Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to modern blues...
This is an excellent blues sampler, which features not only blues legends like Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Albert and Freddy King but also the white acts that they influenced such as (the original) Fleetwood Mac, Chicken Shack, Rory Gallagher, Paul Butterfield, ZZ Top and Stevie Ray Vaughn. As well as these major artists there are also some slightly less well-known but...
Published on 12 Sep 2011 by G. E. Harrison

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent variety.
Having always regarded Whistle test as live a bit disappointed with recorded content.
Good choice of tracks though. Would have still purchased had I known.
Published 10 months ago by Peter Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to modern blues..., 12 Sep 2011
By 
G. E. Harrison (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
This is an excellent blues sampler, which features not only blues legends like Elmore James, Muddy Waters, Albert and Freddy King but also the white acts that they influenced such as (the original) Fleetwood Mac, Chicken Shack, Rory Gallagher, Paul Butterfield, ZZ Top and Stevie Ray Vaughn. As well as these major artists there are also some slightly less well-known but still interesting acts such as R. L. Burnside, Robin Trower, Kenny Wayne Shepherd and Roy Buchanan. The collection "mostly features artists that appeared on the show but also includes artists who for whatever reason didn't or couldn't appear on the show" - a slightly confusing statement but I definitely remember the wonderful performances by at least Little Feat, Bonnie Raitt, Roy Buchanan and Freddie King. Nonetheless this is an interesting and varied collection put together by 'Whispering Bob' which is a great introduction to modern blues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars OGWT Blues, 28 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Bought this album along with others from the Old Grey Whistle Test series and wasn't disappointed. It has a mix of original recordings and some performances from the show and gives a wide spread of the genre, with tracks I knew well, owned elsewhere but stuff that was new to me and adds to my collection. As usual good sleeve notes for the product in an overall good series of albums.

[[ASIN:B005DZMNQG Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Sampler For The Car, 4 Sep 2012
By 
P. ROBERTS "bluesmanpete" (Torquay, Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
I have to admit I like all the tracks on this cd, but to claim it's OGWT is a over the top a bit, as several tracks are from elsewhere. However, it fits nicely in the glove compartment and is a good listen on those long motorway journeys. Buy it for what it is rather than what it purports to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent variety., 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Having always regarded Whistle test as live a bit disappointed with recorded content.
Good choice of tracks though. Would have still purchased had I known.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic choice of music, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Love this Cd with wide choice of blues music. I bought it for a friend but ended up getting my own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT ALBUM, 12 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
GREAT PRODUCT ARRIVED PROMPT AND HAS SOME GREAT TRACKS FROM THE PAST PROGRAMMES OF THE TEST, CURRENTLY ON IN MY CAR FOR A FULL WEEK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD INTRO TO BLUES, 19 Feb 2014
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
There is nothing not to like about this compilation. Go get it at this cheap price then sit down on your own in a peaceful environment turn up the volume and enjoy. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars blues cd, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Sometimes you need a blues CD for the car. Instant gratification, its got all the good ones on it so you don't have to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Old Grey Whistle test Blues, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like the Blues then you will love this this album. Plenty of BIG names and some smaller ones. Great guitar and vocals. always playing in the car or at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable collection, 21 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues (Audio CD)
Pleased to find a collection of different 'Blues' tracks rather than usual compilation offerings, one or two of which I have not heard before. I particularly like the Alvin Lee's "Bluest Blues"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x114c96fc)

This product

Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues
Old Grey Whistle Test Present Blues by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2011)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 7 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews