Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeff's New Workout!!
Jeff should market this as a workout DVD.
My Dad and I were laughing so much we must've lost 5 pounds each.
With Walter, Peanut, José Jalapeño, and the legend Achmed, you really can't go wrong with this DVD.
Published on 10 Nov 2011 by Mr. Matthew Gilchrist

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Jeff's best work
Having seen all of Jeff's previous work, and given the fact that my partner is a fan, to say that I enjoy Jeff's irreverent, sometimes borderline controversial humour would be a little understated.

Controlled Chaos is Jeff's most recent outing and I am sad to say that it is not his best, in fact, not even close to his previous work.

Its starts with...
Published 21 months ago by William Templar


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jeff's New Workout!!, 10 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Matthew Gilchrist (Dundee, Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
Jeff should market this as a workout DVD.
My Dad and I were laughing so much we must've lost 5 pounds each.
With Walter, Peanut, José Jalapeño, and the legend Achmed, you really can't go wrong with this DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Controlled Chaos DVD, 11 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
The dvd is excellent. Jeff Dunham is an excellent ventriloquist and comedian. His interaction with the puppets make you believe they are real. I laughed my way through this dvd an enjoyable watch and I'll watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Jeff's best work, 19 Mar 2013
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen all of Jeff's previous work, and given the fact that my partner is a fan, to say that I enjoy Jeff's irreverent, sometimes borderline controversial humour would be a little understated.

Controlled Chaos is Jeff's most recent outing and I am sad to say that it is not his best, in fact, not even close to his previous work.

Its starts with his usual stand-up set piece which in all honesty is not his true calling. Perhaps as an English viewer I find his humour in this part a little, "American"; in that it's quite obvious and literal. On this DVD the opening charts his life as a ventriloquist, and I must say, although a little history of a person you like is usually enjoyable, this came across as a bit sad really; it made the larger than life ventriloquist seem all too real (typical suburban American middle class kid) It also didn't add anything to the act; it.didn't lead you in.

His performance then moves on at it's usual pace through the characters he uses. But for me he had lost his energy, he seemed drained of inspiration. I felt that many of the sections were strung out and didn't really offer much new material. Indeed, many of the jokes were recycled and slightly reworded. Maybe this was due to his marriage breaking down which he mentions in the beginning , maybe it was recorded on a bad night, who knows.... But it wasn't the Jeff Dunham I remember from earlier DVD releases.

All this is a great shame as Jeff still remains the best ventriloquist I have seen. And he is a true doctor of his art, and this comes out now and again as he can still wow the audience with vocal gymnastics and brilliant humour. Sadly these moments are few and far between in Controlled Chaos and it doesn't flow. In true Jeff Dunham style though, Peanut still remains the best act, that one at least was enjoyable.

If you are new to Jeff I probably wouldn't recommend this as a showcase of his talent. If you are a returning fan, it's worth a watch if nothing else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, worth the small price!, 26 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
Just a quick review to say that this DVD is very funny indeed. It does start out a little slow but the good stuff does follow after approximately ten minutes of introduction.

Just a quick warning to the delicate people: there are plenty of semi-racist stereotype remarks about all (ALL) cultures. If you're of a pathetic (humourless) disposition then I would advise you stay away. Otherwise this is an absolutely hilarious standup routine, especially the Achmed The Dead Terrorist section!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Laugh!, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is really good, another funny one from Jeff Dunham. Deffinatley not one for anyone under 16 due to the rumour and topics but Achmed and peanut are hillarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny - but not for the politicaly correct, 25 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
Very funny DVD and as per the other Jeff Dunham dvd's don't watch if your easily offended or your are from the politicaly correct brigade!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as the others, 18 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a long term fan of jeff and his puppets like me, then you will have seen the other shows he's done and have some good idea of the type of humour he has.

Unfortuently this dvd lets him down a little bit, alot of the puppets sound the same and the jokes are pretty bland or a new twist on old material that just doesn't quite snap. Which is sad, but this dvd does show that he's very clever in what he does. Various things that he does in the show, does make me sit back and think 'wow...that was pretty awesome!'

So if you're interested in ventriloquism, then this dvd would be of interest to you and there's some real inspiring things he does in it.

There's alot of bonus material too, most of it is quite funny, but again - the same mistakes show up like in the show.

All in all, it's ok. But not brilliant. His older work is better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Controlled Chaos DVD, 9 Nov 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
My Other Half And I Loved This DVD, As Soon As It Arrived Today We Watched It And Laughed Alot Through It.If You Are A Jeff Dunham Fan Then This Is An Absolute Must Have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome Return, 10 Nov 2011
By 
A. Hud (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
I've been waiting for a DVD of new material since the last releases. I saw Jeff on the European Tour last year and thoroughly enjoyed it.

This DVD contains the welcome addition of a couple of new characters. Peanut now taking up his new hobby of Ventriloquism is hilarious!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant dvd love Jeff Dunham
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD]
Jeff Dunham's - Controlled Chaos [DVD] by Jeff Dunham (DVD - 2011)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews