Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A life affirming movie
Once in a while a film comes along that has the power to change your mind about certain pre-conceived ideas. This is one such film. City of Joy never shys away from the power of its message and its graphic picture of life in a poor part of a large and spralling Indian city. Yes, at times it can be a little hard to swallow - the big American doctor (Patrick Swayze)...
Published on 10 Oct 2003 by N. Oliver

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars didn't realise
Didn't realise this was a french copy English but with french sub titles was a bit off putting but watchable
Published 20 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A life affirming movie, 10 Oct 2003
By 
N. Oliver ""pinky"" (barnstaple, devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Once in a while a film comes along that has the power to change your mind about certain pre-conceived ideas. This is one such film. City of Joy never shys away from the power of its message and its graphic picture of life in a poor part of a large and spralling Indian city. Yes, at times it can be a little hard to swallow - the big American doctor (Patrick Swayze) waltzing onto the scene - but its not over sickly sweet and you come away feeling that you have been taught a valuable lesson. That life is for living, not for spectating and you must live each moment and treasure each experience; savour it. You never know when it can be taken from you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film has a fantastic storyline aswell as great acting., 14 Jan 2001
By A Customer
Patrick Swayze and Pauline Collins feature in this story of a doctor who cannot save a young girl so he goes to India for a new experience. Here Patrick Swayze meets Pauline Collins a nurse and finds himself working in her small treatment clinic. This film shows you what it is like to live in a third world country, it shows you how people live in fear and hope and the journey of a group of characters which is heart warming and brilliant to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of joy, 9 Feb 2011
Favorite film ever, and it's hard to get a decent quality DVD compatable with english DVD players, so I am overjoyed with this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Joy, 9 Jan 2011
This review is from: City of Joy [DVD] (DVD)
Soulful story of a poor Indian family , displaying how love and courage overcomes adversity .
Lovely performances from Indian actors .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, had been waiting a long time to watch it again, 28 July 2010
By 
I taped this film on Video in Geneva years ago and the video was poor quality, I have been trying to get my hands on the Original English speaking version for years but no luck with Region 2. Finally I got my hands on a DVD player that can play Region 1 and watched it again for the first time in years, plenty other films with Patrick Swayze on Region 2 DVD, cannot understand why not this film, as I think it is one of the bests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars city of joy, 20 May 2010
one of my all time favorite p.s. films shame it is a canadian import I can only play on my computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: City of Joy [DVD] (DVD)
This another exciting story, it fits all ages, all our family loved it, and yours will do the same, great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Joy, 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I saw this film many years ago & always wanted to purchase it but it just wasn't possible.
A wish came true, such a brilliant movie to watch... Thanks Amazon x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Joy., 26 Sep 2013
By 
GERRY MCMENEMY (Argyll,Scotland.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this film years ago and then lost track of it. I was delighted when it became available on this website. Although the film is shot among desperate poverty in Calcutta. Some scenes in the movie are quite harrowing, but it is actually a film of great hope and courage and optimism for the future. I love the late great Patrick Swayze and this is one of his best performances as the disillusioned American doctor finding purpose in life again among the sick and the poor people in the slums of Calcutta. He is ably supported by Pauline Collins as the feisty Irish nurse.
The only disappointment is that this copy of the movie has subtitles in what looks like Chinese to me and I am unable to remove them.
G.Mc Menemy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Joy, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Received well within the estimated delivery dates, good contact from seller regarding compatibility, advice re languages on cover and offering support re subtitles if required. DVD plays perfectly (I am in UK) and good quality too. So pleased to find this film as I know how rare it is now. Its a fantastic film, great story line and a must for all Patrick Swayze fans!!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

CITY OF JOY (1992) [IMPORT]
CITY OF JOY (1992) [IMPORT] by Roland Joffé (DVD)
£6.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews