Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy!
I've been taking a few subjects in marketing and management this year, and I bought this book to get an overview of different ideas.

I thought this was a great little book, the ideas were laid out in a way that was very easy to understand even for a complete novice. I've also noticed that as I keep coming across the ideas in my course literature, I find that...
Published on 12 April 2011 by Anine

versus
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 50 Shades of management
What a 50 shades of Grey cash-in. Not only the title, but some of the "ideas" are riffs on E L James' monolithic tome
Eg:
"Idea 17. A good manager should be able to tie his underlings up and whip thay ass, over the table in the office".
"Idea 24. Insert one's fist into the worthless [worker's] rectum".
"Idea 33. Make the worker beg you to stop, and...
Published on 7 Sep 2012


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - would have benefited from a further reading entry for each idea, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Ripple (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Books that claim to list invariably 50 ideas of anything that you "need to know" can often disappoint. This series appears to be an exception though. Certainly the "Management" edition is well written, lists pretty much the top 50 business ideas of recent years, and while sometimes slave to its structure in general is perfect to both dip into as a reference book but not too bland to be read cover to cover, although the listing of the ideas in alphabetical order rather than by either chronology or theme suggests that the writer intends the former approach rather than the start at the beginning and end at the end approach. What I particularly liked was the inherent recognition that many of the ideas are themselves "products" of management consultancies and therefore have their own product life cycles. Russell-Walling manages to give due weight and recognition to the ideas as well as an acknowledgment that some have past their sell by date or have been somewhat misinterpreted.

The works of the major business thinkers - Drucker, Porter, Levitt, Senge, Moss Kanter etc, are all here and as a refresher to my management studies it was really helpful. It would have been nice to have a list of two or three "further reading" suggestions though to allow follow up of the major works. Admittedly some are referred to, but in light of the brief coverage (four pages per idea which is slavishly adhered to) this might have allowed more in depth exploration.

Each "idea" is given a time line which should be more of a help than it is. In fact, it's rather misleading as it implies links that often aren't there. Each idea also has a sidebar box of varying levels of interest - sometimes the author seems short of ideas of what to put here so puts a precis of a major thinker - at others it gives real world examples, with the latter being more interesting. For me, the focus should be on the ideas - 50 great management writers you need to know is a different book altogether.

It's interesting to see how some ideas have really stood the test of time while others have fallen away. Also interesting is the impact of Japanese thinking at a time when all was rosy in the land of the rising sun's economy. Rather less interesting today though. Presumably the next raft of ideas will come out of China?

The ideas include staples like the four Ps, the five forces of competition, core competencies, and marketing myopia labeled here as "what business are you really in?". All the buzz ideas of recent years - balanced scorecards, TQM, customer relationship management and benchmarking get an outing so that you can at least understand what people are supposed to be talking about even if they have misinterpreted the ideas!

Of course something is lost in the brevity of the coverage but it's a heck of a lot better than most books that try to do the same thing. If it had had a "further reading" for each idea, it would have merited a full five stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 50 Basic Phrases of CorporateSpeak, 4 Jun 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This book contains introductions to 50 topics in management that pepper the presentations and pep-talks of the corporate in-crowd. Read it for one of two reasons. First, it can give you a quick leg-up on the jargon that upwardly-mobile colleagues are using. It might even help you win an informal game of BS bingo in your organization's next all-hands meeting. Its second and more serious purpose is as a concise introduction to the most frequently used management concepts. You might even identify a few you want to learn more about.

Each chapter is self-contained and delivers a two- to four-page capsule treatment of its topic. Most chapters contain definitions of key concepts, relevant historical quotes, and timelines across the bottom of the first two pages. Boxes set off from the text effectively summarize key information. Example boxes include reasons customer relations management campaigns fail (p. 57), the "Ten C's of Employee Engagement" (p. 73), and the product life cycle (p. 90).

Several chapters are particularly informative for such brief introductions. The Five Forces of Competition chapter (p. 84) presents an effective battlefield map of the forces that affect a company's competitive success. The Four P's of Marketing (p. 88) outlines the interlocking effects of product, price, place and promotion on market success. The Innovation chapter (p. 96) distinguishes between technical invention and true innovation, which must have an impact in the marketplace in order to succeed. Finally, the Long Tail chapter (p. 120) is an excellent four-page summary of the Chris Anderson's 2006 bestseller of the same name. It highlights how alternatives to mega-success, mass appeal products have become much more important in our web-business world.

Edward Russell-Walling's book has a good topic index and an adequate two-page glossary, but lacks references to supporting literature. This is an unfortunate omission in an introductory book. Readers should be aimed at further reading when they are most eager for more knowledge. This is a recurring flaw in this series of books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great buy!, 12 April 2011
By 
Anine (Trondheim, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've been taking a few subjects in marketing and management this year, and I bought this book to get an overview of different ideas.

I thought this was a great little book, the ideas were laid out in a way that was very easy to understand even for a complete novice. I've also noticed that as I keep coming across the ideas in my course literature, I find that "50 ideas" has the better explanations. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ok but missing some important items, 15 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a nicely presented book, very easy to read and a good price too. A lot of ideas are covered so obviously it's going to be brief, but for a beginner it's fine. As a software manager I often find complexity and people are of daily importance. Illness, stress, overwork and things like that are key to management (of any industry). Remember the old sayings "it's not rocket science" and "there's more than one way to skin a cat". These came from somewhere. In software as well as other industries, complexity brings many problems whereas working around or designing a simpler solution are usually the best way forward. I feel rather than delving into a lot of slightly peripheral ideas, these more common principals should have been covered. Overall, a good read and recommended for beginners interested in what all the terms mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars To the point, 25 Jun 2014
By 
I. P. Gearing (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Management Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
There are many books that cover the content of this volume in very great detail, but if you want a good place to start and a sense of the development of the time lines and evolution of the ideas discussed then this is a very good place to start or refresh your memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting but flawed, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Management Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
While the content is interesting and relatively modern (it does feel like it will need rewriting in the near future, however) it has more than just a few spelling mistakes and is clunky in its writing style. Definitely a good place to find a brief description of the most popular management books and a reasonably concise introduction to the field
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Management Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
I highly rate the book to any individual that is starting to learn more about management related topics. It provides a good base in to what are the main models and how they have been practically applied to certain organisations. Furthermore, the book is written in a very candid manner that is easy to read and follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Management, as in..., 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...business management !
When I purchased it, I thought this book would entail Project Management definitions, which I would have found interesting, professionally. What I got instead was a book on generic business management. Though a bit disappointed at first, it taught me a lot so far, about the business ecosystems, and how to survive in that jungle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Missing manual of the Business World!, 2 Jan 2009
This is one of the most fantastic book I have read recently as it is a kind of resource in which you can find the 50 most frequenty used management concepts and their detailed explanations. If you heard about a (such as Six Sigma) topic but do not know exactly what it means (and shy to to ask!) - here's the reference you need. You name it: Blue Ocean Strategy, CRM, Boston Matrix, Web 2.0, Knowledge Economy, The four Ps and many more - in my opinion this book is the shortest cut to be known as business savy! Each section is 4 pages and has timelines (where the idea is coming from), critical terms/terminology,

Well... Being smart is a nice thing in business world and definetely this book is ready to help. On the other hand as mentioned by Dilbert, "you dont need to smart, just looking smart would be enough " :) Just kidding! But for sure if you can read this 200 pages, easy to understand book - it will help to boost your confidence and general business appreance!

If you are in business world, like to play the business game - you need this book on your desk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book for People of Different Backgrounds, 21 April 2010
By 
E. Burgess (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a great book. I'm a university student studying Popular Music so a book like this gives real depth to my projects. All of the different introductory concepts give clear dues to who innovated them, and thus a great way to get more books from the innovator themself.

Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews