Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
17
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2004
What if you were transported back in time? Back to 1940s London, during the blitz?
Well that's exactly what happens to unsuspecting George Wetherall when a school trip to Eden Camp (a Second World War museum) slips him sixty two years in to the past!
However the reality of war-time London is nothing like George imagined. It's frightening, harsh and bloody, and not at all glamorous.
Swindells has produced a first class time-travel story, here, which grips from the beginning and doesn't let go until the very last page. It's hugely entertaining, both full of adventure and some quite poignant moments. And like all good books, there's a neat little twist to the tale.
I've always loved Swindells books and would rank Blitzed among one of his best works.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2009
This is an evocative account of life in the Blitz seen through the eyes of a boy transported through time and would appeal to children learning about World War 2.The story is gripping and keeps you wanting more. Just a word of warning before recommending it to younger readers or reading it aloud to a class - there are numerous examples of bad language (nothing too shocking but I certainly felt I needed to edit it a bit before reading it to my Year 5 class).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2011
I bought this book for my Grandaughter who was reading it in school as part of her ciriculum
Seems a fine paperback version she has discovered about life in WW11 through this book.
Well worth it to her.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
A brilliant time travelling tale of a teenager who learns valuable lessons from being transported to the blitz of 1940.
How he comes to terms with life in 1940's London,red in tooth and claw,and becomes part of a family of outsiders
brilliantly led by a 14 year old girl is heartening. The descriptions of bombed out London make you think you were
there-one of his best.
Definitely reccommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 November 2008
World War II and the atrocities of the London bombings seem a lifetime away for most young people. In BLITZED, George is a young man who has the opportunity to truly understand the fear and chaos that war can bring.

While on a school trip to a WWII museum, George is transported back in time to learn more about the world that he is so fascinated with in the year 2002.

At first, George is excited and anxious to learn more about his city's history, but then he begins to see the realities of war. During his trip he meets other young people who touch his heart and teach him to appreciate the gifts that today's world has given him.

Food rations, danger, and fear were commonplace during World War II, and that is brought to light in this "ghosts of time past" tale. The characters are believable and it brings to the surface a wartime London that can be forgotten in the midst of other atrocities of the era.

Overall, it is a great story that truly makes the reader think about the difficult times that WWII brought, not only to Nazi Germany, but also to the world as a whole.

Reviewed by: LaLeesha Haynes
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2011
I purchased this for my son who is 10. His school have started a project on World War 2 and I thought this book would help him to get a feel for how times where then. He couldn't put it down. He read it in 2 days and thoroughly loved it and is reading it for a 2nd time. I only read a little of it but I have to say it read well and the language really made you feel as though you were there. Overall extremely pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
Blitzed is about a boy called George who likes stories about the second world war. His room is filled with world war 11 planes and military vehicles. George really likes the museum about wartime Britain and is happy that his school is going to see it. In fact he will experience more of the real Blitz than he realises.

The book has good descriptions of George's imagination and interests in the Second World War. It is a good book to try and encourage pre-teen boys to take up and read and parents' can also read sections to them.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
This was purchased as follow-on reading for my son in Year 8 who's read Swindells 'Stone Cold'. Quite an easy-read and as usual, we used Amazon to supply reading needs, thank you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2010
have just finished reading this bookto my 10 year old twins tonight and have to say it is a stunner. swindells has written an absolute classic here. ideal for children learning about WW2, or just kids who love a classic yarn. WW2 is very vividly evoked, with some harsh aspects (anti-semitism, spivs, looters, death) covered but never laboured over. the short chapters make it ideal for even the shortest reading time. Why isn't this as well known as 'The Machine Gunners'? Can recommend this without hesitation, will soon start buying copies for my friends kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Bought for my 9 year old daughter after a trip to Edan Camp. She couldn't put it down. Her term topic is World War II, and this has given her a great starting point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99
£3.99
£3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.