Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dragon films around.
A fire-breathing dragon is quite possibly one of the coolest creatures to have stared in film, but despite the beast's awesomeness there are only a handful of Dragon movies that are any good. Thankfully DAWN OF THE DRAGON SLAYER comes to the rescue and really delivers the goods!

The films tells the story of Will, a guy setting out to avenge a fire-breathing,...
Published on 30 Jan. 2012 by K. Daniels

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of The Dragon Slayer
This is very typical example of British film making, and probably the reason why we are so behind the US. The film making itself is very good. Beautiful shots of rugged countryside, castles in the mists etcetera. Excellent characterization and very well acted by all. However where it falls down is in the script. The dialogue is excellent but the writer (and the...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Mark Normandy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dawn of The Dragon Slayer, 19 April 2012
By 
Mark Normandy (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is very typical example of British film making, and probably the reason why we are so behind the US. The film making itself is very good. Beautiful shots of rugged countryside, castles in the mists etcetera. Excellent characterization and very well acted by all. However where it falls down is in the script. The dialogue is excellent but the writer (and the Producers/director by association) has disobeyed the primary law of script writing. 'Show don't tell' We are told far too much and see little of anything this reduces the action to a minimum (hence low appearance of said beasty) and slows the entire thing down making it turgid and stodgy. Of course this is just an opinion and it may be argued otherwise. Granted, it may suffer from low budget syndrome i.e. we shoot it all in a toilet, or in this case a moor of sorts so we can keep costs to a minimum but that doesn't seem to be the truth of it. It could be poor editing, it could even be the director demanding too much of the wrong clip to be left in the final cut. Whatever, the problem remains. Hmm, why couldn't it have been a female Dragon Slayer - or would that be too novel? A good purchase for those who possess some free time and have a forgiving nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dragon films around., 30 Jan. 2012
By 
K. Daniels "Kyle" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
A fire-breathing dragon is quite possibly one of the coolest creatures to have stared in film, but despite the beast's awesomeness there are only a handful of Dragon movies that are any good. Thankfully DAWN OF THE DRAGON SLAYER comes to the rescue and really delivers the goods!

The films tells the story of Will, a guy setting out to avenge a fire-breathing, flying dragon after killing his father. There's a love story in here too and plenty of human drama to really flesh the film out and give it a lot more substance. This allows the film's plot to be much more heavier and a lot more interesting.

DAWN OF THE DRAGON SLAYER features a rather new and unknown cast and crew, but don't be fooled into thinking that's a bad thing. Far from it! The performances in this film are all top-notch and brilliantly acted. Perhaps the star of the film is Ian Cullen (from Z CARS, F and DOCTOR WHO), but I thought that Richard McWilliams did a fantastic job as the lead alongside Nicola Posener despite it being his first film role. I can see him going far and making a big name for himself if this is anything to go by!

The special effects in a film can often make or break a film of this nature, and is the line in which awesomeness and utter crap come together. However, the CGI in DAWN OF THE DRAGONSLAYER is excellent! The dragon's design is brilliantly terrifying and all in all it looks very convincing indeed - definetly a good thing!

Overall, this film is easily one of the best Dragon films out there. If you're a fan of such films as THE LORD OF THE RINGS, REIGN OF FIRE or the TV show MERLIN, or just think Dragon's are pretty damn cool, then you will absolutly love this film. I did!

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars for the price is an ok yarn, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
as said for the price and if your into the dragon sword and sorcery stuff its worth a punt,the acting is acceptable and the affects are reasonable.its ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars kids might like it better., 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is ok but its more fun for kids than adults or for an entire family viewing.i will admit that the storyline is quite good tho,but the effects are prett cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars ... dvd or any other tv or pc just a waste of money, 2 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
not possible to play on uk dvd or any other tv or pc just a waste of money ect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars edgar38david, 17 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
great film from off dragons magic and plenty of sword play knights and pesants play a part in a story that as a love story at centre of it and keeps you firmly seated untill end of film good story through out as plots unravell well worth watching delivered very quickly and as stated new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fair, well acted,, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
Fair ,well acted,fair storyline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
Very slow expected more action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
great action,played many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor movie, 22 Feb. 2012
By 
Wim Nelis "Wim" (Geel, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not a huge fan of giving negative reviews because usually people don't like negative comments; but here goes nothing...

This movie is worth its money because every minute you watch will seem like an hour.
For the record, this was sarcasm. The movie is bad, pretty bad.

They have managed to create a movie in which only 13 people play (really I counted)and it shows. Acting is below par and the action scenes are boring, except for the final 'clash' between our protagonist and the dragon, the only time the dragon shows itself is to strafe a hapless peasant with its fiery breath in one sweeping move. So we're left with a very classical (some call it cliche) story of a boy suddenly rising to knighthood to slay a dragon and walk away with the beauty of the movie. You might think that this part is worth watching but it's not, it only serves to extend the movie for another hour so they can call it movie instead for short-movie. I've seen my share of poor movies where I had my hand on the fast forward button, this is one of them.

Sorry but not recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD]
Dawn of The Dragon Slayer [DVD] by Anne K. Black (DVD - 2012)
£3.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews