Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stereo Here It Comes!
Received a email this morning

Ok for those who purchased this cd and then realised the first 5 tracks were in mono.

The stereo versions have been located and if you wish to receive a copy of the new repressed cd

send your cd to

Salvo
Union Square Music Ltd.
Unit 1.1
Shepherds Studios
Rockley Road...
Published 21 months ago by C. Murphy

versus
179 of 182 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Released Despite Complaints
When myself, and Peter Gill, were made aware of the "error" on the first five tracks some weeks before it's official release we contacted ZTT and Salvo to ask if they were going to correct it. Despite several emails and phone calls nobody would return our calls or answer the emails. On one occasion Peter called Salvo and asked to be put through to several people and was...
Published on 19 Aug 2012 by Bp Nash


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waiting for information, 3 Mar 2013
By 
Pablo L. (BA, Argentina) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
It will be interesting to know if the new copies we can buy here from amazon are the stereo corrected or in faulty mono. I'm interested on a stereo copy of this release, but the lack of information about this keeps me waiting. I hope somebody can clarify this in the near future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore my bitterness before, this is now in stereo and has been adjusted accordingly, 6 Aug 2012
By 
R. J. Mahaffey "rj_mahaffey" (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
To be honest, this is probably for collectors and fans mainly. Which I am. Those who are yet to discover FGTH probably would be better buying one of the four greatest hits albums out there but for those of us who used to own the old cassingles with tracks only issued here on cd, this is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooting Stars Never Stop, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
Despite all the negative reviews about this compilation i think it's rather good. When it was first released the first 5 tracks on disc 1 were in mono but this has now been rectified by the record company. In fact if you send the original CD 1 back to salvo or email them with a receipt of original purchase they will send the new CD 1 for nowt. Now down to the contents of the compilation. There are some stand out tracks on here like, Relax(international) The World is My Oyster(in its 7" form) and the whole of The Power of Love cassette single. Bring on Vol Two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 2nd CD stereo version?, 22 Mar 2013
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
Still waiting for confirmation that the 2nd CD has now been replaced with the corrected disc with the stereo tracks. Will hold odd purchasing this item until then, as I don't need the hassle of having to send off for a replacement disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff!!!, 5 Jan 2013
By 
J. Oon "Mode Fan" (Petaling Jaya, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
Wasn't bothered about the reported flaws in the 'lost' mastertapes....bought it anyway from Amazon UK.
Loads of gaps plugged in my FGTH collection with this compilation!

When it was announced that the faulty disc was being redone and replaced for those who had purchased it, I sent a snapshot of my Amazon receipt to Union Square music via email ( I live in South East Asia)... no reply whatsoever from them... and after a few weeks... nothing in the mail, so I just left it at that. Was wondering for the past month and a half, where to look for another source to get a replacement CD for the faulty one.

To my surprise, I recieved the replacement CD in the mail just 2 days ago! Best Christmas present this year!!!!!!

Much Thanks to the folks at Union Square!! Frankie says.. ROCK ON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Messy Business, 17 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
As others have noted, a disappointment. The first five tracks are anything but "glorious mono" and are an egregious misrepresentation of what was intended. The fact that this is at the start makes it just worse.

The label appears to be trying to passing off an embarrassing mistake as an opportunity: unsurprisingly it is being taken to be adding insult to injury.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For obsessives only.. and the record company messed that up too, 21 Feb 2014
By 
Ian Watters "lovingboth" (Great Britain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
As you can see, when this was released the first five tracks were in 'one side of the stereo mix on both sides' mono. Oops. This was known about before release date, but it was released anyway. Ah. Welcome to the music industry.

The good news is that a proper version was pressed after that mess up.

The bad news is that unless you are a FGtH obsessive, there's probably nothing here that you actually want enough to pay the cost of buying the whole thing, just the scrapings from an already very scraped bottom of the barrel. If you aren't, this isn't the place to start - the only problem with getting a 'greatest hits' album is that there are so many to choose from. If you think you may be, it's on Spotify, so you can hear their covers of 'Get It On' and 'Do You Think I'm Sexy'... and decide that the T.Rex and Rod Stewart ones are better. There are a couple of nice things on it, but none of the alternate versions or remixes are the best for the track in question, and there's nothing in the oddities that I want to listen to twice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got the replacement disc., 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
I know some of ye are not happy with the first disc, due to the first 5 tracks in "Mono".

As Salvo are telling Frankie Fans to send the faulty disc and you will get a replacement disc from Salvo,
if you send your faulty disc in the post.

I'm sure that you have read the previous posts in Amazon which the Salvo address are in the other
posts from customers who have bought the SexMix album..

The replacement disc is perfect. The tracks are good..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WRONG CD!!!!, 14 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
Today, December 14th, i received my copy hoping that it would be the fixed stereo version. I was wrong: MONO. Highly disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Digital De-Mastering At It's Finest., 5 Aug 2012
This review is from: Sex Mix (Audio CD)
Hand's up who wants the biggest band of the 80's in mono? Not me, just ZTT. My last purchase from ZTT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex Mix
Sex Mix by Frankie Goes To Hollywood (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews