Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
399
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£9.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 August 2012
This mouse is the perfect size for me. Thankfully the main part is matte black, rather than the often encountered shiny finish that shows up dust and fingerprints.

It worked right out of the box, except after a minute or two the cursor started wobbling around on its own. This turned out to be a conflict with my still connected wired mouse. Something to be aware of.

In use, the mouse works a treat with buttons that click nicely without being hard work to press. I've had fancier ones in the past, with various extra buttons and features - but never really used them.
22 comments| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The USB receiver is found inside the battery compartment (AAA type used, and supplied with the mouse - which saves so much bother); as soon as it's plugged into the computer and the batteries inserted, you're off: turn it on, and press the 'connect' button. Easy.

I'm left-handed, and I like the simplicity of this mouse - the ones with all the extra buttons all tend to be better for right-handers, and end up with me accidentally pressing them all the time. This has a left- and right-click function, and a central scrolling wheel. That's all it needs in my book. It's not too chunky, either - in fact, it looks like it's been designed for smaller hands.

Good stuff - remember to turn it off, though!
33 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
This was free when bought with another product in my case, but I would be happy with it if I'd paid for it. They're not kidding about the nano receiver. Took me a while to find it (and I knew what to look for). It's in the battery compartment :-)

Aside from that, a great little mouse. Responsive and accurate, everything you want a mouse to be. The receiver is very low profile and barely projects from the USB port. An ideal addition to a laptop to avoid all the fiddly touchpad faff.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
Fantastic easy to use and set up. Similar price to Logic mouse in Tesco. Not as premium feel as Logic. Haven't used Logic so can't really compare. This has long range 2 meter approx. Avoid cheap Chinese ones on eBay. They only have a range of 50 cm so you can only use while sitting next to your laptop so defeats the purpose of having a wireless mouse.

Nice smooth velvet feel top and nice scrolling wheel. Very responsive. This has a small/ nano usb plug inside. Stick the usb adaptor in the laptop and switch on the mouse and hey presto. Off you go.

Mouse will automatically install required drivers if you are using vista/ windows 7/ or 8 etc.

Only negative is that the plastic rim around the edge- shiny black plastic feels a bit cheap. Easily gets scuff marks. Hence 4 star but definitely worth buying of you want a good reliable product and not mess about with returning cheap rubbish alternatives from eBay like I've had to.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2013
I threw away one perfectly good example of this mouse thinking I had broken it during set up.

Here are the confusing oddities:

The receiver that plugs into the PC has to be pulled out of the inside of the mouse.

There is an annoying piece of plastic in the battery case which is supposed to make removing them easier but which just gets in the way - you can safely cut it off.

The batteries slide in at a very odd angle - they don't lie flat.

Just as you thought you had bought a dud one, you find a tiny on/off switch on the base of the mouse.

Once you have got past these hurdles you have an AMAZING little machine.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I've always prided myself on being able to do without a mouse but the trackpad on my new Toshiba laptop proved intransigent so I had to bite the bullet and buy one. This has proved a surprisingly good choice and I love the compact size with the nano receiver cunnningly hidden in the mouse itself for easy transport. Hey, I might even take it on holiday. It worked straight out of the box and transfers from PC to Macbook without a hitch. If I have to use a mouse, this one is perfect.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2012
I love the portability of this product and have used it on my laptop and three other PCs. It works well and it's really good value. It's ON/OFF switch saves battery life, unlike my previous wireless mice.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2012
My first wireless mouse after buying my first Laptop after 10 years of PC use. When we downsized ,I found my PCs had to be housed in a cold, converted garage. Withe the laptop I can work from the warmth of the lounge, use the mouse on a book or coffee table. Last evening I enjoyed 2 classical concerts, earphones drowned out 'Strictly'. Great! And great product, so easy to set up too..
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
There are two main types of cordless 'mouses', radio-connected (like this AmazonBasics one) and Bluetooth-connected, and before you buy one maybe the first thing to check is if your computer or device already has Bluetooth onboard. If it does, then consider choosing a Bluetooth-connected wireless mouse instead, they do cost a bit more than the radio-connected versions but they won't need a separate USB dongle hanging out of the side of your laptop and that leaves the USB port free for something else.

For the price the build quality of the AmazonBasics Wireless Mouse is fine with a particularly smooth wheel action (the wheel also works as the third mouse button) and a nice non-slip 'suede-effect' texture on the top. It's a small mouse but with quite a bulbous shape, this makes it comfortable to use but slightly awkward to pack into a slim laptop case or bag. It needs two AAA batteries and your first set are included in the box, hidden in a fold of the cardboard, but they're not rechargeable which is a pity. Note that there's no option to use this mouse with a cable when the batteries die, you'll have to source a new set of batteries to get things moving again. The separate USB dongle is very small and helpfully stows into the battery compartment of the mouse, meaning you're less likely to lose it - but don't forget to unplug it before packing your laptop away in case of damage and remember to switch off the mouse (an ON/OFF switch is on the bottom) to save battery life.

It works without fuss on both Windows 7 and Mac OS X computers - on Windows the drivers get installed automatically as soon as you plug in the USB dongle and you're off. On OSX you're asked if you just connected a keyboard - you confirm it isn't a keyboard and you're done. In use the mouse itself is fine, although it seems to be quite low-resolution (meaning the movement sensor on the bottom isn't all that sensitive) so cursor movements onscreen can be a bit jerky. For general use, like web and emailing, it's a non-issue and if necessary you can tweak the tracking speed in your computer's control panel, but for high-precision tasks like graphics or gaming it might not be the best choice. As ever you get what you pay for and in this case that means a perfectly decent, though unexceptional, cordless mouse - compared to the many others available at this price it doesn't seem to offer anything special but it keeps up the good value standard of the AmazonBasics range.
22 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2012
Works fine - but works best with the Nano Receiver in a USB slot at the FRONT of your PC [if you're using it with a desktop], not the back. It would be absolutely fine with a laptop though. Good value for money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 17 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)