Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Memorial in Film
This film is about the involvement of the British 1st Airborne Division at the Battle of Arnhem. What the film lacks in the skill of its actors and the blood and gore more prevalent in modern war films, is made up for in the authenticity of location and detail. Filmed within a year of the battle, the directors decided against using professional actors, instead making use...
Published on 28 Nov 2011 by G. Boniface

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars airborne into arnhem
the original bridge too far with survivors playing
the soldiers
quite authentic and gripping account of a
military blunder
black and white footage combined with actual
war footage
makes for a realistic setting
Published 23 months ago by angloaust


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Memorial in Film, 28 Nov 2011
By 
G. Boniface "No1wageslave" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Theirs Is The Glory [DVD] (DVD)
This film is about the involvement of the British 1st Airborne Division at the Battle of Arnhem. What the film lacks in the skill of its actors and the blood and gore more prevalent in modern war films, is made up for in the authenticity of location and detail. Filmed within a year of the battle, the directors decided against using professional actors, instead making use of actual veterans, both British and Dutch. The film was also shot in and around Arnhem and other locations before any significant reconstruction had occurred. The battle damage to the buildings and the key bridges so important in the real battle is authentic. Props used in the film are also authentic. You will see genuine German Panther tanks, and half-tracks being driven along the narrow Dutch streets, and the British paratroopers using PIATs, and 6 Pdr anti-tank guns in turn. There is also excellent original combat footage of the landings spliced into the story. In this sense, the movie is a fitting memorial to those who British paratroopers and Dutch civilians caught up in this monumental battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theirs truly is the glory!, 3 Oct 2006
By 
N. Yates (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this film for its historical context. The acting is pretty poor - and that's what makes it great, no Holywood stars in it for the money! The actors are soldiers who actually fought at Arnhem and returned after the war to help record their little piece of history. If you want a window into the past then look no further (it was filmed in Arnhem among the post-war ruins) and uses newsreel footage as well as re-enactment). If you enjoy military history without the Hollywod frills then this is a must for the collection. It is an often emotional tale - especially when you ponder for any length of time the number of men who never returned; Theirs is the Glory!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very unusual tribute, 17 April 2007
By 
James Christie (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is very unusual in that it used the soldiers who'd taken part in the battle only 11 months previously to recreate it on site. They were still serving soldiers, and that gives it an authenticity lacking in most war films. My father fought at Arnhem, and appeared in the film with a small speaking part. It was moving seeing and hearing my 21 year old father in this context.

He told me a story about how vivid the whole experience was for the "actors". There was a scene where two stretcher bearers had to carry a casualty on a stretcher when mortar shells started falling. There were charges placed in the ground, ready to be exploded at the right moment. The two soldiers set off carrying their casualty, and then when the charges started exploding the casualty leapt from his stretcher and dived for cover along with the other two. For these men, the war was more than just a memory.

Watching this film in the knowledge that these were the actual soldiers, in the very spot where they'd fought makes this film more moving and compelling that it could have been if professional actors had been used. Yes, the acting is a bit wooden at times, but everything else is movingly realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Bridge too far, 10 April 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I took my very good friend Ted Dempsey back to Arnhem last Year to visit The place where he landed by Glider in 1944.I bought Him a copy of this DVD..and He is on it..Awesome DVD,a real tribute to the Men that Fought on all Sides....forgot to mention that Ted is 87.This Film was recorded in 1945 using original Members of the Airborne Brigade that ACTUALLY fought the original battle of Arnhem.Ted Served with C (Company) 1st Battalion Border Regt,and was wounded and captured.A fitting tribute to Ted and all the Men of the Airborne Forces who fought so valiantly in this heroic action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 28 Oct 2011
This review is from: Theirs Is The Glory [DVD] (DVD)
For all people who have an interest in what happened during September 1944 in Oosterbeek, Arnhem, Renkum and Wolfheze, I have one word of advice:
buy this film.
Watch it, think about the changed lives of all those poor boys, Allied as well as Germans, and then add a sprinkling of understanding of the level of terrific hardships the Dutch population endured, think about the fatalities and bereavements, think of all the bravery and reflect!
Two things make this film very special: the fact that the actors are the actual soldiers and the final scene, in the Nissan hut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arnhem in black and white, 9 Dec 2011
This review is from: Theirs Is The Glory [DVD] (DVD)
Fascinating accompaniment to "A Bridge Too Far", with real troops, in real locations, plus some real footage. However, as you'd expect from a film made so close to when the events portrayed actually happened, this film lacks the more critical appraisal of Market Garden that you get from Cornelius Ryan's book or the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best war film ever made, 30 Mar 2012
This review is from: Theirs Is The Glory [DVD] (DVD)
in my opinion this is the best war film ever made to date.simply because you have men who actualey fought in the arnhem battle staring in the film, real soldiers, not actors, most of these brave men were suffering from shellshock/ pdsd, when they were making this film. during the making of the film they were still finding bodies of some of their comrades,and some of the streets could not be used for filming because of dangerous ruined buildings and uxb,s . I think the cast do a fantastic job under these conditions. And the kit in this film is fantastic, real horsa gliders, tiger tanks, panther tanks,panzer 111, 17 pdr anti tank gun, 6 pdr anti tank gun, 75mm pack gun , jeeps, bren carriers, dakotas, etc. I have been a arnhem buff all my life and have spoken to many vetrans of the battle over the years and i have so much respect for these guys , of which so many did not return to their loved ones, And i think this film is lasting testement to their courage , a fantastic film ,theirs truly is their glory
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arnhem - Their's is the glory, 22 April 2012
This review is from: Theirs Is The Glory [DVD] (DVD)
Raw original featuring those who fought and in the location they did so...great feeling of the fighting done by the men who have no need to act to a script....that fact alone says so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am prejudiced, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Theirs Is The Glory [DVD] (DVD)
I have one of the original films because my late father, the padre, is shown in the film, and was there at the time of the battle. The majority of the actors were there as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Theirs Is The Glory - Men Of Arnhem, 4 Jun 2010
A typical 40's/50's black and white war classic, re-enacted by men who fought in the Arnhem battle. You either love these films or hate them; and I loved this one. It was so real in so may ways.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Theirs Is The Glory [DVD]
Theirs Is The Glory [DVD] by Brian Desmond Hurst (DVD - 2011)
6.86
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews