Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT COMPILATION
This is an excellent compilation which covers Alex Harvey's career from its beginnings upto and including the SAHB era. It has (almost) all the hits (Bar Room Blues is missing) but all the others are present are collect. Some songs are duplicated but the live vesrions are so memorable (especially if you've ever seen the Old Grey Whistle Test performances) the duplication...
Published on 19 Nov 2011 by aging muso

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere for the Best of Alex
Not sure if asked that any fan of Alex would agree on half of the choices here as being "Best Of" For me I think you're better off with the twofers on sale at Amazon. A little more expensive but I bet you'll play them morte often than two thirds of this. A bit of a cash in methinks.
Published 15 months ago by JESB


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT COMPILATION, 19 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an excellent compilation which covers Alex Harvey's career from its beginnings upto and including the SAHB era. It has (almost) all the hits (Bar Room Blues is missing) but all the others are present are collect. Some songs are duplicated but the live vesrions are so memorable (especially if you've ever seen the Old Grey Whistle Test performances) the duplication is forgivable. It also includes a good selection of SAHB album tracks. Its made me want to dig out my old vinyl copies of my original SAHB albums and buy a turntable. Great memories of a sensational performer. A recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 35 tracks including rarities!, 28 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As I didn't own anything by The Sensational Alex Harvey Band, this new 2CD on Spectrum struck me as the perfect introduction - especially at such a low price. The 35 track set covers his entire career and includes a number of rarities along with detailed sleeve notes, a couple of archive photographs, and images of original vinyl discs and picture sleeves.

CD1 is made up solely of recordings by The Sensational Alex Harvey Band, including the UK Top 20 hits `Delilah' (recorded live at Hammersmith Odeon), `Boston Tea Party'. The remaining tracks are a mixture of covers (Framed, Giddy Up A Ding Dong, Next, School's Out, Crazy Horses, King Kong) and original material - all dating from 1972-77.

CD2 features further band recordings from this period, again including a number of covers such as `I Just Want To Make Love To You', `Tomorrow Belongs To Me' and `Cheek To Cheek'. The BBC archives are exploited with the inclusion of Old Grey Whistle Test performances from 1973 of `The Faith Healer', `Next', `Delilah' and `Give My Compliments To The Chef'. An added bonus is the Top Of The Pops recording of `Boston Tea Party'.

The second disc also includes tracks from earlier in Alex's career. A version of The Isley Brothers' `Shout' is credited to Alex Harvey And His Soul Band and is followed by an early recording of `Framed'. `Agent Oo Soul' (which features Steve Winwood on piano) and `Roman Wall Blues' are credited simply to Alex Harvey, dating from 1965 and 1969 respectively, while `Hair' and a cover of The Beatles' `Birthday' are from "`Hair' Rave Up" and credited to Alex Harvey & The Hair Musical Pit Band. The set closes with the marvellously titled `There's No Lights On The Christmas Tree Mother, They're Burning Big Louie Tonight'.

Overall this is a cracking 2CD set - perfect for anyone like me who has only recently heard Alex, but with enough rarities for committed fans too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Look elsewhere for the Best of Alex, 8 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not sure if asked that any fan of Alex would agree on half of the choices here as being "Best Of" For me I think you're better off with the twofers on sale at Amazon. A little more expensive but I bet you'll play them morte often than two thirds of this. A bit of a cash in methinks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S.A.H.B, 28 Aug 2011
One of the better compilations around,especially as it contains "Delilah" from the BBC Archives plus a few early solo recordings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So good, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first hear of Alex Harvey when his death was announced on the BBC news so I never got to see him live, which is a shame. Recently I heard a snippet of Faith Healer on Radio 4 and immediately searched for a CD on Amazon with Autorip (sadly the turntable is in need of some TLC).

Within minutes I was listening to the album and it is so good. Some tracks I had never heard before, were a joy. The standards Faith Healer, Boston Tea Party, Framed etc are represented here. I loved his version of Shout.

There's a wide selection of tracks here, which shows Alex's range in his repertoire. I don't know if I'd quite describe it as the "best of" in the traditional sense of such compilations but it is certainly gives the "best flavour" of a very talented individual.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Scotland's greatest exports., 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sadly undervalued in his lifetime and now apparently consigned to oblivion. This band and it's leader show that rock 'n roll is fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second time around., 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the second CD that I have ordered, gave my first one away to a friend that was leaving work. Worth re-ordering for the content. A must for all SAHB fans and lovers of 70's/80's rock/metal. Came the day after ordering. Fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Rockers never die, 20 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super memories of a time of great performers. This is a great collection of SAHB songs. The satirical humour and innovative music themes are timeless. This is one of the bands whose superb live performances come out well on recordings. Old stuff but still different and refreshing. Pity the "Stone Eater" was not included. God love Alex RIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alex Harvey, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great double CD with even live versions of their songs from Whistle Test and TOTP.

I only wish I had been old enough to see this great band, back in the 70s!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews