Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD and blu-ray release widescreen (top and bottom cut off) - otherwise fantastic
---

I grew up with Tintin books, and these films come pretty close to the unique, almost magical feeling of the stories, and the artwork.

However, in this edition, in DVD as well as blu-ray, the series is not presented in the 4:3 (1.33:1) aspect ratio, the way they were originally broadcase, but in 16:9 widescreen, for which the top and bottom of the...
Published on 6 Mar 2012 by German Artist

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but disappointing dubbing.
Good value at the price but all of the characters have been re-dubbed, which is disappointing for anyone brought up on the 1960s version. The Thompson twins now sound like a couple of Cockneys rather than two eccentric English gentlemen detectives (that is why they wear bowler hats, after all) and captain Haddock has been Americanised. Still, for the price, as I say, good...
Published 12 months ago by brummiebloke


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD and blu-ray release widescreen (top and bottom cut off) - otherwise fantastic, 6 Mar 2012
---

I grew up with Tintin books, and these films come pretty close to the unique, almost magical feeling of the stories, and the artwork.

However, in this edition, in DVD as well as blu-ray, the series is not presented in the 4:3 (1.33:1) aspect ratio, the way they were originally broadcase, but in 16:9 widescreen, for which the top and bottom of the image were removed.

This feels even worse than the former habit of cutting widescreen into 4:3 format in the early days of home video.

This gives the compositions a cramped, claustrophobic feeling, with not enough headroom, with parts of the heads cut off. The compositions were very well thought-out, in fact, often, the original compositions from the books were directly transposed. But this gets lost here. On back of the DVD box it says, the aspect ratio is full frame, 4:3. The episodes, however are not. I will contact amazon about this, that they must clearly indicate the 16:9 aspect ratio, for the DVDs in particular.

The box, by the way, is stunning, with the image of Tintin and his dog rendered in 3D via holograph. Moreover, the the quality of the DVDs is so fantastic, that I first thought, I must have been sent the blu-rays in a dvd box, hence the cropping. But they are the DVDs alright, in excellent image and sound quality.

I recommend this set, if you are not bothered by the cropping of the image. The price is a real bargain.
---

Update 9 March 2012: I contacted amazon about this misrepresentation of the aspect ratio, and they consequently corrected this error. I'll leave my review up for a while, because that vital information in not desplayed in the product details, but further down in the product.

Amazon's reaction to my complaint was excemplary. Amazon.co.uk and amazon.com are my favorite stores - they've never let me down, and in case of a problem, communication is always excellent, and they always offer a satisfying solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relive the classic Tintin adventures at your own pace!, 5 Dec 2011
By 
A Filipowski (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I saw this box set on the shelves, I was immediately captivated and felt like a little child again. When I remember Tintin, I remember so many things. For one thing, it was a more mature cartoon. There were acts of violence, extreme peril, gunfights, drug smugglers... Tintin really was like Indiana Jones mixed with the typical reporter stereotype. The characters and locations are fantastic. From Marlinspike Hall to the moon.

Tintin himself is an intrepid reporter who is multi-talented to the extreme, with a deadly haymaker punch (which tends to knock out bad guys in one single strike) and a universal driving licence. We have Snowy, who's Tintin's adorable dog, present in each adventure. He is silly but extremely loyal. Often he alerts others to Tintin's weakened state or chews through his ropes. Captain Haddock on the other hand is a recovering alcoholic. Originally introduced as a heavy drinker but later he is able to remain sober (at least most of the time). Haddock is fantastic foil for Tintin, he is at times pessimistic, but also fiercely loyal. At one point he even nearly sacrifices his own life to save his friend. His made up swear words like "Blue Blistering Barnacles" and "Thundering Typhoons" are a key feature of this character and never fail to entertain.

Then we have the bumbling Thompson and Thomson, the detectives wearing bowler hats. They always turn up too late or arrest the wrong people. They mean well, but often cause more trouble and typically fall over each other and generally act as comic foil. Then we have Cuthbert Calculus, who is a hard-of-hearing scientist. He is gentle and a talented inventor.

Then we have the villains. Typically 'bad guys' who wear monocles and do generally very dastardly things. Typically Tintin must practically chase the villains across the world to put a stop to their terrible schemes. The villains generally stoop very low indeed, typically knocking Tintin out from behind with a blow to the head, or else using Chloroform (this happens at least once an episode). With exceptions, episodes are typically 44 minutes in length (22 minutes if it's only a short episode) and generally told in two parts. (2x22 Minutes = 1 full episode)

Really, Tintin is a perfect TV show and I'm so glad I bought this. If you remember the original show and have fond memories, don't hesitate to buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good value but disappointing dubbing., 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good value at the price but all of the characters have been re-dubbed, which is disappointing for anyone brought up on the 1960s version. The Thompson twins now sound like a couple of Cockneys rather than two eccentric English gentlemen detectives (that is why they wear bowler hats, after all) and captain Haddock has been Americanised. Still, for the price, as I say, good value for anyone wanting to entertain their kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the 60s version, 27 Oct 2011
By 
Andy K (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I seem to be at odds with some of the other reviewers here. I think this version from the 1990s is actually better than the version I used to watch as a child in the 1960s. The only criticism is that they seem to have been made in a different order, then re-ordered to match the sequence of the books. This occasionally produces some continuity errors. Nicely loud so you may need to turn the volume down a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Tintin on film, 11 Sep 2014
This review is from: The Adventures of Tintin [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This 5-disc set represents the most faithfully-rendered and probably best presentation of Tintin on film or television. The French and Canadian co-production was shot and first transmitted in 1991-1992, and comprised 21 of Hergé's 23 completed books. The blu-ray discs are nicely-packaged in three, translucent blue, hard-shell DVD boxes, which come in a cardboard slipcase that includes a hologram of the television series' trademark of Tintin and Snowy running, captured in a spotlight. This Anchor Bay UK set can only be played on blu-ray machines capable of reading discs encoded for Region B, which is most of Europe (the United States is Region A).

The traditional, 2-D cel animation strives to reproduce Hergé's "ligne claire" drawing style and the cartoon's strong colours, and the episodes appear to be the actual still frames of the cartoon in motion. Many of the individual episodes are close to the albums of the same title, but a few (like "Tintin in America") have been rewritten whereas others may have been edited in order to fit into commercial television's need to include advertisements. The voice casting is quite good and the tracks are well mixed so the dialogue is easily understood. Colin O'Meara's Tintin is believable if most definitely Canadian, and David Fox and Wayne Robinson are good as Captain Haddock and Professor Calculus respectively, although I always think of Haddock as being a Scot.

This box set does have some drawbacks. The blu-ray discs appear to have been transferred from a positive print (or a poorly maintained negative) so there is a fair amount of "dirt" visible throughout the series. There also are no extras whatsoever, not even title cards with a short, illustrated biography of Hergé, or a history of Tintin, although such documentaries do exist. There are no subtitles for the hearing impaired. There isn't even a booklet or a "one sheet" indicating which episodes are on which disc.

For all that, this is clearly Tintin, if sometimes politically correct, who looks like the character one has grown up seeing and not, like in the dreadful Steven Spielberg/Peter Jackson film, looking as though they had been dipped in parafin, were being observed through gauze, or brought back from the dead. This is an entertaining collection that will delight the series older (or elder) fans, and even beguile a younger audience accustomed to more visual sophistication and finesse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment - great value, 5 Nov 2011
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I wasn't aware that these are new(ish)cartoons made in the 90's so when the introduction familiar from my childhood of "HERGE'S ADVENTURES OF TINTIN" was missing I wasn't sure that I would like these but in the end I was converted. The style is very like the books, the voice acting is pretty spot on and the adventures, though often corny to the modern cynical eye, is proper old fashioned Boys Own stuff. Great entertainment, and at the price brilliant value. The only thing that has become apparent over the intervening years since I saw the originals was how annoying Snowy is. Pesky little mutt...

Only kidding

It helps that Captain Haddock, Thomson and Thompson and Professor Calculus, being genuinely funny characters, help to offset the over-earnestness occasionally displayed by the young reporter which only adds to the fun.

Whilst the films are more true to the storylines of the books than the original series one word of caution would be that a fair bit of what would be deemed politically incorrect now has not been transferred across, so Captain Haddock drinks less, there is less smoking and gun play, and half of Tintin in America has been expunged so we don't see the episodes with the Redskins (as they were called then)/Native Americans at all. I don't think this detracts from the films as I'm not sure one wants to watch the exact same story as that in the books but it may spoil some folks' experience. In any case the books are unchanged so if you want the full period piece then best read them.

This is great nostalgic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review for the Adventures of Tintin box set (2011), 21 Oct 2014
By 
Richard Seabury (Telford, Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just to clarify, this review is for the Review for the Adventures of Tintin (2011). It seems that Amazon has sadly mixed all the reviews for all Tintin DVDs together. The box shows Tintin and Snowy caught running in a spotlight.

I bought this Tintin box set for my five-year-old after studying lots of reviews on Tintin sites. I certainly made the right decision. We both love to watch them. The stories are engrossing, paced just right and are full of detail and humour. The characterisation and the animation are great. I chose to introduce my son to Tintin via these animations before showing him Spielberg and Jackson's works. By the judge of their first film in the series, it is obvious that these will be fantastic too. A shame that I couldn't introduce the little one to the characters through their original medium. Maybe I can surprise him with one of his favourites in book form and see what he makes of it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good memories, 21 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just as I remember it when I was a kid. Loved this and still do. Brings a smile to my face and makes me laugh watching it. Tintin and snowy are amazing. Love it love it love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Politiclly correct tintin, 14 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As someone who grew up with the books, I must say the artwork is very close to the books. The stories have been edited to shorten episodes but some political correctness has also crept in. The Africans locked up in the ships hold to be sold as slaves in the "Red Sea Sharks" have been replaced by middle eastern refugees who have been falsely promised a trip to America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFIC TIN TIN, 6 Jan 2012
This Tin Tin DVD makes good family viewing, toddlers and Grandparents can watch it togather.
Each episode is full of excitement and action and just long enough and not too scarey.
The colours and graphics are good. we liked it.It makes a nice present.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Tintin [Blu-ray]
The Adventures of Tintin [Blu-ray] by Stéphane Bernasconi (Blu-ray - 2011)
£17.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews