series, it is great to see how the characters develop. Tony is stil a valued member of the team, as are Philip and Patrick, Charles, James and Roy; but things have happened in Simon's life causing problems for both him and Tony. Is Agatha responsible? Is she sorry? Was she right to interfere?
For those new to the series, certain characters may need some thinking about, but the lighthearted nature of the book shouldn't make this tough. Basically, think of it as an Enid Blyton for adults and you won't be far off!
The plot in very few words: - the pig at a hog roast is not exactly what was expected; Agatha realises this and then discovers another murder victim; she, her team and her friends are then threatened; investigation is off ... then on ... off ... then on; however, this is not a boring book to listen to! It's fun, entertaining and well worth listening to!
A great way to pass a long journey! Enjoy!
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Like other reviewers, I read and enjoyed the first Agatha Raisin books, and having exhausted those, I am returning to the new series after a couple of years. I am so disappointed that this book is so bad. The first books were light and easy to read or listen to without having to concentrate too hard, and the characters were likeable. Agatha's cases were based on poisoned Victoria sponge, haunted houses and village fetes - all fun! She has now turned into a rude, foul mouthed bully, and this story involves kidnaps in Las Vegas, drug smuggling and blood diamonds, none of which are explained properly or have a conclusion. No fear of spoiling the plot for you - there isn't one. It's just a series of unrelated events involving characters I no longer like or care about. I'm not looking for detailed police procedure or forensics; there are other authors I can read for that, but, come on, surely there must be one foot in reality. There are so many loose ends that I (sadly) read the book twice to make sure that I hadn't missed something. Please lets go back to the old Agatha - the one star here is for the author sneaking this past the publisher! Sorry.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've not read/listened to an Agatha Raisin story before so came to this having no idea what to expect.

Following a brief introduction as we are introduced to our main character & a few of the locals in her village a murder is committed very publicly to be quickly followed by another.
Our heroine finds herself up against both a ruthless killer & her inability to keep her mouth shut which gets her into trouble.

The story bobs along at a perfectly reasonable pace and has enough surprises & depth to keep the listener on board.

The characters too are varied, opinionated & interesting. The amount of dislikeable characters is unusual & makes for a more lifelike setting.

The real problem/ attraction, depending on your point of view, is Agatha herself. Bossy, interfering & something of a snob are not necessarily winning traits for a main character.
I feel that there is a real age & class divide that the author refuses to compromise on. The elderly are seldom wrong & the upper middle classes never.

But despite being an interfering busybody, think Miss Marple without the charm, Agatha still appeals. It makes a change not to have a `people person' in charge & it's difficult not to admire her determination & spirit.
Her demands that the entire planet revolve around her & her opinions are, frankly, quite realistic.

This is certainly not a classic by any means but neither is it poor. It occupies a comfortable middle ground. If you can get it for a reasonable price then give it a try. Give it time & the characters will grow on you.

One point of concern is the use of Penelope Keith to read. As Agatha she is perfect & she would be ideal in a radio play. However, as much as I love Penelope, her attempts at accents are variable to say the least & she founders when faced with voicing the great unwashed.

Avoiding a cosy approach & keeping matters moving mean that this is worth a try.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 December 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )|Verified Purchase
Although I have read all the previous Agatha Raisin books, this was the first audio CD of her books that I had experienced. As regards the storyline, I thought this one was actually better than some of the most recent of Agatha's adventures - there seemed to be more meat to the story. Agatha Raisin is never going to be a nice cuddly Miss Marple but she does have a certain charm. Most of the characters from the previous books appear - Mrs Bloxby and her husband the vicar, the village busybody Mrs Benson, Sir Charles, Roy, Bill Wong, Agatha's ex husband James and of course Toni and her colleagues from the detective agency. Although you could possibly read this as a standalone - it is a definite advantage to have read at least some of the previous books to have an idea of the characters and the history between them.

Penelope Keith reads very well - she is very clear and concise and mostly it was a pleasure to listen to. The only thing that spoilt it for me was when she tried to do various accents - she should have kept to reading it straight. They ranged from a dubious Brummy accent to a Yorkshire sounding Gloucestershire accent - and as for Toni's voice - this was dire - using such a small pathetic voice didn't do the character justice at all.

You could while away a very pleasant few hours listening to this and despite my criticisms above, I would listen to another audio book read by Ms Keith.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 December 2011
Format: Audio CD|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
On bended knee (well, almost) I express my apologies to M.C. Beaton and to Penelope Keith for finding a previous offering tedious if not downright boring when all the things I found frustrating then, I find charming and irritatingly funny in the case of "Agatha Raisin as the Pig Turns (BBC Audio)".

It was bliss. I sat with my headphones on for 6 hours oblivious to my wife's requests to put up a shelf, or some such. I still do not know why it is that I found the last Agatha Raisin Audio Book so different. Perhaps it was me. Perhaps it was the weather.

All I can say is that I remember the books to be funny, readable, ludicrous (in places, but nicely so), one-dimensional, sometimes poorly plotted with inconsistent characterisations, but hugely enjoyable and quite un-putdownable.

And so in the present case with "As the Pig Turns". A local 'little Hitler' meets the most gruesome fate imaginable. The villagers, about to enjoy a barbecue, are saved from an equally gruesome meal only because of the watchful eye of Agatha. Before long, the police (both local and otherwise) pile in and along with all the well loved characters (including the poor Vicar's wife!) finding themselves participating one way or another.

As may be safely assumed, Agatha saves the day!!

Don't miss it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2012
This is a review of the Kindle edition.
Another eagerly awaited Agatha Raisin book. Slightly darker in tone than usual but extremely enjoyable nonetheless. Great to see Agatha in lots of quandries. I only have one complaint - continuity! Where were Ms Beaton's notes or what was her editor doing? Simon's "parents"! Re-read "Busy Body" and see what I mean.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2012
I love Agatha Raisin, she is such a wonderful charecter, so believable, even the scrapes she gets into, I can't wait for the next one, shame they only come out once a year, I have now read every book in the Agatha Raisin series, once you read the first one, you can't wait for the next.

I now live in the Cotswolds, and I have found lots of villages that could be Carslie.

M.C. Beaton, is a wonderful story teller, and Agatha and her staff at the detective agency could be any of our neighbors, local businesses have been mentioned in some of the books, and anyone visiting the area would be able to pick out where Agatha has been, they should issue plaques like the blue plaque scheme, only saying "this business has featured in an M.C. Beaton novel", perhaps we should set up the Agatha Raisin appreciation/readers tour of the Cotswolds? Would help the tourist trade to the area.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2011
Did not enjoy this one at all. Bad plot, characters not studied in depth and many missing or only briefly mentioned. Read all her books but enjoying them less and less. Will seriously think twice about buying next years release.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Badly written with little imagination. Boring story about a conceited old woman who has moved to the country and thinks that because she is from London she is smarter than everyone else. Stereotypical portrait of life in a small village with all your bog standard characters, vicars wife, local plod etc. Yawn.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2012
The picturesque Cotwsold village of Winter Parva has decided to warm the winter months after the holidays by roasting a pig in the town square. Agatha, always one for a good roasting, has arrived with her former protegée and current rival in the private detection racket, Toni, to enjoy the merriment. But as the rotary spit is placed over a bed of fiery charcoals and the pig is carried toward its final resting place, Agatha realizes that things are not as they seem....

'Stop!' she screams suddenly.

The "pig," in fact, is Gary Beech, a policeman not exactly beloved by the good people of the village. Although Agatha has every intention of leaving matters to the police, everything changes when Gary's ex-wife hires Toni to investigate. With that provocation, how could any sleuth as obviously vain and competitive (and secretly insecure) as Agatha could do anything other than solve the case herself?

Genre: Mystery
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.