Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC
Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC
Having used a pure highway dab radio for a few years with a roof mounted mag mounted aerial, i already had experience of DAB.

For me Planet Rock is one of my loves especially on my daily drive to work.
So when i got myself a new car i decided to go for a new head unit with DAB instead of the...
Published on 13 Jan 2012 by Ian Mulhall

versus
31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, generic, packed with features.
This is my first review, and I'll be looking at this product as honestly as possible.

This is a great little radio, like it very much but it does have its drawbacks especially in terms of installation.

It's fairly generic looking and not too flashy and blends in well to your average generic car
and because it's generic looking it will be...
Published on 4 Sep 2011 by WRH


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap, generic, packed with features., 4 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
This is my first review, and I'll be looking at this product as honestly as possible.

This is a great little radio, like it very much but it does have its drawbacks especially in terms of installation.

It's fairly generic looking and not too flashy and blends in well to your average generic car
and because it's generic looking it will be unlikely to attract too much attention. Sometimes
generic is good. Might not be for you boy racers out there, but your Mum or Dad would probably like it.

It's not a powerful boom box driver but it's not too shabby, you shouldn't need to upgrade from your OEM speakers to use it.

Let's look at the features:

40 watts per channel - Most OEM speakers should cope with that, and any third party ones definitely should. Plenty of volume.

DAB - The main reason to buy this radio. At least in our Locality (Dewsbury, Wakefield, Leeds) we get a decent
signal. If you absolutely must have DAB and don't want one of those things hanging off the windscreen and don't
want to spend a huge amount of money then this is the way to go. Though it has to be said £110+ for a car radio
it's not that cheap. Tuning DAB on the move is probably a pain in the backside, best to save some presets to
flick through on the move.

DAB+ - For the future!

USB/SD CARD

Fancy having your entire music collection on one or two of memory cards or usb sticks. Using a card reader from a PC also works, you could use practically any memory card that way.

For MP3 I recommend fixed bit rates, 128, 160, 192 at 44100khz, I've known variable bit rate files to have problems on some players but not all, I just use fixed bit rate anyway as a safegaurd.

Good old FM - Just in case your DAB signal cuts out.

AUX PORT - Great for internet radio via your phone (if you've got the bandwidth allowance to cope with it and a good signal) or you could plug in
your mp3 player/Ipod/or phone even.

SECURITY - This is a face of stereo so you can take it with you.

All in all plenty of possibilities. Well worth the money I though which is why I've bought three of them. :D

INSTALLATION: So far I've fitted this in a 2002 model Vauxhaul Corsa. In my case I was converting from an OEM stero (Original manufacturers radio), I found I had to swap the ignition and 12v accessory (battery) wires to get this radio to remember settings.

I plan to install in a Peugeot 206 and a DAF CF85 HGV in the near future.

THE DOWNSIDES:

THE ARIEL: The DAB portion of radio requires it's own ariel which is conveniently supplied with the radio. There are separate plugs for both DAB and FM. The FM ariel plugs in to the usual spot.

The DAB ariel supplied is of the Magnetic variety and sticks to the outside of your car. Routing this cable with ariel to a suitable location where it doesn't look like a total bodge job might be hard for the novice fitter. The best bet is to put the ariel in place and feed it round the rubber seals in doors and gaps in the interior and exterior fittings to hide the cable making sure there are no pinch points (like closing doors etc).

A glass mount ariel might be a better alternative. Not everyone is going to be happy about ariels and cables hanging around.

If you live in an area where DAB signals are weak then this will be worthless as a DAB radio and will basically become an FM radio with SD and USB capability.

But it is future proof, it has many features, overall a good radio. If you can be bothered fitting it properly. Though that's going to be a problem for most after market DAB car radios.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC, 13 Jan 2012
By 
Ian Mulhall "mulaz" (Newcastle uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC
Having used a pure highway dab radio for a few years with a roof mounted mag mounted aerial, i already had experience of DAB.

For me Planet Rock is one of my loves especially on my daily drive to work.
So when i got myself a new car i decided to go for a new head unit with DAB instead of the tangle of wires and patchy reception and transmission you get with a pure highway.

The Beat 485 is one of the cheapest DAB head units you will find but for the money its fantastic.
Forget about the name this baby is pure class. with its supplied mag mount antenna i found faultless DAB or FM reception in the Tyneside region.

i have upgrade the aerial to a dedicated DAB/FM bee sting roof type courtesy of dabonwheels not because the one supplied is poor but only to loose the magnetic roof antenna and the cable running through the door frame.

So forget what other people say about poor DAB car reception and buy this great head unit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do it all cheaply & well (inc. good reception), 19 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
I am seriously impressed with this unit for the price. FM/DAB/CD-MP3/SD-Card/AUX all work & pretty much covers things (I don't need bluetooth, I jack-jack my phone into the AUX to play mp3's).

I was worried about the DAB reception but it's been fine - I've actually glued a flexible fridge magnet to my dashboard and normally have the mag mounted aerial (included in the kit!) inside the car. It usually gets a signal lying on the floor (I've had my car broken into too many times to leave it on show). It's easy enough to pop it on the roof in v. poor signal areas.

CD navigation is pretty good (always an issue with 200+ songs on a CD) but the fast fwd / back is quite slow & has to be held down - a pain if your want to scroll to the end of a 45min track!!! Fortunately the unit does remember where it turned off & starts from the same a place for MP3 CD's as well as normal CD's (& the SD card).

Travel announcements seem to work, but I've only had local ones so far.

If you have a google you should find the manual online so that should tell you how it works.

Downsides: The MP3 searching & info display could be better, the display is a bit bright, lots of buttons (but lots of functions!) sound quality I can't vouch for as I have cheap speakers but seems OK...

Upsides: Lots of (working) options, good FM & DAB reception, MP3 searching is OK, it saves the play position of recorded music, It's cheaper than most and comes with an aerial and a ISO adaptor which are quite pricey anyway. I needed an aerial adaptor (for my skoda) - 99p from ebay (radioworld) so all in all a real bargain.

NB I bought the 485 from Market Place seller: Car Audio Warehouse for £82.49.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good for the money, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
Unlike many, I dont review something until ive made good use of it. Ive had this in service now for a good month. It has its niggles, but on the whole it does what its meant to do, and does it rather well.

Firstly - installation. This is fitted in a 2007 Ford Fiesta. A wiring harness is needed, plus an adaptor for the FM antenna. The DAB antenna is a small magmount for on the car roof, fitted with thin coax and an SMA connector. This needed threading behind the dash, which could be tricky for anyone not used to doing this sort of thing (Im a radiocommunications engineer, so easy enough for me). The wiring harness (not supplied) made the rest of the wiring very quick and easy, but the radio required a switched live connection that the harness didnt give (not the radios fault!) that i provided using a self cutting splice.

Once installed, the radio looks very good, its surround is neat.

So, whats it like in use? Firstly, fitting the fascia is a little fiddly, it doesnt slip on as smoothly as a more expensive unit, but still, isnt really hard, just needs a bit of care to line up the end with the notches properly. Once attached it fits well. The fascia release button is a bit cluncky, and the spring behind that pushes it off is too easy to get at and could be damaged, but the recess of the radio really prevents anything doing so unless you start moving big things around in the front of the car!
The volume control knob is firm, solid, but a little small. The most common buttons your likely to want to use, the forward/back, are next to the volume control and are quite small, might be tricky if you have sausage fingers! But they have a good positive action. The power button is on the other side of the volume knob, and likewise is a bit too small really. Also, it needs a half second or so to operate, so a quick jab at it wont work, it needs a good firm push, but this is sensible as it prevents inadvertant operation.

This radio really does the lot! OK, so it no longer has LW, but apart from R4 what is there on LW? And R4 can be had on FM and DAB. It still does MW. You get three FM and three DAB bands (groups really) each with 6x memories/presets. DAB sensitivity is good, but i have to confess to being in a very good area for DAB and FM. If you put in a CD, USB drive or an SD card it automatically switches to that. I have a Sandisk Cruzer Fit USB drive 16GB permanantly fitted, so on power up it goes straight to my music collection. The radio will play MP3 and WMA files from any of these sources. Oddly, it doesnt like very small USB drives, it wouldnt read a 16MB one i tried, but works fine with a modern up to date one (which you'd want to use anyway to have a decent ammount of music on it).

There is a button that will start an auto tune and program for DAB, so if your in a new area it will find the strongest stations and automatically preset them for you. The downside is that this button is at the end of the presets, and is small and requires no button hold time or other safety feature, so its very easy to accidentally start this mode and overright all your carefully selected presets!

The equaliser settings are a preset selection which could do with being a tad better implemented, and the display does say 'TUNNING' rather than Tuning, when searching for stations. Oddly as well, the volume control works in even number steps. Volume output isnt overly great, the display range is 0-100, but on my generic Ford speakers 50-60 is more than enough for most rock and pops music, with 60-70 needed for spoken word or classical, and maybe a tad higher if i want to sing along, so i cant hear myself! Song info/station info is accessed by a button, and is very comprehensive, even giving DAB mux name and frequency, signal strength and quality etc

SO, all in all, im quite happy with it. For £140 all in, including the USB drive, wiring harness, release keys for old stereo, new fascia insert etc, its a nicely economical stereo to give MP3 and DAB capabilities.

Pros -
DAB, MP3 and WMA
Easy to install
USB and SD capabilities
Quite intuitive to operate
Good price

Cons -
Small buttons
Autotune button too easy to operate
No IR remote
No clock on display when OFF (Fiesta has no clock!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Car DAB radio, 5 Jun 2012
By 
Graham Ilsley - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
A good low budget DAB radio, comes with magnetic aerial which works OK but remember it has to go somewhere, alternative option is a strip aerial at extra cost! Also suggest research the cost of installation as this can be costly....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Stereo, 14 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
I never heard of the name BEAT before this purchase. I wanted a decently priced stereo system for my VW T4 as all top makes are very expensive.
I have to confess that this was a great purchase, plays my ipod and sd card no problem.
Very good sound over my speakers and sub.

Very good purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beat 485 DAB radio, 18 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
Nice product and good sound, but disappointed that it says it is TUNNING when it is tuning! Easy to install.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sound and Features 10/10, but..., 29 Jun 2012
By 
Peter M. StrÝmberg (Hinnerup Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
I am delighted with this radio, particularly because it is one of the cheapest on the market, yet comes with a DAB aerial that attaches magnetically to your roof. Installation was easy, as it replaced another radio with the same terminals.
My only gripe is the size of the buttons, and their position. The volume knob is a sturdy metal knurled thing, which is great, but then the main control buttons are placed right up against it, which feels uncomfortable. The chances of finding the right button without looking (i.e. while driving responsibly) are close to zero, so a co-pilot is recommended!

Having said that, this unit does it all sound wise. Great equaliser presets, I use the SD slot for music, but you can stick any mp3 player in too, either via audio jack or USB.
Sack the UI designer, but give the engineers a lollipop!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Straight forward stereo with great facilities, 2 Jun 2012
By 
TREVOR HOWARD (Dewsbury, West Yorks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMCBought to bring music to my classic car, the install made easy by well written instructions and supplied connectors. Remember to connect the "memory power line" to a power source before testing as the radio will not work without it connected. I get great DAB digital reception from the supplied aerial even though it is mounted internally using its magnetic base. The ability to play music from a USB stick, memory card or direct from your MP3 player via its headphone socket are all real bonuses. Don't let the bargain price put you off, this is a well made, highly functional unit providing great sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product!, 30 May 2012
By 
S. Herbert "suespoon" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beat 485 DAB Stereo CD MP3 Player, Front USB, Aux-In, SD MMC (Electronics)
Bought this to replace an old Kenwood car stereo in our ancient motorhome. What a difference! It is a super product and very good value for the money. Haven't yet worked out how to connect my mp3 to it to get my music through the speakers, but I'm working on it! The magnetic aerial is not brilliant as it tends to move slightly on the cab and then the stations get lost, but we will probably buy a bee-sting type later on to replace it. That said, I'm very pleased with this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews