Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous traditional mystery!
Commander Joe Sandilands is planning to take his 14-year-old niece, Dorcas, to be reunited with her father in the South of France. However, his superior has asked that he stop in Reims. A former soldier, suffering from shell shock, residing at a local sanatorium, is being claimed as the husband of a wealthy owner of a champagne vineyard. The woman's son claims his...
Published on 18 Nov 2006 by L. J. Roberts

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Sandilands novel.
Have read all the books on Joe Sandilands in India and thoroughly enjoyed them .But this one "Tug of War" I am finding a bit of a chore and want to get it finished!
Published 13 months ago by J.M.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous traditional mystery!, 18 Nov 2006
By 
L. J. Roberts (Oakland, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Commander Joe Sandilands is planning to take his 14-year-old niece, Dorcas, to be reunited with her father in the South of France. However, his superior has asked that he stop in Reims. A former soldier, suffering from shell shock, residing at a local sanatorium, is being claimed as the husband of a wealthy owner of a champagne vineyard. The woman's son claims his mother murdered her husband and sealed his body behind a wall. Another complication comes from four other people who also claim the soldier and the patient's doctor who believes the soldier may be English rather than French. With the soldier's considerable pension and well-being involved, it is important the right identity be made.

I am a huge fan of Cleverly's books. She really knows how to set the stage and give the reader a sense of physical, emotional and political place. Along with Charles Todd and Anne Perry, she writes about the horror of WWI and its impact on those who fought and lived it. She creates strong, smart, interesting characters, particularly Sandilands and Dorcas, but all her characters have dimension with dialogue that has a natural flow. But the core of it all is a good, solid traditional mystery that kept me turning the pages in the non-stop read. I highly recommend this book and the entire series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Sandilands so far, 16 Nov 2006
By 
James North (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
The book has a happy ending - surprising but satisfying. Hang on to that! Because on the way, you'll have to run a course that'll tug at your emotions, something we don't expect in the thriller/detective genre.

Set in Champagne, in the misty aftermath of the Great War, the novel picks a tricky course through the landscape of a regenerating France to establish the identity, not of a corpse, but of a man who is inconveniently (for the French authorities) alive. The amnesiac late-return prisoner of war is claimed by several French families with their own sinister reasons for wanting him, but his doctor suspects that he may in fact be British. Sandilands is sent to sort out the problem. On his way to the truth he unearths an old murder, establishes the identity of the mystery soldier and prevents a future crime.

Involving - it kept me up all night turning pages. Cleverly plays her audience with the skill of an Agatha Christie but with ten times the psychological insight. As usual with her books, it's not the who dun it but the why the hell they done it that's gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual mystery, 29 Nov 2006
The best of the Sandilands so far. Unusual mystery in an unusual setting. I had no idea about the battle of the Chemin des Dames, I didn't know much about Champagne, the region. Ms Cleverly defies the rules of the mystery novel - the detective is assigned the problem of working out the mystery of a man who is still alive, not yet a corpse. The answer to the puzzle is fundamental to the plot but it's not long before Sandilands tracks down a body cleverly hidden. As usual I didn't guess the ending but when I read it I knew there could be no other. You have to hang on right until the last sentence before you know the full story but it's a satisfying end. It's not a question of `eeny-meeny-miney-mo' like in some mysteries. The answer always comes from the character of the people involved and the clues are there all the way through the book, though you don't realise until all the evidence is in. The detective, Joe Sandilands, is always one step ahead of the reader and arrives at his solution with the help of an unusual sidekick. His young niece is as intuitive and resourceful as he is - she's no Doctor Watson, just a sounding board - but adds quite a lot to the action and the interest of the book. Through her fresh eyes we catch a glimpse of a war-torn France, pulling itself back together, licking its wounds and re-asserting its Frenchness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unusual angle of the aftermath of war, 5 July 2008
By 
P. Masters (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As always Barbara Cleverly creates the twenties with an impressive authenticity and understanding. On top of that you have an excellent story. Joe Sandilands is a character you want to keep reading about. I look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not my favourite Sandilands novel., 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tug of War (Joe Sandilands) (Kindle Edition)
Have read all the books on Joe Sandilands in India and thoroughly enjoyed them .But this one "Tug of War" I am finding a bit of a chore and want to get it finished!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent detective series, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tug of War (Joe Sandilands) (Kindle Edition)
Joe Sandilands is an excellent creation by the author and the storyline is yet again well progressed. I await the next instalment of his adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good read from Barbara Cleverley, 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tug of War (Joe Sandilands) (Kindle Edition)
I first read Barbara Cleverley's book The Kashmir Rose which introduced me to this author and I have since read nearly all her books! I stand in awe of her research into detail and background, the characters can be a little wooden but the stories rattle along in a good pace, and with her detective returning in book after book, there is a familiarity which feels like a friendship!
I enjoyed this one as much as any of her others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tug of war, 6 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tug of War (Joe Sandilands) (Kindle Edition)
I have to admit that I like all Barbara Cleverly books, some more than others and this I feel is a god one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tug of War (Joe Sandilands) (Kindle Edition)
Joe Sandilands interacts so well with his young side kick Dorcas who provides humour and wit
which works so well with a typical Victorian Policeman's views
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Tug Of War, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tug of War (Joe Sandilands) (Kindle Edition)
As good as her Joe Sandilands books always are.you can rely on a good read.am ready for my next one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tug of War (Joe Sandilands)
Tug of War (Joe Sandilands) by Barbara Cleverly
4.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews