Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic range of songs showcasing a great singer
Feist's own compositions belogn firmly in the kooky/indie songwriters camp. her vocals, on the other hand, belong in the classic jazz/pop camp. Imagine a place somewhere between The Cardigans and Norah Jones and you'll be close to how she sounds. Musically it's all kept quite simple with guitar and inventive percussion staying playfully in the background. Producer Chilly...
Published on 12 Jun 2004 by Matt Sephton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So, So
I bought this because I really liked her Album The Reminder but this isn't as good in my opinion. Mushaboom is the stand out track the rest slip by without grabbing my attention
Published 21 months ago by astockwelluk


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic range of songs showcasing a great singer, 12 Jun 2004
By 
Matt Sephton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
Feist's own compositions belogn firmly in the kooky/indie songwriters camp. her vocals, on the other hand, belong in the classic jazz/pop camp. Imagine a place somewhere between The Cardigans and Norah Jones and you'll be close to how she sounds. Musically it's all kept quite simple with guitar and inventive percussion staying playfully in the background. Producer Chilly Gonzales has done a wonderful job here, though he could have been a lot more heavy handed considering his own material.
So, whilst the standout track is Feist's own, glorious "Mushaboom" the second half of the album consists of some excellent covers. She makes each and every one of them her own, from The Bee Gees "(Love You) Inside and Out", through Ron Sexsmith's "Secret Heart" to old Vocal Jazz standard "Now at Last" not to mention the others.
Whether or not this release is a commercial success, it is already a resounding success that it can be released in today's unsure musical industry. Simply fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting hybrid of old genres, 17 Aug 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
I bought this after reading a good review in a rock mag, and an amazon review that stated that she sounded a bit like PJ Harvey. Feist sounds nothing like PJH to me (her voice is too pretty), and NOTHING like Norah Jones, but the album was not disappointing. Her voice is soft, stunning; a french-ballad voice over a funky 70's vibe on some songs. She does sound like a heavier Keren Ann,(another female french crossover) or a lighter Eva Cassidy. 'One Evening' and 'Inside and Out' sounds VERY Bee Gee-ish, but are captivating. This album also has very 60's sounds; organs, snapping fingers... There are a few french songs; some are ballads, some are swingy numbers. This album is so eclectic. It might not suit everyone. Let's say I was extremely, but pleasantly surprised. If you hate 70's/disco/folk/ballad... don't buy this. If you love female singer-songwriters with talent, buy it. This album is very catchy and well written. It deserves to be heard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MAGICAL, 16 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
I bought this album off the back of reading some amazing reviews and was not dissappointed. It is absolutely beautiful. A little bit of magic. Favourite tracks are Mushaboom, One Evening, Secret Heart and Inside and Out. Feist has a voice that is like honey and the more I have listened to the album, the more it has grown on me. I have never written a review for any album I have bought before from amazon but Let It Die compelled me to spread the word!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars still fantastic in 2005, 18 Feb 2005
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
I felt compelled to writing this review as it is such a great album. I am not often given to awarding 5 stars as so many reviews are done in haste and use the 5 stars to vindicate the purchaser rather than reflect the strength of the recording.
I discovered this last year when on holiday and it has been a constant since then, and it came into its' own when we were in Paris towards the end of the year where the album was recorded and it just fit so well and captured our hearts. There are definitely several sides to the album: laid back; 70's groove; french chanson all combining to make it varied and interesting. It is leftfield enough in a Beth Orton way to be cool but not edgy in a PJ Harvey way to be uncomfortable and the Bee Gees cover is superb. Personal favourite is Mushaboom which is sublime. Her voice is great and choice of songs serve to give it longevity
She is touring soon and I recommend trying to catch her live, or at least doing yourself a favour and buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Saddest Part Is That It Ends, 28 April 2006
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
Canada has churned out some great talent over the years Joni Mitchell,Alanis Morissette,Esthero,Nelly Furtado,Glenn Lewis & Deborah Cox to name a few. Feist is my lastest discovery after hearing the title track on a CD i found i loved the womans voice and it took me well over 2 months to track down who this she was. "Let It Die" is a very introvertive and delicate album that has an enchanting and alluring charm to it that makes you feel calm and at ease.

1.Gatekeeper - This like many other songs it's very short the song itself has a somewhat french feel to it and seen as it was recorded in Paris the vibe of it becomes apparent although a very minimal song it has a big impact and her voice is beautiful 10/10

2.Mushaboom - The lead single that promoted the album the title is from the name of the harbour in her home town of Halifax,Canada it reminds me of something Joni Mitchell would have written (think Morning Morningtown)i love the subtle drumline-like beat.This is also one of the only up-beat tracks here 10/10

3.Let It Die - Fantastic is an understatment to how much i love this song it has a very gloomy and melancholic feel a song about a relationship that Feist had to get over yet the other person keeps tryna start things up again and shes just saying 'let it die' theres no point stepping on old ground i personally think this is beautifully written and she sounds excellent 10/10

4.One Evening - The second single which a choice i wouldn't of picked not saying that i don't like it the chorus is wonderful the jazzy feel to it is excellent reminds me of Rhian Benson (remember her!) it's a cool song and is catchy as hell and will stick in your head for days 9/10

5.Leisure Suite - Another jazzy song the finger clicking and the broken baseline is cool this is almost like an acapella this is one of the longest songs on the album and is a good song 9/10

6.L'amour Ne Dure Pas Toujours - Simply translated as Love Does Not Always Last the song is entirely in french and the song sounds very french indeed i enjoyed this song alot the accordian is brilliant alot with the slight sonar sounds which just reminds me of an old TV show it's an interesting song worth listening to 10/10

7.Lonely Lonely - Now here is another sad song which to me is the worst song on the album i just seems to just stay where its put and just doesnt do anything worth shouting about it starts to pick up only to drag back down again 4/10

8.When I Was A Young Girl - It just reminds me of american indians sitting around a camp fire its a cool song and the distorted guitar solo is delicious! seems like a traditional folk song which could have been on the Kill Bill soundtrack it has that kinda feel 10/10

9.Secret Heart - Another song im not overly crazy about its a cheery happy-go-lucky song but sadly just does nothing for me i mean she does sound great but overall i feel this could have taken in a different direction 7/10

10.Inside & Out - This is a cover of the BeeGee's classic "Love You Inside Out" its an interesting choice to cover but i absolutely love it although Feist puts her own twist to it, it somewhat keeps it disco-esque quality to it one of the best songs 10/10

11.Now At Last - What a beautiful closing song it just reminds me of an old disney movie that had the classic songs (not these new ones...bleh!) This is a very cute song and a very good way to close the album 10/10

Top 5

1.Let It Die

2.Inside & Out

3.Now At Last

4.Mushaboom

5.L'amour Ne Dure Pas Toujours

Take a chance on some great artistry if you liked Sia's Colour The Small One or Rufus Wainwright's Poses then im sure this album will be to your liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best albums ever made, 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
Lovely voice, lovely songs, lovely lyrics, lovely melodies from a lovely artist. Gotta love Feist! Love this album version with Amourissima and L'Amour Ne Dure Pas Toujours
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Quality, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
Great Product, just what I ordered.
Let It Die is not as good as Metals but it's still a great listen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome..., 12 Dec 2012
By 
Fred Chamberlain "666" (london u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
Cant fault any track on this superb cd this was my 1st buy of Feist & both my wife n I loves it...you will as well..why else are you reading this :D Feist brought you here...go on you know you want this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown away by simplicity, 13 Nov 2012
By 
DyingStar (Ghent, Belgium) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
This album is so simple and pure that it just radiates beauty.
Both in music as in voice, this album makes you think you're next to the singer while she's pouring out her life's story on your willing ears.

The perfect record for a Sunday morning or a rainy afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Something Special, 9 Oct 2011
This review is from: Let It Die (Audio CD)
This is probably one of my favorite CDs of all time. The album came to my attention when I heard "Inside and Out" while I was shopping one day and couldn't get it out of my head. Her reinterpretation of the Bee Gees' classic is sexy, soulful, and powerful. It's so original that unless you listen closely You can't tell it's the same song. She has a very unique voice; smokey, sensual, and wistful, at the same time. She has a great ability to express strength and vulnerability, simultaneously. Other favorites include, "One Evening","Gatekeeper", and "Secret Heart".

Jennifer K. Lafferty
Author of Offbeat Love Stories and More
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let It Die
Let It Die by Feist
Buy MP3 Album5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews