Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but for all the 'wrong' reasons
Diane Keaton, one of the most eccentric and wonderful stars of our time, has almost totally neglected to give us a gossipy Hollywood autobiography, and instead has produced something far more interesting.

Keaton starred in some of the most iconic movies of the seventies: Annie Hall and the Godfather, for example. And she went out with Woody Allen, Warren Beatty...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by emma who reads a lot

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Not what I expected from an autobiography. This read like a heartfelt apology o her mother, past loves and friends. Little about her career (which would have interested me more.) Still like her though but found it boring.
Published 11 months ago by iloveshoes


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, but for all the 'wrong' reasons, 22 Nov 2011
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Then Again (Hardcover)
Diane Keaton, one of the most eccentric and wonderful stars of our time, has almost totally neglected to give us a gossipy Hollywood autobiography, and instead has produced something far more interesting.

Keaton starred in some of the most iconic movies of the seventies: Annie Hall and the Godfather, for example. And she went out with Woody Allen, Warren Beatty AND Al Pacino too. So you'd be expecting a book that would illuminate those famous characters, perhaps? Yet the most remarkable incident from the whole filming of the Godfather is that Marlon Brando complimented her on her figure (way less politely).

Instead, we find Diane leafing through the diaries of her mother and printing out excerpts, from Diane's Oscar ceremony to reflections on marriage and loneliness. Diane's mom is a person with whom you become transfixed as you read the book. Mom Dorothy Hall wrote endlessly, made collages, wrote down resolutions, analysed her own shortcomings and struggled with the meaning of life as a mid-California housewife in such detail that the book becomes completely compelling. It's like reading the diaries of the Kate Winslet character from Revolutionary Road... She was a wonderfully honest person - so honest it's often painful. Poignant and extraordinary. I began to long for the next bit of Dot's diary, hurrying through the showbiz Diane bits, to the next section of Dot of worrying over children, home and husband.

Diane Keaton is one of the most unique stars there is, and now she has made a sort of star of her mother too; what an unusual but wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something's Gotta Give, 19 Nov 2011
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Then Again (Hardcover)
One of Diane Keaton's favorite films is 'Something's Gotta Give'. A film that costarred Jack Nicholson and was written and directed by Nancy Meyers. It was a film that gave her joy, friendship, money and love. It seems to me that the title is reminiscent of Diane and her journey and her life. Her mother, I think, would understand all too well.

Diane Keaton has written such a marvelous book. It is filled with her memories, and as one of her mother's quotes said 'Memories are simply moments that refuse to be ordinary'. She tells us of her life, growing up with her mom, Dorothy, and her dad, Jack. Her two sisters and brother. She was the oldest. Diane Hall never thought of herself as pretty, something seemed a little bit wrong, but when you look at her pictures as a teenager and young woman, she is breathtaking. That was part of the problem. As a young woman she was asked to lose weight to get a better part in her first Broadway play, 'Hair'. She learned as time went on that she could binge and vomit and maintain a very slim form. It took years of therapy, but she learned to stop-Bulimia- she just did. Mom, Dorothy, loved to make collages, and all of the children followed suit. This book from Diane is her collage, most often it is a love story to her mother, but then again, it is a love story to her children, her friends, her lovers, and to herself. Born as Diane Hall, when Diane became an actress, she learned there was already a Diane Hall, so she became Diane Keaton after her mom's side of the family.

Diane talks about her life as an actress, interwoven between the loves of her life, Woody Allan, Al Pacino and Warren Beatty. She never married because it seems her loves were not interested in marriage at the time when she was with them. As time went on and films come and go, and her dad dies, she decides she needs to take risks. One of those risks is adopting a baby girl at the age of fifty. Diane, of course, falls in love with Dexter and within a few years, Duke comes along. She gives us stories of their babyhoods and growing into teenagers. She loves being a mom, and since the most important person in her life was her mom, she pays homage to Dorothy Keaton Hall. Dorothy left eighty-five journals and months after she died, Diane started reading them, and they have become part of this book. We learn to love Dorothy as Diane did. The book is a collage, bits and pieces of Dorothy's life that lead into Diane's life. Easy going and heart breaking at times. The homage to mom will bring tears, her Alzheimers, her last illness, the death watch and finally her death. We have the full monty of Dorothy Hall's and Diane Keaton's lives. It has wisdom and love and life's joys intermixed with the reality of everyday life.

Diane Keaton writes after her mom's death, "It all boils down to one thing. One day you end up having spent your life with a handful of people. I did. I have a family- two, really, well, three if you think about it. There are my siblings and my children but also an extended family. The people who stayed, the people who open the door when I knock, not because they always want to, but because they do." There that says it all, and as Diane Keaton says, 'Then, Again'.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 11-17-11

California Romantica: Spanish Colonial and Mission-Style Houses

Something's Gotta Give
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Then again, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Again (Paperback)
sadly, this is probably the most boring book I've read in a very long time.I have admired Diane Keaton for years, and thought her book would be great, and funny. It fell short on both scores.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Again (Kindle Edition)
Not what I expected from an autobiography. This read like a heartfelt apology o her mother, past loves and friends. Little about her career (which would have interested me more.) Still like her though but found it boring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing....., 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Again (Kindle Edition)
Rather incoherent. Written in an 'Annie Hall' style which is irritating to say the least. Mostly her mothers ramblings (Do we really want to know that her mother cleaned her teeth with bicarbonate of soda?) rather than about Keaton's life. No spicy insights into ex partners such as Woody Allen, Pacino and Warren Beaty which probably makes her a loyal and lasting friend to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great insight, 18 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Again (Hardcover)
really interesting read,full of insight into dianne keatons mother,who was a real character,great photos,she is very beautiful even at the age she is now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny,smart,unique...just like Diane herself!, 22 Jan 2012
This review is from: Then Again (Hardcover)
In an age of celebrity 'tell all' biographies i found this book to be a breath of fresh air! A book that manages to be funny & sad,not to mention beautifully written,Diane comes across as down to earth & writes with heartbreaking honesty.By the end of this book i had a tear in my eye! A book that im sure her mother would be proud of.10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 5 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Again (Kindle Edition)
I don't normally go for celebrity autobiography but this is an exception.
I admire Diane Keaton and she doesn't disappoint.
At the heart of it is her relationship with her mother which she uses
as the springboard to talk about all of her life.
I love how she used her mother's diaries juxtaposed with her own life.
She strikes me as an authentic person and this book proves that.
You can tell there was no ghost writer - it is her own voice.
She doesn't resort to the lowest common denominator.
It was entertaining but also dealt with universal truths we all must
face at some time and in our own way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What really matters!, 6 July 2012
By 
Alison Petrie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Then Again (Hardcover)
Diane Keaton has caught up with me as an actress. At first, I wasn't quite sure but, over the years, she always delivers a sensitive performance that captures both laughter and tears, "The Family Stone" being a good example.

In "Then Again" she interperses her life with constant reference to her mother and the diaries that her mother kept. Given that Diane Keaton has been working in Hollywood since the early 70s, this could have been a typical "star read" but instead it reflects on what matters in life - love, family and caring. Yes, she had the Hollywood romances with people such as Warren Beatty and Al Pacino, but she is respectful of the relationships and it is obvious from reading the book, that she values every relationship she has ever had, not something all of us can say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars intimate account, 11 May 2012
This review is from: Then Again (Hardcover)
I would not recommend this book if you have ever been accused of being insensitive - or have a fear of intimacy. This book is an intimate experience with Diane Keaton. What's missing in this experience is sharing her story over a glass of wine, so that you can nod your head in agreement, and reach across the table to squeeze her hand in support. Her story is unguarded, her words flow directly from her heart, leaving her bare and vulnerable to all - this is a brave and exceptional act. She writes as if she is speaking to you. They do not pass the internal or external critics. These critics might have advised to hold back. I'm glad she didn't listen to them. Diane analyses her life in parallel with her mothers, a process that many of us do to understand ourselves. Her mother's unlived life parallels with Diane's rich and wide world. If you step back, this book is an example of how generational and societal changes made women's life experiences vastly different. Diane acknowledges these differences while graciously loving her loving mother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Then Again
Then Again by Diane Keaton
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews