Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to modern blues...
This is an excellent blues sampler, which features not only blues legends like Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Albert and Freddy King but also the white acts that they influenced such as (the original) Fleetwood Mac, Chicken Shack, Rory Gallagher, Paul Butterfield, ZZ Top and Stevie Ray Vaughn. As well as these major artists there are also some slightly less well-known but...
Published on 12 Sep 2011 by G. E. Harrison

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent variety.
Having always regarded Whistle test as live a bit disappointed with recorded content.
Good choice of tracks though. Would have still purchased had I known.
Published 10 months ago by Peter Smith


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good album!, 16 Sep 2013
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
I featured this at first opp on my show...good compilation of more modern blues to augment old Delta, blues shouters, etc. You need this to round out a blues collection, or possibly to just have a good representation of blues present in small numbers for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OGWT Blues, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Lord - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Enjoyed this on a long car journey.They don't make them like this any more. Great back then, great today. Good quality reproduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OGWT Blues, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
This has got to be the very best of this collection - not a duff track anywhere to be heard - Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bring on the Blues, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Great to listen to these tracks again, with many old favourites from Muddy Waters to Robin Trower, however my prize for best track goes to Sweet Dreams by Roy Buchanan which always brings me out in goosebumps. What a shame this brilliant guitarist didn't get more regognition during his time on earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Blues compilation., 23 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Great compilation of blues greats including the less obvious tracks, really enjoyable and unlike most blues CDs is less predictable, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great blues bands., 6 Dec 2011
By 
Mr. I. Beaven "Filmfan" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Play this cd often,real classic blues for fans like myself .Fabulous tracks i love slide guitar with people like jeremy spencer ,jonny winter .Solid foot stomping music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great compilation - BUT --, 8 Feb 2012
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
-- It's a pity that my favourite track Alvin Lee The Bluest Blues (Track 12), has the last 20 seconds or so chopped off/quickly faded out - totally ruining it for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An observation, 31 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
I see that the cover clearly states, Climax Blues Band and Howlin' Wolf on its cover yet these two artistes are not on the actual CD.
So that means that the cover is 25 per cent incorrect.
True the CD is a nice collection despite not being acts actually played live on the Test.

BUT and this is my point.
It seems to insult the CD buying public quite a lot.
If this were a tin or a packet of food and it had a list of ingredients on I would expect those things to be in the product and if not I would be on to the trading standards quick!

Why not simplly change those names to Rory Gallagher (who was a regular on OGWT) and even Alvin Lee who are both big draws?

This sloppiness has been repeated on the OGWT progressive CD collection and just smacks of a 'Can't care Less Attitude to the Record Buying Public' and just further drags the reputation of The Old Grey Whistle Test down quite a few notches.

My advive is buy the complete Old Grey Whistle Test on DVD and see it in some of its glory.
Old Grey Whistle Test - Volumes 1-3 Box Set [DVD] [1977]

Sad.

BUT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blast fron the Past, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Quite a lot of 'golden oldie blues/rock' on here. Something to suit most ahe hroups into this style of music *I'm 64). Great variety of artists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
A good range of blues artist listed here. The collection from my experience, not put together for other blues collection albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa441a4)

This product

Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues
Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews