Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow this is great!
UPDATE Oct 2013
This is still one of my sons favorite toys.
It has even been in the sea with no adverse effects (best to wash off afterwards as exposed screws will corrode over time if you don't).
This toy attracts a lot of attention when out and other kids get excited when they see it driving into water. My daughter who is 6 soon now wants a green one for...
Published 21 months ago by G-man

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great car..awful aerial
This car should be five stars..it all works wonderfully..on water on grass, carpet, wood floors.

But the aerial...lord, why did they make an aerial out of floppy thin wire and enclose it in floppy brittle clear tubing. tubing snaps, aerial flops around, aerial breaks..daddy electrician sighs and makes robust aerial out of copper wire...

Do not buy...
Published 5 months ago by Sparks


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow this is great!, 7 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
UPDATE Oct 2013
This is still one of my sons favorite toys.
It has even been in the sea with no adverse effects (best to wash off afterwards as exposed screws will corrode over time if you don't).
This toy attracts a lot of attention when out and other kids get excited when they see it driving into water. My daughter who is 6 soon now wants a green one for her birthday.

Original review
5 stars as this is still such a big hit with my 9yr old son.
It really does what it claims.
It has been ragged around our local very muddy beech wood and copes with anything.
Straight through deep puddles with mud flying everywhere. With deeper puddles the car floats and paddles itself across.
My son has also had the car in the bath and it remained water tight (all electronics are sealed in a water proof compartment) and paddled along on its sealed and air filled tyres.
We have not dared put the car in the local canal or Millstream yet though in case of battery drain.
Due to the sudden end to the battery charge I would advise that you only do this were you can either wade in and/or right at the beginning of the charge to avoid a swim.
The car uses 2 motors and is all wheel drive, one motor for the left side and one for the right and so steers rather like a tank Ie the front wheels do not turn using a steering rack. Turns are made by running one motor forward with the other stopped or running in reverse for vvv rapid doughnuts and changes of direction. Check out the Youtube videos on this, the car really does work like this.

There are also one or 2 things to consider before buying:
1) the battery life from the 6v Nicad is currently about 40 mins of continuous use per 4hr charge ( this may extend as I am still conditioning the battery).
2) you really need to follow the conditioning instructions for the battery charge cycle that comes with the car (very comprehensive). If you are not the patient type this may annoy you, although this is the same for all R/C products that use this kind of battery. (Briefly, 'Conditioning' the battery means fully charging the battery/Do not over charge or undercharge at any time/Do not use the battery when still warm to touch./Run fully flat before recharging again and not until the battery has gone cold. You need to do this for around 6 to 8 charge cycles before the battery reaches optimum charge capacity.) If you do not do this you limit the charge capacity and the life of the battery.
3) the charger unit only has a red light to indicate that the battery is charging. It would be great to have a green light when charged but it doesn't so you need to make a note of when you put the battery on to charge to avoid over or undercharging.
4) you may want to consider ordering an extra battery and charger pack direct from Nikko online. This is around £15 from memory.
This will mean that you can get 80 mins of fun before charging two batteries at a time.
5) the speed is not variable/progressive so the car is either stop or go, go ,go and so IMO not very suitable indoors unless you do not mind bashed chair legs, crippled pets etc.

All in all a great intro to outdoor R/C cars for younger ones ( although I have had great fun with it too). Very solidly built, I would almost say pretty much indestructible, short of jumping on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for kids and adults, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
Sturdy car that performs well even in quite long grass. Even a five year old, a seven year old and a large dog haven't managed to damage it so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
My son loves this and it can be used over all sorts of terrain outdoors. It comes with its own rechargeable pack, which is EXCELLENT as it saves on batteries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun Fun Fun !!, 30 Dec 2012
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
Quality RC Car, takes a bit of getting used to controls as not conventional, but easy and fun after a while.
Do not buy the recommended additional batteries as advertised by Amazon, they are not the right ones.
We have been slamming these cars into walls etc and they are still in perfect condition, they are certainly not like the cheap rubbish available in supermarkets!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I thoroughly recommend this product., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
I took this car out with my grandson after Christmas and we tried using it on flat surfaces and also up and down sand dunes. It performed very well (I think that he liked it as well!). Then we tried it on large puddles and, again, it was excellent. Really liked this car and recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars great car..awful aerial, 12 May 2014
By 
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
This car should be five stars..it all works wonderfully..on water on grass, carpet, wood floors.

But the aerial...lord, why did they make an aerial out of floppy thin wire and enclose it in floppy brittle clear tubing. tubing snaps, aerial flops around, aerial breaks..daddy electrician sighs and makes robust aerial out of copper wire...

Do not buy. Spend more money
rather than your time and get a tougher equivalent.

I really wanted this to be a great car. For 50 quid I really hoped it would be...

Ho hum.

Update as of 19/6/14

I returned this product and to amazon's great credit they refunded the item. Top marks amazon, we love you. X x x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best RC car we have ever bought!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
Does exactly what you want. Great versatility and easy to control. My son takes this everywhere and loves going through deep puddles and on rough terrain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nikko Car, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
Ordered this for my grandson for Xmas, it is brilliant, and he loved it. Came well packed. It is a brilliant remote control car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Wife, 29 Dec 2013
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
Bought as a Christmas gift for my husband! He's like a big kid again. Even our 20 month old granddaughter loves it. She can even make it go forward ( unlike me!)

Perfect gift for any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant on every surface, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue) (Toy)
Very impressed, this goes well on grass, pebbles, indoors - fast and fun!
Feels a bit flimsy so not sure how long it will last, but has been loved at Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nikko Radio Control Vaporizr (Blue)
£44.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews