Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilco - Cover all bases
There is a danger when you try to satisfy everyone that you satisfy no one. Jeff Tweedy is keenly aware of this since in recent years Wilco has tended to polarize music fans who love their experimental side as evidenced on their masterpiece "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" but are not overly keen on their gentle country rock side as evidenced by albums like "Sky blue sky". But in...
Published on 26 Sep 2011 by Red on Black

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars almost not quite
Not as good as YHF or Summerteeth but still some finely crafted songs from one of the best live bands I've ever seen
Published 6 months ago by Richard Clark


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilco - Cover all bases, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
There is a danger when you try to satisfy everyone that you satisfy no one. Jeff Tweedy is keenly aware of this since in recent years Wilco has tended to polarize music fans who love their experimental side as evidenced on their masterpiece "Yankee Hotel Foxtrot" but are not overly keen on their gentle country rock side as evidenced by albums like "Sky blue sky". But in the world of Wilco the whole is the sum of the parts and in a remarkable career they have become the premier American band by refusing to be pigeonholed and being driven by a sense of sonic adventure. "The Whole Love" is their eighth full album and comes as a single album or a slightly longer special edition with 4 additional tracks. It essentially covers all Wilco bases with a mix of the experimental and traditional. This is most in evidence on the two best tracks which bookend the main album. First up is the powerful 7 minute plus opener "Art of the almost" made up of a wonderful cacophony of pulsing synths, propulsive beats and Nels Cline doing a great impression of Richie Blackmore. As a polar opposite the album concludes with the gorgeous twelve minute plus alt country acoustic epic "One Sunday Morning (Song For Jane Smiley's Boyfriend)" where not one second is wasted and which may be one of Tweedy's finest compositions ever. In between you get some of the best pop songs since Summerteeth and a fine balance between artsy, melodic and country. The single "I might" for example has a throbbing bass, a sub Doors style keyboard line and enough hooks to catch mackerel. Cline's injects the song with ragged guitar lines as Tweedy who is clearly enjoying himself intones that "It's all right/You won't set the kids on fire/But I might". Following songs like "Sunloathe" the truly lovely "Black moon" and the thing of beauty that is "Open mind" are a trilogy of mellow Tweedy ballads which anchor the album, although it is the later "Rising Red Lung" which impresses most with its haunting ghostly guitar lines in the background.

Along the way the sub Velvet Underground sound of the excellent "Dawned on me" starting with a classic Lou Reed riff and ending with some Nels Cline led feedback. One slip does come in the form of "Capitol city" where Tweedy revisits his Lennon and McCartney enthusiasm on a jaunty sub White Album song that is easier to admire than love. The whimsy however is quickly shattered by the preceding "Standing" with its 60s organs and raw guitar rock as the band cut lose and even introduce handclaps. While the penultimate title track is inevitably overshadowed by the brilliance of the concluding "One Sunday Morning" it is a punchy and jaunty song, which could have happily fitted amongst the hazy pop of Summerteeth. The four extra tracks on the special edition include the ironic blues of "I love my label", the slightly Mexican tinged acoustics of the excellent "Message from Mid Bar" and a slightly different version of the scintillating "Black Moon" where on subsequent listens you detect a clear Elliot Smith influence. It is however the six minute plus instrumental "Speak into the rose" that dominates here as it harks back to "A Ghost is Born" and the pulsing electronica "Spiders (Kidsmoke)" and its slowly building simple, driving rhythm and gradual layers of guitars. Five minutes in the band basically have a great wig out but never lose control. It reminds those who ever described Wilco as "Dad rock" to wash their mouths out and offer profound apologies.

Taken as a total package "The Whole Love" is one of the most enjoyable Wilco albums the band have constructed. Creative freedom might be a factor as its their first album on their own label dBpm Records and yet again recorded in inspired comforts of home at the Chicago loft studio which featured on the Sky Blue Sky videos. Ultimately for long term Wilco fans this album proves that the stability of recent line ups has finally paid off with a set of musicians who could play the spoons for 12 songs and make them sound great. Alternatively were "The Whole Love" to be your introduction to this great Chicago band you would discover an album chock full of so much music that recalls their great history that its almost a "Best Of".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wilco hit the spot...., 6 Oct 2011
By 
Helen (Newmarket, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Wilco have long been one of my favourite bands, and in my opinion The Whole Love is a seriously great addition to their catalogue. Others have already reviewed The Whole Love far more eloquently than I can, but I wanted to add that Tweedy's vocals really stand out for me on this CD. His voice seems to have more dimensions to it than I've known before, but still on occasions makes my heart ache with its quiet soulfulness. Wilco are the complete package - genius song-writing, all skilled musicians (but sensitive and selfless enough to know when to hold back), and one of the best live bands you will ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whole Lotta Love, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. A. W. Riggs "bernard shakey" (Wallington, Surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Less experiemental than some earlier Wilco records Jeff Tweedy settles down to middle age with another career defining record. Wilco are the top American 'a' band of the last 15 years each record has been bold and different. Perhaps not as challenging as YHF but this will sit comfortably with their other records - Wilco can do no wrong - great band and Jeff Tweedy is amongst the best songwriters of the last 20 years.

Review for 2 cd version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars almost not quite, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Not as good as YHF or Summerteeth but still some finely crafted songs from one of the best live bands I've ever seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inventive songs that flow, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
This is a great CD that grows and grows on me. I knew nothing of Wilco until I was transfixed by a chance hearing of Black Moon and decided to follow up on the premise that anyone who could produce that quality of music would be worth a longer listen. It sure was the right decision as its the whole package of mind grabbing sounds, deep lyrics and a voice to remember. I hear a whisper of John Lennon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another year and another great album by Wilco, 26 Dec 2011
By 
Douglas (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Another year and another great album by Wilco. On first listening I found The Whole Love a little flat and uninteresting, making me think that perhaps Jeff Tweedy was trying too many different styles. However, on repeated listenings the album grew on me and I realised that he had succeeded once again. I doubt if there's a better rock band around today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Love, 11 Dec 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
I was a bit dubious about this record to start with, but it is certainly a grower. After you get past the incongrous electronica of the Art of Almost, you are in the familiar Wilco territory of guitar based pop with an avantgarde, punky edge. Interspersed with beautifully constructed acoustic tunes such as Black Moon and standout track One Sunday Morning. Bonus cd cover I Love My Label and title track Whole Love provide the catchy pop sensibility that is missing elsewhere. After watching them give an oustanding performance at the Manchester Academy recently, I can only recommend this record and Wilco to fellow Amazon customers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Love, 1 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Up-to-standard Wilco album. Which means very good. More varied than most but none the worse for that. Best tracks lay in the latter half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
Wilco is finally back to their good old self! This is album is much better than I expected! A friend and I saw them live last month as well, and I love the album even more after hearing the songs live! If you are a Wilco fan, and preferred their earlier albums, I can highly recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Something old, something new, something borrowed, 9 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Love (Audio CD)
A new album from Wilco that more or less does it all. Has enough of the past to know it is still got a great writer in Jeff Tweedy in all these songs, but always willing to take a different route, as heard on the opening track 'Art of Almost'. Third studio album with this line-up, and the rhythm section is now locked in, the lead guitars add shades of sonic textures, and the keyboards support rather than dominate in the pro-tools era of Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Notably that more than half of the album is getting played live on their current European tour, mostly the up tempo songs off here, with the epic closing song 'One Sunday Morning' is a 12 minute acoustic number with Jeff's twisted lyrics a standard too.

Only down side - ordered 2 disc version of this from Amazon, and it never arrived and wasnt explained why... oh well I ordered the single disc and its definitely one of Wilco's better albums.

oh and the borrowed bit... I Might samples TV Eye by the Stooges
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whole Love
The Whole Love by Wilco (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews