Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filling the god-shaped hole
'Everyone has an opinion about religion.' is the very first sentence of Peter Stanford's introduction to this book, and so it probably is. Just looking at some of the major conflicts in the world today it even seems to matter very much to a lot of people! I, however, came to this book not as a 'believer' but largely out of curiosity. Part of my motivation was actually...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by Didier

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars is that all?
As a christian believer I think the balance or coverage within Christianity was not the best. That on Buddhism left me unclear. Islam's and Judaism could be improved. More on the golden rule? More on modern thinking about modern cosmology & fundamental physics and religious beliefs.
Published 8 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Filling the god-shaped hole, 12 Oct 2011
By 
Didier (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
'Everyone has an opinion about religion.' is the very first sentence of Peter Stanford's introduction to this book, and so it probably is. Just looking at some of the major conflicts in the world today it even seems to matter very much to a lot of people! I, however, came to this book not as a 'believer' but largely out of curiosity. Part of my motivation was actually literary: as an eager student of English literature but having been raised myself as a Catholic, it irked me not to know more about High and Low Anglicanism, Methodism, Presbyterians, the Kirk, etc. etc. because I found these play a central role in many of the novels I read (just think of the Barsetshire-novels by Anthony Trollope).

So I was eager to find a simple, objective and comprehensive overview of the world's (major) religions. And that is precisely what I got. True to his word, Stanford summarizes this vast topic leaving his 'own feelings and denominational attachment to one side so as to present as rounded a picture as possible'.

He does so grouping together the 50 separate ideas into 7 chapters:
- Common ground
- Christianity
- The Reformed Tradition
- Judaism
- Islam
- Eastern Traditions
- Modern Dilemmas

If you're an amateur (which seems a strange word to apply to religion) like me, this short book in just over 200 pages will provide you with a very easy-to-follow overview and leave you with a good grasp of the similarities and differences between the world's major religions. The information given is basic of course, and I'm sure one can, as some do, devote a lifetime to the study of just one of these religions, and experts will perhaps find fault with the lack of detail. But that is not what this book sets out to do, so according to me besides the point.

So whether you do or do not feel 'a god-shaped hole' in your innermost being, and whether or not that hole has been filled, I can only heartily recommend this book to all. I'm sure that it'll help me personally appreciate English literature all the more, and has even inspired me to finally start reading A History of Christianity: The First Three Thousand Years because, to use a religious concept: I was becoming nothing short of guilt-ridden seeing this book sit unopened on my shelves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, basic and easy to understand, 3 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Stephen H. Campbell (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book as part of a wider interest in anthropology and religious practices in particular. It provides the reader with a simple format, coverage of the major elements of most of the world's major belief-systems and a broad-brush, fundamental exposure to the diverse religious beliefs in the world. I'd recommend it particularly for those who want an easily-read introduction into the whole topic of religion and religious practice.

Follow the path of Descartes, when he advises "if you would be a real seeker after truth, it is necessary that at least once in your life you doubt, as far as possible, all things". Baruch Spinoza eloquently condemns the people who claim to know who or what God is when he tells us; "Those who wish to seek out the cause of miracles, and to understand the things of nature as philosophers, and not to stare at them in astonishment like fools, are soon considered heretical and impious, and proclaimed as such by those whom the mob adores as the interpreters of nature and the Gods. For these men know that once ignorance is put aside, that wonderment would be taken away which is the only means by which their authority is preserved".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For mind and spirit, 25 Nov 2010
By 
Hande Z (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
There is no doubt that this book is superficial. It has to be to have discussed 50 religious ideas of the major religions in 205 pages. One can write almost 700 pages just on the birth of Jesus alone (Raymond Brown, "Birth of the Messiah"). One is therefore likely to find descriptions or comments that needs explanation and elaboration, but bearing in mind that the intention of the editors and the author was clearly to provide a sampling of some of the major ideas of and about the main religions this is a very helpful and enjoyable book to read. Some, such as Mormons, Christian Scientists, and Quakers may object to their religion classified as a "sect or cult" - but on reading the actual description, the author was not at all offensive. I set out the passage on "Quakers" as an illustration: "George Fox (1624-91), an apprentice shoemaker from Leicestershire, founded the society of friends (better known as the Quakers) in 1652, after he despaired of finding God in any existing denomination. His new movement was an association rather than a church, and was dedicated to revealing an inner truth or light. The society has no ministers and no sacraments. Meetings are conducted largely in prayerful silence, with participants 'waitng upon God' and speaking only when prompted by the Holy Spirit. Quakers are notable for their work for social justice, especially in prisons. There are 300,000 members of the movement worldwide." page 81.

The reader, be he an atheist, a Christian, a Hindu or a Muslim, if he is open-minded, will find something of some religions about which he might hitherto have been ignorant. Hence, this is not the book for the comparative religious scholar, but to the lay person it is a very informative book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent comprehensive, simple and unbiased guide, 21 April 2012
By 
John Hopper (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Religion - 50 Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
This is a very useful and readable comparative guide to all the major and most of the minor religions in the world. It looks at their basic tenets and characteristics, their holy texts and their outline development, and different trends and factions within them. What really emerges is that most religions have very similar basic core messages rejecting materialism and, at heart, the expressed desire to treat one's fellow man decently. This is well worth a read for anyone, whatever their personal views, who is interested in the ways in which different societies, cultures and sub cultures see the world and see each other. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars So disappointed, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Anthy (Waltham Abbey, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I thought that this would be good for a thoughtful teen reader. It isn't much better than an Usborne/DK book in the written text, and of course there are no pictures. I would expect a book that consists only of text to be a less bitty. It just jumped around all over the place, and lacked focus/clarity as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Religion - 50 Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
It is okay. I love the book. I will like to have more in different fields of study. It's nice
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars is that all?, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Religion - 50 Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
As a christian believer I think the balance or coverage within Christianity was not the best. That on Buddhism left me unclear. Islam's and Judaism could be improved. More on the golden rule? More on modern thinking about modern cosmology & fundamental physics and religious beliefs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Religion assayed., 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Religion - 50 Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
It does stimulate the grey matter especially for those who believe Jesus did live amongst us, but still question is there a God?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meaning of Life Stuff, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Religion - 50 Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
It's often difficult to get handle on some of the ideas theology graduates take for granted, without doing a theology degree of your own. This little work goes a long way towards that, explaining clearly and simply some fundamental concepts you can hang your own ideas around religion on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential for understanding modern beliefs and their origins., 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Religion - 50 Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
Very useful indeed for getting to grips with the spiritual shape of the world we find ourselves living in today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews