Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the best of the best-ofs
There have been a good few Marmalade best-ofs out there over the years, but this one is probably the best of the best-ofs.

A two CD set, handily spilt into the sixties and the seventies, that certainly suits people like me, who didn't think their early pop hits were that special, but who thought that their metamorphosis into a fabulous soft rock outfit is...
Published on 24 Sept. 2011 by Mr. H

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fine Cuts Marmalade.
An album good covering Marmalades big hits and value for money. Although I don't listen to it very often and not a big fan.
Published 12 months ago by David


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the best of the best-ofs, 24 Sept. 2011
By 
Mr. H "Mr H" (Embra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
There have been a good few Marmalade best-ofs out there over the years, but this one is probably the best of the best-ofs.

A two CD set, handily spilt into the sixties and the seventies, that certainly suits people like me, who didn't think their early pop hits were that special, but who thought that their metamorphosis into a fabulous soft rock outfit is grossly underrated.

So there's 45 tracks on offer, with the hits, some rare material, soul covers from their early days, and a host of cracking early seventies rock tunes. Now, I'm not going to say that anyone really needs a Marmalade version of 'Hey Joe', but I will say that everyone needs a copy of 'Back On The Road', 'Rainbow', 'Radancer' and plenty more besides.

It's great to hear their journey from pedestrian pop band through their harmony vocal hits ala Hollies into the great pop rockers they ended up as. It's a very well put together package with some great memorabilia, along with some great liner notes straight from the horse mouth. In this case Junior Campbell, who serves up some nice reminiscences en route.

Cursed with the legacy of their Beatles cover, 'Ob-La-Di, Ob-La Da', this compilation shows us just what a great band Marmalade were, and why they should be lauded as one of the great Scotch rockers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MAGIC MARMALADE!!!, 28 Oct. 2011
By 
Tartanundies (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
When one now looks back on the legacy of the Marmalade we see a talented group of musical artists who have contributed greatly to the era of the mid to late 1960's and early 1970's music scene. They really peaked when they moved from CBS Records to Decca Records in the early 1970's. There is nothing new on this double album of songs but it is well packaged with extensive linear notes by Junior Campbell and a excellent photographic gallery of band images. Great classic hits but we should also not to forget to enjoy the magic of Empty Bottles, Can You Help Me, Kaleidescope and Super Clean Jean. A must get for ones music collection!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars there is a better collection than this one., 3 Oct. 2011
By 
Mark Jones (sheffield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
Although this looks like a fairly comprehensive collection of an overlooked band and knowing Salvo the presentation will be top notch,by far the best compilation of this group for the music is sanctuaries 2005 compilation 'The Ultimate Collection' which contains everything that they recorded for the CBS and Decca labels between 1965 and 1972, thats three albums, a host of non LP singles 'A's and 'B's plus EPs but the iceing on the cake in that collection is nearly an albums worth of previously unreleased material that has only ever appeared on 'The Ultimate Collection' and goes even further in highlighting what a great rock band they were primarily thanks to former Poets singer and guitarist Hugh Nicholson, 'Middle Of A Night' sounds like some eight and a half minute Badfinger classic and 'Out On A Dark Night' could easily be Wishbone Ash, guitars and vocals weaving intricate melodic patterns over seven and a half minutes, great stuff.
Sanctuary did release the CBS and Decca years seperately but they are now very difficult to get hold of. The packaging on the ultimate years gives the impression of a cheap budget compilation and would easily pass people by but take it from me it is the one you need to hear, as far as i know it has now been deleted but copies do turn up even in places like HMV. If you can't get your hands on that one then this is a worthy compilation and a fine presentation but if i could i would give the ultimate collection six stars just for the music.Why six? well, when you have pre-conceived ideas about a band it makes it even sweeter when your perceptions are radically altered.
Hugh Nicholson left Marmalade in 72 after writing some great songs because he knew that they would never be taken seriously as a Rock Band, he went on to persue his musical vision with the band Blue.
Marmalade would carry on and released an album on RCA in 74 called 'This House Is Rockin' which as far as i know has never been released on cd and was the last one to feature Dean Ford who also wanted to take Marmalade in a more 'Rock' orientated direction. After that they released an album on Target called 'The Only Light On My Horizon Now' in 76 but that has more in common with the Rubettes than West Coast Rock so tread carfully. Unless of course you are into the Rubettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A toast to The Marlmalade, 17 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
Great stuff by an almost forgotten band. Still a fresh sound today and perhaps they deserve more recognition for their achievements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars do you want jam on it?, 4 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
This "best of" compilation is spread over two CDs which could mean a lot of filler tracks but not in this case - quite the reverse. I was truly surprised by the quality and variety of the songs on offer here - both those from the 60s and the 70s. Yes I loved their hits, most of which are here, but the other stuff was somewhat of a revelation. There is an enormous range on offer here, from quiet introspection to rocky blues, all performed with vitality and talent. For me personally it was a chance to rediscover a song I remembered from the 60s, but have never been able to place, it turns out the song was "Wait for Me Maryanne". It only got to no 30 according to the sleeve notes - most unjust. Which brings me to another point, if you get the chance buy the CD rather than the download as you well get a beautifully presented product with an illuminating and enjoyable booklet - complete with photographs. This package has obviously been put together with a lot of love and care. If you have an interest in the music of the late 60s and early 70s I would suggest you may find this a rewarding purchase. For me, its been one of the best musical discoveries I have made in a long time. I have really enjoyed listening to the music of The Marmalade - what a great and possibly underrated group they were. Maybe their commercial success in terms of hit singles obscured the extent of their musical talent, if so this package should put the record straight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
Lots of good tracks that you had forgotton about! Would recommend this album, especially if you were there in the 60's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars takes me back, 12 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
i had forgotten just how good marmalade were and a mixture of their 60s and 70s in the same cd set is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Album, 23 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
Contains the original tracks of almost all the Marmalade's hits. The only hit missing is "Falling Apart at the Seams".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music Excellent price., 22 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
Music is very subjective, so any assessment has to be personal taste. My wife liked marmalade many years ago and this album has rekindled that memory. This double album provides as far as I can see just about all their best music. If you liked Marmalde you will like this. A good price for a lot of quality music, some happy and some introspective music, a great balance. Very varied style and good musical content. An excellent album to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 24 May 2014
By 
Michael R. Wiltshire (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade (Audio CD)
Bought for the Wife's Birthday. Good value, 2 CD's. It includes all the popular songs the band wrote and performed over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade
Fine Cuts - The Best Of Marmalade by Marmalade (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews