Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great documentary... not just for fans.
Being a huge fan of the Kings of Leon, I was pretty sure I would enjoy this film when I saw it at the cinema back in June, and I was right. This is a great insight into the bands' origin that fans will love. What surprised me was how much of a good documentary this is in general. It gives a very open and "warts 'n' all" look at not just the band but of a part of...
Published on 8 Aug 2011 by Scottie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars KOL
I bought this to be a bit nosey into the lives of KOL... It is good and all the religion they went through is a bit mad. If you are a fan, you will like it but it also might bore you!
Published 13 months ago by Olivia


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great documentary... not just for fans., 8 Aug 2011
By 
Scottie (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talihina Sky : The Story Of the Kings Of Leon [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Being a huge fan of the Kings of Leon, I was pretty sure I would enjoy this film when I saw it at the cinema back in June, and I was right. This is a great insight into the bands' origin that fans will love. What surprised me was how much of a good documentary this is in general. It gives a very open and "warts 'n' all" look at not just the band but of a part of American lifestyle, culture and religion that exists mainly in the southern states.

There is an element of gentle rebellion on the part of the band members who are very family orientated but driven to follow an alternative path to that which is offered to them, or in some cases expected of them. In places this film almost becomes a modern embodiment of J.D. Salinger's The Catcher in the Rye, with lead singer Caleb Followill projecting a familiarity to the character Holden Caulfield.

Sex, drugs, rock 'n' roll, whisky, beer and women. The work of the devil or just living free and experiencing all that life has to offer? It's impossible to conclude as their story is far from over. Fan or not, this is an important landmark in the story of what will be recognised as our generations Zeppelin or Stones and an enthralling look at a portion of American society that doesn't show up on the glossy U.S. television shows we watch.

Talihina Sky does what any documentary should; it makes you think. There are smiles and laughs to be had too and the occasional cringe worthy moment (much respect to Caleb & Nathan for allowing 'that scene' to be used). Unless you particularly dislike this group (and if so, why are you reading this?), I can't see how you wouldn't enjoy this movie.

Other links...

Check out their live performance at the O2 Arena on DVD & Blu-Ray
Kings of Leon - Live at the O2 Arena [DVD] [2009]
Kings Of Leon - Live At The O2 - London, England [Blu-ray] [2009]

...and please don't be one of those fans who doesn't have the first three albums...
Youth And Young Manhood
Aha Shake Heartbreak
Because Of The Times

Should you want to look up my pretentious reference to Catcher in the Rye...
The Catcher in the Rye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional roller coaster, 13 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've long been a KOL fan, both of their old material and the new, and I knew some of their background. What I wasn't prepared for, was finding out so much about the character of each band member, and that Caleb (one of the best voices for years!) would make an excellent subject for a psychologist's study. All of them, and their music, are the product of their background and upbringing, but Caleb particularly. He comes over at times as a very confused man; at times so gentle and sensitive, and at other times, SO angry! The fact that the lads still have the support of their huge extended family and, for three of them, their wives, must help keep them grounded. Such an eye-opener, which had me sniggering one moment, and almost crying the next. Not a lot of music, but that wasn't the point of this documentary. It shows what has made them what they are and, possibly, what they'll become. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool documentary, 9 Nov 2011
Talihina Sky is a pretty cool documentary, less of a live concert and more of the lives of the Followill's and their journey from their small country home to the rock star life they live now - all permeated by their brilliant music.
It's a different side of the band which i've never really seen and it's a fascinating look into their super religious background and how their music developed.

Whether your a KOL superfan or a casual admirer of their music, Talihina Sky is definitely a movie I'd recommend. It had me ensnared from the start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best rock film since Some Kind Of Monster!, 3 Nov 2011
I'm not a huge fan of Kings of Leon by any stretch, but I rented this from Lovefilm after a friend was endlessly singing its praises in an attempt to shut him up. I have to say WHAT A SURPRISE! For a band now as ubiquitous as days that end in 'y' and whom now play enormodomes the world over, it was a shock - and a pleasant one - to see them filmed in such a candid and emotional manner. I was expecting a hagiographic ego-massage for overpaid, oversexed and overplayed rockers; what I got instead was an amazing confessional piece akin to Metallica's infamous Some Kind Of Monster. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 3 Nov 2011
this is the best dvd iv watched in a long time realy well made. highly recomend this to kings of leon fans and non fans it doesnt matter if you dont like there music you will still enjoy the grit in this documentaire. only thing it did leave me wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INCREDIBLE! Not just for Kings of Leon fans, 2 Nov 2011
This is an incredible documentary. I saw it in the cinema and have ordered the DVD. Although I'm not a massive Kings of Leon fan I really enjoyed the film - an outstanding movie in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating look at the 'real' band, 20 Oct 2011
By 
M. Hewitt "Mike H" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Rather than go the normal 'concert footage' route, Talihina Sky is a fascinating look at the Kings of Leon in their home environment, how they came to be in a band together and then charting their rise with the odd segment of their best songs in a concert environment. This makes this documentary far more interesting than the majority of any music docs out there and interesting to everyone, even with only a passing interest in the band. If you are a fan though, then it is pretty much essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sincere insight into one of the biggest bands in the world, 15 Sep 2011
I also saw this when it was released in cinemas in June. Much like the previous reviewer, rather than a novelty for fans of the band, Talihina Sky is a fascinating stand-alone documentary. The film delves deep into the background of Kings of Leon and delivers fascinating insights into the relationships between the members of the band and their family. The film is told through the words of the people involved with the band and the band themselves, yet manages to avoid the pitfalls of the average fairytale documentary. There is a perfect balance between interview footage and footage of the band in action, both on stage and in the studio, which will keep even the most hardcore fans of the band happy. Aside from the musical endeavours of the band, Talihina Sky also unflinchingly explores themes of religion, drugs and alcohol without fear of blighting the band's image. An approach that is both refreshing and admirable. Whether a fan of Kings of Leon or not, this original and thought-provoking documentary is a must-see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, 10 Jan 2014
I bought this item last year for my partner and my father in law loved it so much he wanted his own so this year we got him his own! And it turned up a week before Christmas! Brilliant! X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the fans!!, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very intimate, well directed, very honest and a great documentary for the fans of the band. Really loved it. Almost forgot, good price too!!! Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xbdf4e5f4)

This product

Talihina Sky : The Story Of the Kings Of Leon [Blu-ray]
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews