Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth It, 14 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
I hestitated on buying this as I already have the London recordings. Silly me. The alternative takes and the unused song for 'I Could Go On Singing' are worth the price alone. The unused song 'Please Say Ah' is wonderful. You can hear Judy's infectious laugh and joy coming through. If you are hesitating - don't. Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great release, glad proved wrong, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Michael Daniels (SWANSEA, South Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
When I first saw this, thought Oh No not these AGAIN, the London sessions have been released SO many times on CD. First on "The One & Only" boxed set, then as a separate CD containing only "The London Sessions" and more recently, I think pretty much completely on the budget "Very Best".
However I was drawn by the reviews on here and must agree with them. A fabulous packaging job, plus the best sound I've heard these recordings in. Also, a logical step to include the other "London sessions" alongside. Probably just for the fans, but if you are - get it, I certainly wasn't disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Album of the year., 3 Nov 2011
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
What a brilliantly crafted album in content and presentation! Beautifully presented and a superb collection of songs.Must admit owning a previous CD with some of the London session on,but doesn't compare in anyway to this superb double disc collection.
"Lucky Day" must be one of the greatest recordings ever by an orchestra and a singer at the top of their game,listen out particularly for the musician on the hand drums.
Can't recommend this enough,whether you are a Garland fan or not,these kind of performances rarely happen today,just sit back and enjoy the brilliant orchestrations and vocals by artists in their prime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Studio Recordings!, 23 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. G. E. Trinder "soundstage7" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
The recent London Studio Recordings by First Hand Records is top class in every aspect. The book like presentation with a CD in a sleeve behind each cover with extensive and very well researched notes contained between is very welcome. Although many of the tracks on the first CD have been previously released in an early 90's Capitol CD, there is no comparison with the audio quality on this release which uses the latest 24 bit mastering for superb definition (all but one track in stereo) and a very rich and well balanced sound stage; every nuance is captured to perfection and at times Judy and the band could be in the same room as the listener! The second CD contains many takes not previously released and provides a facinating comparison of the differences between takes originally selected and rejected for LP release. This set is reported to have taken 12 years to come to fruition; it has been well worth the wait. Well done to First Hand and the production team.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Great, 4 Jan 2012
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
This is such a lovely CD 2-set. I am so glad to hear the high quality production of this wonderful, wonderful lady
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Judy Garland The London Studio Recordings, 3 Jan 2012
By 
J. M. Cumberlidge "Rover P4" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
I bought this set on reading some of your previous reviews and so glad I did. I can only repeat the rave reviews Judy at her best and the 2nd Cd leaves you wanting more as she records a new track. Sound quality is amazing as is the packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HAPPY 90th !!!, 27 April 2012
By 
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
This album is wonderful.
Judy is in great voice and the album tracks are spot on. Some of the out-takes are arguably better than the released versions but they are all terrific. Come the 10th of June 2012, Judy would have been 90 and this cd is a fitting tribute to this irreplaceable entertainer. A treasure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUDY AT HER BEST, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
WHEN ONE HEARS JUDY SING IN THE LAND OF PROMISES .ITS YOURSELF.HELLO BLUEBIRD ,BY MYSELF THIS IS JUDY IN TOP VOCAL FORM NOT MANY SINGERS SING WITH THE EMOTIONAL INTENSITY .JUDY BELONGS TO THE VOCAL ELITE WITH THESE RECORDINGS .HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AND SUPERBLY MASTERED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great present, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 (Audio CD)
I bought this as a present as I found it on their wish list. I have been told they are really pleased with it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964
The London Studio Recordings 1957-1964 by Judy Garland (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews