Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and compelling introduction to some important subjects
As someone who thinks she knows a bit about economics but on occasion feels woefully uninformed, this book is exactly what I was looking for. It is interesting, readable, witty in places and pitched at just the right level - being informative without being patronising. Most importantly it covers all those crucial topics I kind of thought I knew about but didn't really,...
Published on 27 Oct 2009 by SpikeMilly

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bite sized bits of knowledge!
This is a great book for dipping into (as are most of the "50 ideas" books). It explains the ideas in simple enough language to give you an overview without assuming too much knowledge. It's good to read perhaps just one of the ideas a day and then recap the next before moving on to the next.
Published on 19 Nov 2012 by Bhavini Shah


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshing and compelling introduction to some important subjects, 27 Oct 2009
As someone who thinks she knows a bit about economics but on occasion feels woefully uninformed, this book is exactly what I was looking for. It is interesting, readable, witty in places and pitched at just the right level - being informative without being patronising. Most importantly it covers all those crucial topics I kind of thought I knew about but didn't really, and occasionally ended up feeling slightly clueless in conversations whilst others waxed lyrical about crunches, markets and all the `isms' (insert protection, multilateral, capital etc as required).

At last I can properly understand all those slightly baffling economic phrases that the papers are littered with - stagflation and quantitative easing trip off my tongue. Hurrah! And most importantly I can now play those irritating conversationalists who pretend they know stuff at their own game.

Its clear and concise and easy to dip into. I'm very interested but I'm afraid I don't have time to go digging into massive tomes. I know these are big subjects and there is a lot more to read but as an introduction this is just perfect. Thank you Mr Conway for a refreshing and compelling introduction to a tricky but topical subject!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Current issues explained simply -, 25 May 2010
A really useful book. Simple but not simplistic. Worth passing on to younger people who want to understand issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A friendly companion, 28 Oct 2009
Conway really knows a thing or 50 about economics. The joy of this book though is that whilst it helps 'tick things off' which anyone with half an eye on current affairs and the world around really ought to know, it does so in a chirpy snappy manner which helps to instil a sense of confidence to reflect on, and converse about, ideas which might hitherto have seemed impenetrably esoteric. Moreover, it imparts a great deal of enthusiasm for the subject matter and I feel encouraged and equipped to gain a more comprehensive and in-depth understanding of these key principles of economic theory and analysis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent primer, 8 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
I would recommend that anyone starting a degree or any course / qualification in economics reads this first, and then refers back to it when clarification of a principle is required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Economics beats Philosophy, 29 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought 50 economics ideas having bought the philosophy equivalent a few months ago. I'd rate philosphy 7/10 and this one 9. the ideas are very carefully chosen and the author has that rare ability to take a relatively sophisticated concept and *translate* it into something easily and enjoyably digestable for the layperson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide, 5 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
I have read a number of the other books in the '50 Ideas....' series and as with the others this is a really useful guide to some fundamental Economics subjects, which as a layman I knew little about, but wanted to know more of. The topics are well selected, considering the current economic situation, and well explained in a short and concise manner. Not always the most exciting of topics (hence the 4 stars) but a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ah! So that's why....................., 8 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book very much - economics isn't easy for us non boffins to get a grip of but this book is very readable and the sequence is logical. A whole raft of ideas that hadn't occured such as 'why price rises / inflation/ unemployment are all necessary' You might not agree with it ( a Marksist friend is still near apoplexy at the ideas)but you WILL learn loads of stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful!!!!, 7 July 2012
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
If you have no idea about economics, numbers, finance etc, this is a great book for you!! I bought this two years ago when I was studying a MA in International Relations! I was struggling with economics, and finally decided to buy this book to speak the same language with the professor! To say the truth, finally my non-mathematical brain got something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review!, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent introduction to economic ideas and to the links between them. Short articles without too many jargon words. A good read for those wanting basic information without needing to understand the theories and evidence that lie behind the big ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb read educational, insightful and well written, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 50 Economics Ideas You Really Need to Know (50 Ideas You Really Need to Know series) (Kindle Edition)
This book taught me so much on the subject of economics and its immpact to our lives now. The 50 ideas are highly readable, succinctly explained and summed up with a historical context and timeline. They will also be helpful to me in future as a reference, the author has done a great service explaining the subject to those of us with a limited knowledge, while making it enjoyable to read, thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews