Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A.M.A.Z.I.N.G
Miranda Lambert has done it again - her fourth album is original, fresh, inventive but with enough classic Miranda to please her fans. The songwriting, singing and production on this RCA album produced by Frank Liddell & Mike Wrucke is remarkable. Several tracks feature Miranda's famous twang, the beautiful self-penned 'Dear Diamond' being one of the the albums finest...
Published on 1 Nov 2011 by Mr. B. R. Good

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Kinds Of Miranda Lambert
Please understand that I feel that Miranda Lambert has a great singing voice, despite the three star rating. "Safe" is one of the songs that emphasizes her musical talent in a good way. "All Kinds Of Kinds", "Oklahoma Sky", "Mama's Broken Heart",and "Better In The Long Run" highlight her strength in emotional and relatable music. The main reason for the three star rating...
Published on 1 Aug 2012 by Stella Carrier


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A.M.A.Z.I.N.G, 1 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. B. R. Good (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Four The Record (Audio CD)
Miranda Lambert has done it again - her fourth album is original, fresh, inventive but with enough classic Miranda to please her fans. The songwriting, singing and production on this RCA album produced by Frank Liddell & Mike Wrucke is remarkable. Several tracks feature Miranda's famous twang, the beautiful self-penned 'Dear Diamond' being one of the the albums finest tracks. Then the pace goes into overdrive: the second track takes the listener by surprise. 'Fine Tune' borders on 1980's Seattle-Grunge. But does it work? Absolutely, yes. It's brilliant. With it's heavy rock guitar and vocal reverb it may surprise people to know it was written by the same people behind her current hit 'Baggage Claim' - Natalie Hemby & Luke Laird.
Like 'Baggage Claim' with its powerful steel-string-acoustic thumping intro, we have 'Fastest Girl In Town' a song Miranda wrote with her fellow Pistol Annie, Angaleena Presley. It's hardcore country-rock, and catchy as hell.
Miranda wrote 'Safe' and it sounds very much like 'House That Built Me Part 2'. It's more upbeat but similar in terms of melody and message.
As if things could not get any better, just wait until you hear 'Mama's Broken Heart'. It's a foot stomping track about a wild woman, a darker and dirtier version of Gretchen Wilsons's Redneck Woman. It's pure, hardcore Americana country-rock.
'Same Old You' it's one of Miranda's Twangiest, most brilliant vocal performance ever. The track is written by the country-rocker Brandi Carlile and a more perfect song I can't imagine. It's pure Miranda and I can only hope Brandi Carlile provides more material for Miranda in the future.
'Baggage Claim', what more needs to be said? This current hit is about the most catchy song to hit country radio since Carrie Underwood's Before He Cheats.
So, can things get any better than this? Just wait: Miranda has colaborated with her guitar player Scotty Wray on the wonderful 'Easy Living'. Over the sound of a living room TV we hear Miranda's vocals move into Hank Williams territory. This sounds like a classic from another era of country music and reminds me slightly of Roger Miller/King Of The Road in its sentiment. Also, as of today - It would fit perfectly into the Pistol Annies set list.
'Look At Miss Ohio' is written by song-writing elite, David Rawlings & Gillian Welch and it's a stunning, moody, almost Eagles style track about a woman who knows her own mind, dodging a life of small town conformity, "I wanna do right but not right now". The chorus is mouthwatering & delicious.
Newly married to country superstar Blake Shelton, it's no surprise we have a duet and it's a track written by fellow Pistol Annie, Ashley Monroe and Charles Kelly of Lady Antebellum. It's perfect for country radio and an absolute grower. This is George & Tammy for the 21st Century. It's pure, raw vocal harmony.
Chris Stapleton who wrote Josh Turner's hit, Your Man - is responsible for 'Nobody's Fool'. It's classic Miranda but with a twist. It's on a bed of heavy drum and rock-guitar. It's a powerful vocal shout-out about being strong, tough and standing for no bull. It's not quite country radio but it's a southern-rock Travis Tritt style.
This is by no means a comprehensive review. There is far, far more to be said about this wonderful 14 (plus bonus) track, album. From the production to the choice of songs and Miranda's stunning vocal performance - this marks in stone - her place as the current queen of country music. Don't just pay to download the MP3's. OWN THE ALBUM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All Kinds Of Miranda Lambert, 1 Aug 2012
Please understand that I feel that Miranda Lambert has a great singing voice, despite the three star rating. "Safe" is one of the songs that emphasizes her musical talent in a good way. "All Kinds Of Kinds", "Oklahoma Sky", "Mama's Broken Heart",and "Better In The Long Run" highlight her strength in emotional and relatable music. The main reason for the three star rating is due to the feeling that I only wish that she would have put more fast tempo songs on the cd (similar to "Fastest Girl In Town"). I admit to saying this from a perspective of preferring neo-country, country pop, and country rock music from the 80's,90's, and the 2000's. In fairness to the artist, she sang some of the older country style songs such as "Easy Living" and "Same Old You" with strong conviction. For this reason, "Four the Record"(Deluxe Edition) by Miranda Lambert is more for those who prefer a combination of outlaw style country with modern country (due to more of the country songs on this cd inspired by the pre 80's era).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great :), 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: Four The Record (Audio CD)
I'm not a massive fan of country music, apart from Country-Pop Taylor Swift, but I really like Miranda Lambert.Her lyrics are catchy and witty and the tunes are fun and beautiful. This is a fantastic album and probably my favourite Miranda Lambert album. "All Kinds of Kinds" is a beautiful song and opener, one of my favourite songs ever in fact. This whole album is wonderful and hard to describe. It's just great! Buy this- you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A grower from Miranda, 5 Nov 2011
This review is from: Four The Record (Audio CD)
The only reason Four the Record got 4 instead of 5 stars is because I loved Revolution so much.

Miranda always moves on with her music and each song tells a story so the listener needs to actaully pay attention to the lyrics which means I'll probably want to give this 10 stars in future...

On first listen some of the tracks jar the ear but they're so cleverly written by Miranda you want to listen even if the track isn't what you expected (Fine Tune)and will grow on you.

Fav tracks so far Fastest Girl In Town, Safe, Mama's Broken Heart,Bagage Claim, Oklahoma Sky.

Good to see Miranda getting recognition she deserves. Looking forward to see what comes next as Miranda can write and sing anything and never sticks to the same old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely successful album, 3 May 2014
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Four The Record (Audio CD)
The first four singles (Baggage claim, Over you, Fastest girl in town, Mama's broken heart) from this album were all huge successes, all being top 10 country hits with two of them certified platinum and the other two certified gold. The final single (All kinds of kinds, was only a top 20 country hit, but maybe the radio stations were getting bored. However, the album certainly isn't the kind of country music I had come to know and love in the 20th century - and I'm including the latter years of that century in that comparison too.

My favourite track here is Same old you, probably in part because it has more of a country feel to it than most of the other tracks, but it is also quite an amusing song, in which she gets angry with her man, at least for a while ....

I think this is a fantastic album for what it is, and I look forward to buying and reviewing Platinum, but I think that, at least at the Nashville business end of the music industry, country music as I think of it is a part of history. I'll enjoy listening to Miranda, Brad Paisley and one or two others for the quality of their music, irrespective of category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best !!!, 16 Feb 2012
Her fourth album but it is one of her best. She is so talented, writing & singing such great songs. The tracks have different flavours. It is up there as one of my favourite albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable selection of songs, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four The Record (Audio CD)
Miranda just gets better with every cd she records. I have purchased about six of her CDs over the last year and will be adding to my collection for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four The Record (Audio CD)
Excellent value for money and as this was a gift it was an excellent surprise to. Cds by this star are hard and expensive to get in this country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars some really good tracks, 29 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four The Record (Audio CD)
this is the 2nd album I have bought of hers and really like it, there are some really upbeat tracks on it. Looking forward to her next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have No Doubt, 17 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Four The Record (Audio CD)
Several of the early 'professional' reviewers of Miranda's fourth album were quick to offer some pretty harsh criticism. It's true that her previous albums have set a high benchmark but this is a more than solid effort. Sure, next time, it would be good to have a higher proportion of self-penned songs - because she's a great song-writer - but she is very good at taking ownership of other people's songs too. So, perhaps not the full five stars for this album but it's not that far off - to give it four would be unfair. Time may well prove the critics wrong.

Miranda's upbeat on the opener as she celebrates humanity on 'All Kinds Of Kinds. 'Fine Tune' finds her in experimental mode - this will be a difficult listen for those who like their country music straight but those who are comfortable with something a bit leftfield will like it fine. But there are plenty of orthodox (in a good way) country tracks - another guy's getting dumped on Brandi Carlile's 'Same Old You', Miranda's kicking back and relaxing on 'Easy Living', and is breaking up on 'Better In The Long Run'. But there's always a time to get in your car, hit the open road and enjoy the sexy, bad girl rock of the 'Fastest Girl In Town'. There's more of that attitude we love as Miranda wrestles with the urge to wreak crazed revenge (there's a surprise!) in the mother-daughter conflict song, 'Mama's Broken Heart.

Only two tracks are completely self-written this time around but they show that Miranda's own song-writing is fit and well; the love-song, 'Safe', that sounds as if it comes straight from the 'Revolution' sessions, and the Patty Loveless-backed 'Dear Diamond', a simple-sounding song but with that darkness and depth that Miranda does so well. 'Over You' tackles some real-life darkness - co-written with Blake Shelton, it was apparently provoked by the death of his older brother in 1990. Miranda pays homage to Gillian Welch's excellent 'Miss Ohio', and here adds just the right amount of steel and electric guitar to make it her own. Miranda's had enough on the country-funk 'Baggage Claim' while 'Nobody's Fool' has a speeded up waltz rhythm with some great fuzz-box guitar - sounds a bit weird but it works really well. To close the album, acoustic and electric guitars are mixed behind Miranda's beautiful vocal on Allison Moorer's 'Oklahoma Sky'.

Don't listen to the doubters - believe! You'll enjoy this album, for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Four The Record
Four The Record by Miranda Lambert (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews