Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars An irritating couple
But I do love them. Fascinating characters, a deep sense of place and of time,combined with an insight into the historical machinations leading up to the second World war,make this a literary novel. I don't even care 'who done it'. I do care about the characters and the challenges they face.
Published 10 months ago by Ms. Siusaidh Nicneill

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A little long winded
I have purchased the entire series and up until now have really enjoyed every book. This book I found to be disappointing and I feel the story although good was really long winded and quite monotonous in places. I will read the rest of the series as the others were fantastic. If you want read the series buy it, if you want to read one or two then I recommend reading one...
Published 9 months ago by Julie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars A little long winded, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
I have purchased the entire series and up until now have really enjoyed every book. This book I found to be disappointing and I feel the story although good was really long winded and quite monotonous in places. I will read the rest of the series as the others were fantastic. If you want read the series buy it, if you want to read one or two then I recommend reading one of the earlier books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An irritating couple, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Ms. Siusaidh Nicneill "cruard32" (Inner Hebrides) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
But I do love them. Fascinating characters, a deep sense of place and of time,combined with an insight into the historical machinations leading up to the second World war,make this a literary novel. I don't even care 'who done it'. I do care about the characters and the challenges they face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evocative and informative, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
Really reflects the atmosphere in the build up to the 2nd World War as the backdrop to this detective story, with good coverage of some important events explained, which, for those who know less about the time, would be useful. Further development of the relationship between Verity and Edward
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Same old, same old!, 14 Oct 2013
By 
G. Lilley "beebear" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
A predictable storyline. It was a task to finish it as it was quite boring. Do I buy another in the series? I'll think about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice quiet crime, 13 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
These are the acceptable face of crime fiction but are often just want you want between some more violent ones and are enjoyable.
I also rather like the dated aspect which does away with the worry about just how possible the story lines are.
But do not ignore them they are worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
Adequate plot, well written, well edited, like all the David Roberts stories. As usual the story is pretty well padded out to achieve an acceptable length, but that is true of most crime stories, and here it is very competently done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new discovery for me, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant angle on the detective story, with storylines that are educating and entertaining me no end. I've read seven in a row!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good summer read, 10 Aug 2013
By 
Shirley Wittering "Greensleeves" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
A fast moving adventure story, well researched. The decades after the first world war are captured well. The inclusion of real people brings a reality to the story. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Edward & Verity Up Against Nazi Idealism, 8 May 2012
By 
It's 1937 and the clouds of war darken every doorstep, including that of Lord Edward Corinth and his long-time independent Communist journalist girlfriend, Verity Browne. When a man is murdered yards from them in the church where a former friend and government official is being buried, Edward and Verity are drawn into the lives of the Pitt-Messangers, leading to Verity accepting an invitation to the country house of her school friend Virginia, where Maud Pitt-Messanger is staying. Ginny Castlewood, whose rich husband Sir Simon lavishes his wealth on his country seat and various charities, expeditions and institutes, unwittingly leads Verity and then Edward into the realm of Simon's dangerous friends, who advocate a Nazi idealism of eugenics and race purification, including experiments with the disabled and creating an ancient Aryan ideal breed. At the same time, Maud Pitt-Messanger, who has struck up a close friendship with fellow Communist Graham Harvey, a writer living on Sir Simon's estate, first tries to take her life, in what all believe to be a cry for help, then is murdered at the local cricket match. The police, first called in due to the theft of one of Sir Simon's rare archeological knives (his link with the Pitt-Messanger family), are now faced with solving another murder.
Luckily, Edward and Verity are on hand to help. Though with Verity's interest in first Graham and then the aristocratic German Adam von Trott, things are not exactly going smoothly in their own relationship. Can they put their romantic differences aside to solve the case?

'A Grave Man' is another intriguing edition in the Edward and Verity pre-World War Two series, with an engaging if slightly confusing look at the issue of eugenics and the 'master race' of Nazi idealism mixed up with a rather stop-start murder investigation. Very readable, despite this, and as always, a satisfying ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another Dorothy Sayers, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Grave Man (Lord Edward Corinth & Verity Browne) (Kindle Edition)
David Roberts writes very much in the style of Dorothy Sayers when she depicted her Lord Peter Wimsey. He and Harriet are mirrored by Lord Corinth and his side-kick. However the time is before the Second World war and includes a great deal of the history of the causes in accurate detail, including the Spanish Civil War. The mysteries are plausible and gripping. The series needs to be read in the order of writing to gain the best effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews