Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars were we go again
same old if you got bit film,good but the usual got bit,full moon,love film,ok to watch and pas an hour or two
Published 5 months ago by davidhattermann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bad hair day
Will Kidman, a teenage boy at an American high school, discovers that there's an elite sect of werewolves rampaging about the corridors, who's goal it appears, is in trying to create an army of werewolf dudes, in time for the graduation evening, so that they might conquer the world... or something! If this wasn't bad enough, Will fancies a girl he thinks he has no chance...
Published 6 months ago by Arch Stanton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars were we go again, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling Reborn [DVD] (DVD)
same old if you got bit film,good but the usual got bit,full moon,love film,ok to watch and pas an hour or two
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars extremely satisfied, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent film and extremely speedy service,glad to know the howling franchise is still going strong,hope more titles will follow!thanks again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Blasphemy to call it The Howling..., 5 Mar 2014
On the eve of his high school graduation, Will Kidman finally looks up to catch the eye of the girl he's lusted over for the last four years, mysterious Eliana.

He's always been shy, but when he discovers a dark secret from his past - that he is heir to a powerful line of werewolves - he finds he has a choice to make between succumbing to his primal nature, or turning against his own, and maintaining his humanity.

In order to fight the destiny of his legacy, and save Eliana - as well as himself - he must battle not only his growing blood lust but an army of fearsome beasts bent on killing him....

An awful attempt to cash in on the name of a horror movie that was tarnished by some of the worse sequels ever made and obviously the Twilight saga.

The main guy looks like Harry Potter without the personality, and he spends the movie being stared at by some angry Backstreet Boys wannabes and some woman who looks like his dead mother, just without glasses.

The story makes no sense, he falls in love with some girl who sleepwalks through the film, and Werewolves, they should be called Where? wolves, because you never really see the things in full.

Please, if you want to see a blatant rip off of the Twilight saga, watch Vampires Suck, it's just as bad, but at least you will get references.

Or watch the Howling instead, and refuse to believe that this exists.

Boring and dreadful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bad hair day, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Howling Reborn [DVD] (DVD)
Will Kidman, a teenage boy at an American high school, discovers that there's an elite sect of werewolves rampaging about the corridors, who's goal it appears, is in trying to create an army of werewolf dudes, in time for the graduation evening, so that they might conquer the world... or something! If this wasn't bad enough, Will fancies a girl he thinks he has no chance of getting, and his dead mum soon turns out to be the head werewolf in charge. Can Will stop his mum and her plans for a furry new world, and then get the girl in time for graduation..?

Fairly cheap high school werewolf action/romance/horror, which is no where near as much fun as I just made it sound in the above paragraph. Which is a shame really, because the actors and maybe more so, the actresses, are certainly likeable enough in their given roles, and the monster effects are rubbery but effective enough to keep you entertained and give you the idea. However the biggest issue I had with this film (other than it claiming in the credits to be based on Brandner's novel 'Return of the Howling' ~ it clearly isn't!) was it's 'oh~so~intellectual' social commenting, angst and complete disregard and misunderstanding of it's own naffness. Maybe I'm missing the point here but instead of just having fun with it's totally ridiculous concept, this tried too hard to have some sort of teenage message. Why not have a bit of fun given the high school scenario and go down the route of movies like Fright Night ('85), Night of the Creeps ('86) or even The Faculty ('98). That is unless of course, this is satirising some of the more modern teeny, romantic horrors like Twilight, which having never seen or read, has resulted in this said satire having gone straight over my head?! I doubt it though, and suspect instead, this is more likely just a lower budgeted imitation. Either way I got the distinct impression this wasn't exactly aimed at me!

The disc is how you would imagine a new film to look, with a making of as an extra.
2.5/5 for what it is, rounded up to nearest full star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, if you forget the original, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A decent enough glossy American highschool werewolf movie. The acting is good, picture excellent and story ok, if nothing spectacular. The werewolves are passable and in truth probably the weakest part of the movie. It never reaches the heights of the cult classic original but as a stand alone movie I've seen much much worse. It plays out like an episode of Buffy. My main critisism is that the ending feels rushed and not as well thought out as the rest of the movie. well worth an impulse buy at this price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good teen horror, 17 April 2013
This review is from: The Howling Reborn [DVD] (DVD)
This is a teen drama that has nothing in common with the rest of the series but in my opinion it's the best since Howling 2 (yes, I really liked that one, a guilty pleasure). There is no extreme horror here, no scares, tension or terror, just a nice bright and breezy high school plot, a werewolf movie for the twilight generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Horror fan, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling Reborn [DVD] (DVD)
I love this old style of movie and so got it to increase my DVD collection.
Not as good as the originals but worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay, 19 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Howling Reborn [DVD] (DVD)
I have made a few mistakes when it comes to buying DVD's, and this is one of them. Don't get me wrong, compared to my latest mistake (The Lodge q.v.) there are a few hairy moments in it (get it?) I think it's major flaw is having it as a teen movie - it is no Twilight. I was pleased with the identity of the Alpha Werewolf and the whole ending sequence, and it had the potential to be a good remake/reboot of a good original movie. The wolf effects weren't the best I've ever seen and I also didn't like the fact that they walked on their hind legs (a problem I had with the original Howling, and also Dog Soldiers which is an okay film.) To me, werewolves should walk like a wolf (as in An American Werewolf in London and The Twilight series.) All in all, it is an okay horror flick with some scary set pieces, but it's nothing special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Twighlight Howl Third Rate Film, 22 May 2012
By 
D. Cowan (The U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Howling Reborn [DVD] (DVD)
Rubbish is almost right, reviewers who said this was worth rating have been frankly doped up or on tablets. Joe Nimziki should go doing advert promos.. It was another kids in school familiar tired scenario....this pathetic tale was teenage angst retold like the twighlight saga, and one scene where the girlfiend had tears looking at the camera was truly awful and lacked conviction, the torn male lead was talk-talk all the way, and his soulful speach of morals near the end was dire. The Werewolf scenes came right at the end and shot in that jerky quick move action that covers up the cracks in the special 'cheap' effects..that cannot face close scrutiny....one reviewer said they were better than DOG SOLDIERS, no way can they be compared to the super werewolf attire supplied for that film..even THE HOWLING original in the 80's had better werewolves than this film and the script had bite! and they camped it up at times, but did it well. This offering was aimed at sloppy teens trying to show us their good side and purpose in life...which failed miserably as yet another cliche of the crap that comes from trying to get all singing, all dancing lean mean kids into movies they shouldn't do...that is why the Vampire films of today are doing so badly..they are fangless, hopeless and boring meaningless entries by directors who can only film soft porn and violence on the streets...no more Howling remakes please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easily the second best of the Howling Films, 13 April 2012
By 
M. Eldridge (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Howling Reborn [DVD] (DVD)
Forget all the other frankly bloody awful sequels in this franchise - this latest offering although by no means perfect is by far and away the best.
If you like werewolf movies especially in the vein of Twilight, Red Riding hood etc and/or the pretty Lindsey Shaw it is worth 7.99 of your money.
As it seems this may be a reboot of the franchise if it sells well we might see more, hopefully even better sequels.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Howling Reborn [DVD]
The Howling Reborn [DVD] by Joe Nimziki (DVD - 2012)
2.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews