Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest xmas film of all time
If you buy one xmas film buy this loved this since a child
Albert Finney is superb and the songs wonderful the blu ray
is great & the overture is on the end after the titles
thank you very much
Published on 8 Dec 2011 by L. bate

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Humbug!!
The film is wonderful. But be warned, there is no Overture on this blu ray version. Not even an option, as with the DVD. Completely spoilt the experience.
Published on 20 Oct 2011 by ding dong


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest xmas film of all time, 8 Dec 2011
By 
L. bate (birminghanm) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
If you buy one xmas film buy this loved this since a child
Albert Finney is superb and the songs wonderful the blu ray
is great & the overture is on the end after the titles
thank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All in the detail only., 7 Nov 2011
By 
W. Beckett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Apart from the missing Overture - the transfer is no different from the DVD version, except of course you get the greater clarity and brighter colours expected of HD. Fortunately - unlike some other older film releases, grain isn't a real problem here. Yes of course it's a shame it's still a bare-boned edition with even the Overture removed this time around - It would've been 4 Stars for that reason if I didn't enjoy the movie so much. . OK - it's doesn't need to be in the film itself, but I agree with one reviewer in saying that an optional extra would've been nice. Also nice might've been tracking down Albert Finney and a few other surviving cast or crew members for a Commentary. Personally I think Albert Finney did a wonderful job, so recollections would've been an excellent Blu-ray addition. As a footnote, I recently saw Disney's 'A Christmas Carol.' Yes it did an amiable job in terms of 3D and CGI animation, but in terms of capturing the sheer emotion and pay-off of an old miser making good, this musical version of Scrooge I think can't be beaten. I've also read the novel, and this movie actually does improve and enhance what Dickens wrote in my opinion. So, if you've always enjoyed the film, then do please put it in your Xmas stockin. With it's much richer and detailed picture, I guarantee it'll still touch the heart amd all the right emotions just in time for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Humbug!!, 20 Oct 2011
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The film is wonderful. But be warned, there is no Overture on this blu ray version. Not even an option, as with the DVD. Completely spoilt the experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even if you don't like musicals you will love this film!, 4 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is, as other reviewers have mentioned, the greatest Christmas film ever and it looks beautiful on Blu Ray.

A really wonderful rendition of the well known story, it really is a treat that the whole family will enjoy. The story itself really benefits from the songs which are all catchy, some fun, some sad, some romantic, but all wonderful. They are only songs - this is not one of those musicals where every line is sung; there is plenty of standard dialogue between the numbers.

A great British cast led superbly by Albert Finney with a nice turn from Alec Guinness.

My family are not massive musical fans but we absolutely adore this movie and it has become something of a Christmas tradition to watch it which we all look forward to.

If you have never seen this film I really do envy you - it is such a delight to discover for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is, Christmas!!!, 15 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Stunning..now how about Oliver the musical on Blu-Ray????. There are many brit films that must be updated to Blu-Ray and this is just one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars joint 2nd best ever., 6 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
this is the joint 2nd best screen adaptation of scrooge/christmas carol ever (joint with the muppet christmas carol). the scenery and sets really do invoke dickens` ye olde christmas. albert finney plays a good scrooge (not great) whilst alec guinness IS jacob marley fullstop. the songs are excellent and this is an ideal film to watch with the family on christmas eve. by the way incase you`re wondering...the first best adaptation is alastair sim`s movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY GOOD TRANSFER, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Robert C. Graham (OGMORE BY SEA, VALE OF GLAMORGAN United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This is a great film in itself and often underated by critics. The transfer is a very good one with beautiful colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Classic fun movie that no Christmas should be without. Hands down the best version of this story. Average Blu Ray transfer, with no extras. By the numbers release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
My previous CD to this Bluray was an old original format disc. Brilliant quality and enhanced picture quality, would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Ross (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
As a collector of Christmas Carol and all versions this is my favourite. Albert Finney is superb. If you haven't seen it you must. It will be a treat. Careful it's a musical!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free]
Scrooge [Blu-ray] [1970] [Region Free] by Ronald Neame (Blu-ray - 2011)
£7.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews