Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars20
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£0.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2014
This is the story of an ex private detective shaken out of retirement in a near future, post apocalyptic world to solve an unusual murder. Unusual because the alleged victim is a self confessed serial killer who is recorded committing suicide on video tape.

I enjoyed the book; the plot proceeds at a nice place and is an ideal airport read. I'm guessing the author was also heavily influenced by the cyberpunk novels of William Gibson; although not in the same league, it was well written enough to keep me engaged. I liked the combination of hard boiled noir elements rubbing up against future dystopia; It would seem seediness is fundamentally the same whatever the technology.

Although entertaining, it wasn't quite a five star read for me. I would have liked to have seen a bit more of certain characters and the plot could have done with a little more work to satisfyingly obfuscate things; the identity of the villains was evident quite a while before they were unmasked, mostly because there were no viable alternatives to muddy the waters. However, the as the author pointed out, this was an early work and it is still far better than most in this bracket.

Definitely worth 77p
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Our planet is careering towards an environmental catastrophe. This book is a great detective story set in the dysfunctional future that we're creating today, where artificial implants and gene splicing are the norm.

It has the potential for a great SF film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2015
Mickey Spillane goes walkabout in the distant future? This is a strange book using two totally different formats ie Private Detective in a Science Fiction age. It shouldn't work but weirdly it does . So I can recommend it. Just stay with it until your brain adjusts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Having read his navy stories I was not sure how to take this story. What a mind, great book with a story that held me.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
I quite enjoyed this book it is the sort that does not stretch your thinking too much just a jolly good read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2015
Good story. The sci fi is dated by today's standards but you can forgive that. I will read the next one.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Interesting book, enjoyed it but not as much as I thought I would. Not cyberpunk enough for me!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
For fans of Blade runner and Ghost in the shell, a dark technological thriller with very human characters at the heart of it. Each of the futuristic ideas through out the story come into play and are bought together for a satisfying and suspenful finale!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2014
I really enjoyed this book.. The main protagonist is a well drawn, likeable character and the futuristic world-building is clever and believable. The story itself is a real page-turner and is very well paced. Definitely worth a look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
It is difficult to judge if the 'operationsl' detail included in each stroy is authentic but I found that it does not greatly add to the story so now trnd to speed through it. The actual story is great and always interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.38

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.