Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good morning vietnam ,a good nights listening
This has to be the best of the cd's of the Good Morning Vietnam collections and although it only has 20 tracks they are probably the most memorable of that era of the 60's and evoke some of the pictures shown during the war itself. The cd starts off with the classic Steppenwolf Born To Be Wild and is soon followed by Spirit In The Sky by Norman Greenbaum and Jefferson...
Published on 30 July 2003 by Mr. Steven P. Henson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment
Was looking forward to this CD but it turned out to be a bit disappointing.

Either it was the (maybe) poor quality sound of the CD or my memory of the original music was rose tinted. But did not enjoy this CD.
Published 4 months ago by steve brinkler


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good morning vietnam ,a good nights listening, 30 July 2003
By 
Mr. Steven P. Henson "ferretman" (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This has to be the best of the cd's of the Good Morning Vietnam collections and although it only has 20 tracks they are probably the most memorable of that era of the 60's and evoke some of the pictures shown during the war itself. The cd starts off with the classic Steppenwolf Born To Be Wild and is soon followed by Spirit In The Sky by Norman Greenbaum and Jefferson Airplanes White Rabbit, a not very well veiled song about drugs and Alice In Wonderland[but a classic nontheless].These are followed by equally great songs by The Zombies[time of the season]Small Faces[tin soldier] Canned Heat[on the road again]and Summer In The City by The Loving Spoonful and we arent even halfway through this cd. Amongst those in the middle third of the cd we get Barry Maguires Eve Of Destruction, Julie Driscoll and Brian Augers Wheels Of Fire and The Flowerpot Men's Lets Go To San Francisco . the final part of the cd lacks some of the cracking songs that the cd began with but ends with the YardbirdsOver Under Sideways D.own,Nilsson's Everybody's Talking and finally Keith West Excerpts From A Teenage Opera.A great cd in my opinion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant music, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Good Morning Vietnam (Audio CD)
this album really took me back to my youth all the tracks still sound as good today as they did then i would recommend this cd to anybody who wants to listen to some excellent mus
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive GMV, 12 Nov 2010
This is, by a very wide margin, the best compilation CD I've ever bought. With the exception of two mysteriously included songs by unknowns The Creation and The Seeds (a family connection with the producer, perhaps?), every track is an immortal classic or near-forgotten gem (oh, all right - also with the exception of "Excerpt from a teenage opera"). By sticking for the most part to songs that came out in the years 1966-1969, this succeeds in being a much more focussed collection than, say, the 5 CD set of the same name, which veers in the direction of just another swingin' sounds of the 60s, yawn.

Incidentally, my (old) copy does have James Brown's "I got you" instead of Steppenwolf's "Born to be wild", so it looks like the contents are gradually changing for the better. Maybe, if you're really lucky, on your version the uninspired efforts of Messrs Creation and Seeds will have morphed into "Light my fire" and "Bad moon rising". That would be to approach the Platonic ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Great item fast delivery :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A soundtrack to my life., 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm old enough to remember the end of the Vietnam war, whilst my hubby is old enough to remember both the start and end. This music is so evocative of the era. On repeat in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a disappointment, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was looking forward to this CD but it turned out to be a bit disappointing.

Either it was the (maybe) poor quality sound of the CD or my memory of the original music was rose tinted. But did not enjoy this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bad war., 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a horrible war. Yet all we seem to remember are the great songs of that era. They have been used in some of the greatest modern war films. To make us cry and laugh, and remind us of the horrors of war. This is a great cd ' at a good price. So tune in and drop out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memory lane music!, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not heard it yet as it is a gift . fast service though. I am sure it will be fantastic as the songs are all very well know to us!....Memory lane music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great 60's compilation, 26 Sep 2013
By 
R. Hughes "Grumpy Old Git" (Deepest Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
There seems to be some confusion over the track listing of this compilation. Clearly, at some point the record company decided to change some of the tracks. This review is for what I think is the original version, the first track being I Got You by James Brown.

I'm not sure that any of the tracks were used in the film but this is a great psychedelic period 60's compilation. There are no fillers on the CD, with an informative booklet with full track listings and highest chart position. Of particular note is the final track, Lets go To San Francisco by The Flowerpot Men. It initially came out as a two sided single with the second side rarely played. On compilations it is only the first part that ever gets included, so it is nice to see that they have included the full version, weighing in at over 6 minutes. Excerpt From a Teenage Opera, while not popular elsewhere in these reviews, is another great track of the period. A definite five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My generation, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the sounds of the sixties and this is another of those that I really enjoy. Crank up the volume and wind the windows down in your car so everyone can hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Good Morning Vietnam
Good Morning Vietnam by Various artists
Buy MP3 Album£4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews