Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precious Metals
Feist is one of my two favourite contemporary female singers - Joan Wasser [Joan As Policewoman] being the other - and the Canadian songstress' first release since 2007's superb and acclaimed 'The Reminder' provides more of that same excellence. The tracks vary from the cleverly orchestrated by - to name only a few - horns, violin, broken-fuzzed guitar, various...
Published on 3 Oct 2011 by Glenn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not too Feisty
First impressions are that this album is not as easy on the ear as some of her other work, however it seems to grow on you. I may be back to adjust the rating!
Published 11 months ago by palmo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Precious Metals, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Metals (Audio CD)
Feist is one of my two favourite contemporary female singers - Joan Wasser [Joan As Policewoman] being the other - and the Canadian songstress' first release since 2007's superb and acclaimed 'The Reminder' provides more of that same excellence. The tracks vary from the cleverly orchestrated by - to name only a few - horns, violin, broken-fuzzed guitar, various percussion, handclaps, multi-tracked harmonies, and ambient noises, to those that focus on Feist's at times vulnerable but always beautifully toned voice: from whispers to repeated expulsions of breath to perfectly pitched melodies. It is overall a gentle and sweet set of tracks with pop and newfolk sensibilities to the fore, but always her distinctive vocal anchoring the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bittersweet melodies, 21 Feb 2012
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Metals (Audio CD)
I can't say for sure, but I'm fairly sure that Leslie Feist was sad when she made this album.

There's always been a hint of the bittersweet in Feist's folk-jazzy-pop music, even though her last album was a sparkling, colorful affair. But her fourth solo album "Metals" is a far more bittersweet, raw affair, like listening to someone's heart breaking under a moonlit sky in the country.

She sets off with the percussive, country-flavored "The Bad in Each Other," an uneasy bleak song that makes you think of dark rooms and destructive passion. "We held the same feelings/at opposite times/A good man, a good woman/can't find the good in each other," she murmurs.

After that, she slips into a string of soft, slightly sad songs -- the murky drift of "Graveyard," the starlit ballad "Caught a Long Wind," the jazzy "How Come You Never Go There?", the string-soaked meditative "Anti-Pioneer" and its string-soaked crescendo, the heartrendingly lovely "Undiscovered First," and the more hopeful, haunting finale "Get It Wrong, Get It Right" ("We'll go, can hope/have to hope...")/

But she also explores some more.... off-kilter music. "A Commotion" eases us in with the sound of someone repeatedly clamping down on piano keys, only to be swept into a surreal rock of strange voices, bizarre noises and gleeful darkness. And "Cicadas and Gulls" is a proggy bulk that slowly rolls through your ears. It's strangely hypnotic, but it's also uncomfortably out-of-step with the other songs.

I adored "The Resident," and all the different pop styles that Feist was trying on for size. But honestly, it feels like "Metals" is almost the polar opposite -- while some of the musical stylings are similar to Feist's previous works, this one is far softer, sadder and more contemplative.

She sticks mostly to the jazzy-folky-pop sound of her previous albums, but cloaks the acoustic guitars in a sheen of nimble swirling pianos, keyboard, toy piano and great silken masses of strings. And her slightly husky voice floats over the whole thing... except when she yowls, drones or soars. It sounds like it should be lulling -- and sometimes it is, such as in "Graveyard" -- but often Feist throws in something twisted or unnerving when you don't expect it.

There's a sadness and darkness in Feist's "Metals," but it doesn't make the album any less beautiful in execution. I don't think we'll hear any of these songs in iPod commercials, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Gold !, 2 Oct 2012
This review is from: Metals (Audio CD)
On hearing snippets of the album on the internet before it's release, I was a bit put off so did not rush out on day 1 and buy it. I bought it a week or so later and on first listen a few tracks stood out but was still not hooked. After a few listens I started to get into it and since then it has been my most played album of 2012. The initial faves of The "Bad In Each Other", "How Come You Never Go There" and " The Circle Married The Line" have been superceded by "Caught A Long Wind Home", "Bittersweet Melodies" and the truelly fantastic "Anti-Pioneer" which just gets better every time I hear it.
It is an album which has grown on me the more I listen to it. So go on, have a daily dose of Feist, you'll feel better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great! But even better live, 23 May 2012
By 
Helmut Mummenbrauer "music addict" (Recklinghausen (Germany)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metals (Audio CD)
The Jools Holland 'Later' TV programmes are repeated constantly here in Germany on a cultural channel,
and so quite recently I happenend to see a part of an October 2011 show.

The moment I tuned in this young lady had started to perform accompanying herself on guitar and
being augmented by a stunning vocal harmony and brass section plus percussion. I was taken
by surprise and got carried away from the start. The song in question was 'Bittersweet Melodies',
the structures and singing reminding me of Joni Mitchell and even a Bacharach-esque 'la la' chorus.

An earlier performance I found on YouTube was 'The Bad In Each Other' - this album's opener -
which has more punch to the extent of a jazz-funk flavour.

Even for these two tracks the album is worth having and the rest of the songs are also standouts.

The only reason that I held back one star from my rating is that I found Feist's TV performance
even better. The live sound is better than on the recordings and clearer for those who are used
to listening with more than two ears - I'm not really sure how many I've got...:-).

If you like the combination of folk, pop and jazz you should go out and buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent. Her best. So far., 8 April 2012
By 
David Fuller (Kentish Town, London) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metals [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Serious. Mature. Passionate. Assured. Stirring.

No child-friendly pop songs to speak of on this album.

Sounds like she's making the kind of noise she wants to.

Definitely my favourite of her three albums fo far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Feist - Heavy Metals, 3 Oct 2011
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Metals (Audio CD)
4.5 stars

Having recorded a song quite as ubiquitous as "1234" which when attached to an advert for the I Pod Nano helped shift the little sound units by the millions, tends to be the defining "fact" of Leslie Feist's career thus far. Alternatively very clever people who read Amazon reviews know that this joyous little pop song is the proverbial tip of a very large iceberg when it comes to Feist's talent and what we have with her new album is the productions of some very powerful song craft that leads to the production of very precious metals.

Straddling the world between her indie roots in the great Canadian band Broken Social Scene and appearances on Sesame Street are all taken in her stride by Leslie Feist although on this new album there is too much for the Muppets to sing about. Indeed "Metals" is a darker beast than its predecessor (which also had its moments) but ultimately an altogether stronger and more mature album. It opens with the pounding "The bad in each other" a great folky song which sees Feist almost mixing the Fleet Foxes with Kate Bush to great effect. The next two songs are amongst the most haunting on the album and show her emerging as a major songwriting talent. First up is "Graveyard' with a tender vocal and an almost Tom Waits style backdrop full of horns and an extended exhortation to the inhabitants of the burial ground to "Bring them all back to life". The third song "Caught a long wind" has that sort of icy beauty that Sufjan Stevens has made such a trademark and is a stunning highlight. Alternatively "How come you never go there" is a light soulful blues ballad which stands in sharp contrast. The pivot of the album is "A Commotion" a thumping anthem of indie pop full of deep male chants, violins and thumping drums. This one may split the jury but it shows an artist prepared to take risks which largely work. More gentle are the lovely proceeding tracks "The circle married the line" and the sumptuous "Bittersweet Melodies". Your reviewers favourite track thus far is the five minute plus haunting slow jazz of "Anti Pioneer" a burning love song which would not be out of place on a Cat Power album.

Throughout the album Feist sings brilliantly no more so on the hushed alt country acoustics of "Cicada's and gulls" or on the ethereal closer "Get it get it wrong". Undoubtedly some may bemoan the lack of catchy radio friendly accessibility which previous songs like "I feel it all" and "My moon my man" had in spades. Indeed the Amazon download appears to omit two other tracks that are widely available namely the gothic blues of "Pine Moon" which Nick Cave should cover ASAP and the much more feisty soul of "Woe be" (answers on a postcard please?). Frankly while they are both great songs neither are hits waiting to trouble the charts. In the last analysis accepting that the vibe of "Metals" tends to locate it in more pensive corners which she explored on "The Reminders" Overall the feel of this album is autumnal and like the wonderful season that it captures Feist infuses "Metals" with the feeling that the possibilities of summer are gone, and the chill of winter is on the horizon. You would be foolish not to let this album soundtrack the forthcoming months.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metals (MP3 Download)
Love all the songs on this album, and it's best listened to all in one go. Like all of Feist's music there a so many layers and intricacies to her songs and I always notice something new whenever I hear them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just great, 25 Nov 2013
By 
M. Menezes "shantiman" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: FEIST METALS- (Audio CD)
unique as always, this album is Feist served raw and clean. For fans and admirers it's just great. Worth listening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Feist metals cd, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metals (Audio CD)
Arrived in good time in good condition not a bad cd but not a patch on the reminder a few songs that reminded me of reminder which I think saved the cd hence only four stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice condition, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Metals [VINYL] (Vinyl)
But the cover is worn and has been compressed around the disc, wether that was as sent out or happened in the post I don't know, otherwise it's great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Metals
Metals by Feist (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews