Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping sequel
I enjoyed this sequel, a story of 3 men murdered and Edward and Verify's struggle to unravel the mystery. There is of course the on going relationship between the two main characters which never fails to entertain. I purchased the entire series of 10 books at a very reasonable price and look forward to the rest.
Published 14 months ago by Julie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golden Age amateur detectives
This is the second in the series of murder mysteries set in the 1930s with Lord Edward Corinth and Verity Browne as the privileged amateur detectives. These books attempt to recreate the Golden Age atmosphere and the two main protagonists bear more than a passing resemblance to DL Sayers’ Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane. It is an entertaining and competently...
Published 5 months ago by Douglas Kemp


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Golden Age amateur detectives, 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Douglas Kemp (Northamptonshire) - See all my reviews
This is the second in the series of murder mysteries set in the 1930s with Lord Edward Corinth and Verity Browne as the privileged amateur detectives. These books attempt to recreate the Golden Age atmosphere and the two main protagonists bear more than a passing resemblance to DL Sayers’ Lord Peter Wimsey and Harriet Vane. It is an entertaining and competently narrated tale, involving murders in Spain and London. As with most good detective stories, the author allows the reader to think that they have a good idea of what may be going on, only to have a card or two up his sleeve. The essence of the story is the relationship between the aristocratic Corinth, brother to the Duke of Mersham and Verity - a feisty, combative member of the Communist Party, though naturally from the “right” sort of family. Although these key characters are strongly defined, they can appear inconsistent and lacking credibility. Corinth, for example, is at times a highly capable and intelligent man of action that can be found in the John Buchan novels of the period, while at other times he slips in the silly-ass mode, scenes and language which could be taken straight from PG Wodehouse. Verity can be just plain irritating. It is also a little disorienting to read such crime fiction in the style of the Golden Age that has an element of fairly explicit sex. The overall quality of the writing is not as good as the type of books it imitates (though there are some very well written passages) and neither is the plot so well structured. But it is an enjoyable read by a capable writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars OK, ... but Golden Age detection this is not !, 20 Mar. 2008
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I was moved to write this review as a five star review below stated "This is a fantastic book and a must for any fans of Agatha Christie or Dorothy L. Sayers, although in terms of detail and character development David Roberts is a far superior writer to either"

As DLS's Wimsey novels are considered by many well informed people to be both the birth of the litery crime novel and the greatest of all dectective novels I find this comment to be beyond belief. Even Agatha Christie is a better writer than Mr Roberts, and far better at creating plots.

This series suffers from being written with the hindsight of history and being just a little bit boring. Like another reviewer I may read others in the series but only if I find them in stock at the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bones of the Buried, 12 Feb. 2010
Unfortunately, the author falls into the same trap he did, with the mystery, 'Sweet Poison'. The characters of Lord Corinth and Verity are likeable, if slightly, unbelievable. The murder mystery angle is extremely dull, drawn-out and once resolved isn't particularly satisfying. All the country-hopping the characters do isn't terribly thrilling and their detective skills are negligible. The sense of time and place is not un-interesting but the book seems to lack focus and wanders around like the characters, when really it should, like them, get on with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bones of the Buried, 24 Jan. 2003
By 
Mark Rouson (Crawley, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Its 1936 and, since we left him six months ago at the conclusion of the dark actions at Mersham Castle in Sweet Poison, Lord Edward Corinth has spent his time in New York falling out of love. Meanwhile Verity Browne has spent a slightly more interesting time in Madrid discovering the joys of sex, reporting on the lead-up to the Spanish Civil War and getting more involved in the Communist Party. When Verity's revered ex-lover and political mentor is found guilty of murder by the Spanish authorities, Lord Edward leaps upon his white charger (in this case a de Havilland Dragon Rapide from Croydon Aerodrome) to extricate the fellow from jail by discovering who really did the dirty deed. Before you can say "viva Franco" the body count is raising both in Spain and back in Blighty.
The novel like its predecessor is highly historically accurate and there-in lies one of the problems as all the characters are portrayed as extremes of their time and consequently none come across as a likable or even believable.
Lord Edward is an almost carbon copy of Lord Peter Wimsey right down to his unrequited love for a professional female who his family find perplexing. But unlike Wimsey, Corinth is a disappointing detective. He stumbles on various truths because they literally come up to him and slap him in the face. He is helped because the police are so incompetent as to beggar belief (I'm not going to give the game away but the major clue in a police photograph that the boys in blue ignore is just plain stupid).
This isn't Dorothy L Sayers, the heroine's totally redundant and, for a whodunit explicit, sex scene proves that and I don't remember Lord Peter leaping into bed with another 'gal' seconds after saying goodbye to Harriet Vane the way Lord Edward does having taken his leave from Verity. More importantly the story telling is not in the same league. Miss Sayers knew how to tweak interest by giving all the information the reader needed throughout the story in little snippets liberally surrounded by red herrings. Like in Sweet Poison, David Roberts relies on an individual revealing an hitherto totally unrecorded history and event, which brings the story together for an unsatisfactory conclusion.
I won't be buying the next volume in the series in hardback. I might purchase the cheaper paperback to follow the adventures of Corinth and Browne but for the history rather than the detection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping sequel, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Buried (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Brown Murder Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this sequel, a story of 3 men murdered and Edward and Verify's struggle to unravel the mystery. There is of course the on going relationship between the two main characters which never fails to entertain. I purchased the entire series of 10 books at a very reasonable price and look forward to the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost contrived, 4 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. Bryan D. Erde (Bingham, Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Buried (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Brown Murder Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Whilst being enjoyable, I felt that some of the situations were almost too contrived; however, on the positive side, the gradual, almost imperceptible shift in Verity's attitude towards the Communist party of the day was very well done and her realisation that most of us are not all either good or bad but a mixture of feelings and attitude.
Altogether a jolly good yarn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An easy read., 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Buried (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Brown Murder Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
The story has characters who are probable for the era and is set to the time period, with all the political tensions of the decade. I spite of that the story is based on murder and detection. If you are looking for a period murder mystery that's not too heavy reading then this is worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good undemanding read, 9 Sept. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Buried (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Brown Murder Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
I like this series - there is nothing demanding about it - and I do wish the author would get out of the habit of using some very little known words when I know full well that a slightly better author would resist the temptation! This is a minor irritation that will not stop me reading more in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting storyline!, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Buried (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Brown Murder Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Good read though not completed yet. Three quarters of the way through.. Interesting storyline. My one concern is the main character has dropped hints that he knows who the killer is and now needs to tie up the loose ends. However, there has been no sign of how he could have reached this conclusion. Nevertheless, I am enjoying it and would recommend this series. You do though need to read the first book to gain insight into the main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good story, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bones of the Buried (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Brown Murder Mysteries) (Kindle Edition)
Second of this series. Again thoroughly enjoyed it. Good story and I'm really getting to love both lead characters. Can't wait to start the next. Verity can be a bit irritating at first but she does grow on you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews