Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Juice is too sweet to put down!
Juice is an excellent movie that I never get tired watching. Guns and respect go hand-in-hand in the ghetto, and "Juice" dares to tell this to a mainstream audience. Although the story is told in a Hollywood manner you never doubt the events that take place haven't happened in reality at some point (except maybe the end). We meet our main characters through a montage...
Published on 25 Jun 2007 by Jenny J.J.I.

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Burnt DVD"
Only one star because it arrived on time.
I have no idea of what the film is about as it is unwatchable. Code 13
The film has been "burnt" onto the DVD.
If I had wanted a bootleg film I would have bought one from a street corner.
I feel as though I have been Robbed.
Published 13 months ago by son1


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Juice is too sweet to put down!, 25 Jun 2007
By 
Juice is an excellent movie that I never get tired watching. Guns and respect go hand-in-hand in the ghetto, and "Juice" dares to tell this to a mainstream audience. Although the story is told in a Hollywood manner you never doubt the events that take place haven't happened in reality at some point (except maybe the end). We meet our main characters through a montage which establishes the basic setting of the film. They are four black teenagers who live in Harlem, yet the way in which Dickerson depicts the atmosphere is not Gothic and pessimistic, just realistic.

First there's Q (Epps), a relatively quiet kid who aims to be a professional rap deejay someday, but he seems to be the only one who believes in himself. Then there's Bishop (Shakur), who's short-tempered, hyperactive, and apparently fearless. He always seems to be harassed by a Puerto Rican street gang, but he welcomes their violent challenges. It's hard to tell if he's doing it to keep his rep, or if he's got a death wish. There's also Steel (Hopkins), the generic funny-but-fat kid of the group whom the others constantly pick on. Finally, there's Raheem (Kain), the mediator of the group who seems the most responsible, although he does have an illegitimate child.

For the first 45 minutes there is almost no plot, just sheer character development and it's interesting to watch because it's a nice change of pace and the acting is superb. These four young men are an interesting group of characters as the script and their improvisation makes for great camaraderie. Few films are as driven by the acting as this film is. The heist scene is pulled off beautifully, and we realize how much of a talent we lost through Tupac's death. This is one of the best movies that Paramount gave us during the 1990s. The directing and script is also brilliant. In fact Tupac did one of the best acting jobs I've seen any musician do. I mean that guy did the best crazy-villain role I've ever seen..... well probably along side Wesley Snipe in New Jack City.

From the first shot to the last, JUICE is a heist flick set in a time where TRUE Hip-Hop was king. It makes me long for the days. I believe this movie was definitely a chilling reality about the ghetto's pride in respect and power. When your living in the ghetto, society automatically paints you out to be a low class individual, but this film brought to life the quest of 4 young men who wanted a name for themselves and did not just want to be another statistic or face in the crowd. Unfortunately the end of their journey left them just that. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juice [DVD] (DVD)
This film is one of the classics starring the great Tupac Shakur in his first starring role and doesn't fail to impress with the quality as an actor and with the supporting roles of Omar Epps. Good plot and definitely worth buying even if not a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Now you got the Juice", 29 Jan 2004
The film that ,although most of his 'fans' probably dont know it, redefined Tupac Shakur into the gangster rapper he was more widely known as. Juice is my favourite out of all the 'modern gangster' films..or maybe second behind 'Sugar Hill'. Although it doesnt contain the overall moral issues as John Carpenters 'Boyz N Tha Hood' does (or does it??), it does have a banging soundtrack and it's a little bit more action packed.
It's the tale of a group of friends who want to earn respect. So they decide to rob a local corner store. But things go a bit wrong when Bishop (Shakur) gets a little bit too attatched to the gun they bought especially for the job and bodies start falling. From there on we follow Bishops descent into a madness fuelled by paranoia and suddenly nobody trusts anybody anymore. And eventualy the four friends become just one. And along the way thrown in is a pretty good DJ battle contest featuring some ace scratching, a dash of Street Fighter II and some respectable acting. Shakur is great in his defining role as Bishop and so are all of his comrads (Q, Steel and Rahiem).
The music is supplied from greats such as Salt N Pepa, Eric B & Rakim, Naughty By Nature and Big Daddy Kane and fits the mood of life on the streets of Harlem. Unfortunatly the DVD lacks any special features and the film itself hasnt got a whole world of depth, but it's still a classic. Definetly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars "Burnt DVD", 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juice [DVD] (DVD)
Only one star because it arrived on time.
I have no idea of what the film is about as it is unwatchable. Code 13
The film has been "burnt" onto the DVD.
If I had wanted a bootleg film I would have bought one from a street corner.
I feel as though I have been Robbed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juice [DVD] (DVD)
Juice 1992 is a very good film and also this dvd is very rare. I would recommend this to any tupac shakur fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Juice dvd, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juice [DVD] (DVD)
I am happy with the item it worth watching juice it is good film I will recommend to friends and family good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gritty urban thriller, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Juice [DVD] (DVD)
Films about inner city life, and in particular, street 'thugs' or gangs, can go one of two ways. You get the good ones; gritty, close to the bone with violence shot in a certain way and with a story that can be quite deep about anything from revenge to sticking together. And then you get the bad ones; usually low budget knock-offs that use inner city violence and strong language with a formulaic story and a big name to sell discs whilst the film itself will generally have no real 'meaning' (Snitch'd being a great example). Usually, one thing both of these genre types have in common, is the appearance of a rap star, be it Ice Cube, Eminem (8 Mile), Snoop Dogg, Treach or Sticky Fingaz. Juice, has Tupac.

Tupac plays Bishop, one of four friends from the harsh streets of Harlem who spend their days in a local pool hall (ran by Samuel L. Jackson) hustling, playing truant from school, fighting and shoplifting. Although they take part in lower end criminal activity, they run away from anything more. However, hungry for power and happiness (which they refer to as 'the juice'), they decide to rob a local convenience store where Bishop shoots dead the owner. As things spiral out of control, their lives are changed forever.

Omar Epps (TV's House), Tupac Shakur (Poetic Justice), Jermaine Hopkins (Lean On Me) and Khalil Kain (TV's Girlfriends) play the four friends; Q, Bishop, Steel and Raheem well and their characters gel together perfectly. The characters themselves are developed throughout the film enough to get you to know their personality strengths and weaknesses fast, especially in the opening few scenes. We also get cameos from Samuel L. Jackson (Jackie Brown) as the owner of the local pool hall/arcade where the kids hang out when cutting school and from Queen Latifah as the owner of the club holding the Mixxmaster competition that Q enters. Both Jackson and Latifah appear a couple of times and although their screentime is short they are both welcome additions.

Director Ernest R. Dickinson, who was cinematographer on Spike Lee's early films, made a good first impression for his first feature length movie, working well with cinematographer Larry Banks to give the film that gritty, dark feel. As he also co-wrote the screenplay with Gerard Brown, it is obvious he achieved the look and feel he was aiming for.

As far as the story goes, it isn't the most original, however the character development, above average cast and gritty feel make this one of the better films based around inner-city life and what people feel they must do for respect of the nineties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Juice region 2, 5 Oct 2011
This review is from: Juice [DVD] (DVD)
This is it Tupac fans,finally we have a UK region 2 release of juice. This has to be one of the best Tupac movies ever made and it also stars Omar Epps who stars in HOUSE. A movie made by "Ernest R Dickenson", well written and a good hip-hop movie. I am very pleased with this purchase This is a fast paced movie and you will never get tired of watching it.

So do your self a favoure don't hesitate and grab your self a copy of this fun,witty movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WICKED, 9 Nov 2010
By 
Mrs. L. J. Gray (Hertfordshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juice [VHS][1991] (VHS Tape)
BOUGHT THIS FOR MY SON WHO HAS BEEN TRYING TO GET IT FOR AGES. HE WAS VERY PLEASED WITH IT, WATCHES IT OVER AND OVER AGAIN, EXCELLENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars juice, 2 Feb 2008
This review is from: Juice [VHS][1991] (VHS Tape)
this is the best movie tupac ever did he was so great in this movie people thort he was like that in really live
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Juice [DVD]
Juice [DVD] by Ernest R. Dickerson (DVD - 2011)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews