Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A life affirming movie
Once in a while a film comes along that has the power to change your mind about certain pre-conceived ideas. This is one such film. City of Joy never shys away from the power of its message and its graphic picture of life in a poor part of a large and spralling Indian city. Yes, at times it can be a little hard to swallow - the big American doctor (Patrick Swayze)...
Published on 10 Oct 2003 by N. Oliver

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars didn't realise
Didn't realise this was a french copy English but with french sub titles was a bit off putting but watchable
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars playing, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CITY OF JOY (1992) [IMPORT] (DVD)
the delivery was prompt, followed the instructions to play but hey presto film wont play wont buy imports again no matter what they say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars City of Joy, 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Joy [DVD] (DVD)
I naturally expected "City of Joy" to be in English. It was in French. As I do not speak French it was useless to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars City of Joy, 25 Feb 2012
By 
Joanna Hughes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
DVD arrived speedily - but had problems inaitially with viewing it - although it then worked fine on my computer - so not sure why there was a problem as other DVDs work fine on my DVD player - anyhow - it was speediliy replaced, so all was well. Great fun to see a place in the film where I had recently stayed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars city of joy dvd, 16 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant film. I bought it for my mum but I enjoyed it as well. The film was well described, though I knew what to expect.
The dvd arrived quickly and was well packed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars city of joy, 22 Mar 2013
By 
A. K. Walton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A dated film this was due to the date it was made but has a good story and very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Unhappy., 1 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Joy [DVD] (DVD)
City of Joy - could'nt play it. It is a different speed to my DVD player and the writing on the case is'nt English. So wasn't happy at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars HUH - US _DVD, 20 May 2010
By 
Mrs. Penny Tolley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Huh - made the mistake of not checking - didn't realise this was a US DVD and it won't play on my player. Anyone know how to fix this as I can't find the DVD on any site.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CITY OF JOY (1992) [IMPORT] (DVD)
Sorry these. We're a gift for a third party
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 29 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very happy with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CITY OF JOY (1992) [IMPORT]
CITY OF JOY (1992) [IMPORT] by Roland Joffé (DVD)
£6.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews