Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars PC Game
Thank you for this one but I download the game and put the code in and it was not that good because you have to buy other items to play it.
Published 17 months ago by D. J. Castleton

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for AoE gamers
Short version: This is a crossover between Farmville and Age of Empires. If you like both, you'll like this, but if you don't, read on.

Long version: So far, no reviews have explained the differences between Age of Empires Online (AOEO) and regular Age of Empires (AOE) titles such as AOE3. Here's a summary of the differences:
1) As you can see from the...
Published on 19 Sep 2011 by HerrKaputt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for AoE gamers, 19 Sep 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
Short version: This is a crossover between Farmville and Age of Empires. If you like both, you'll like this, but if you don't, read on.

Long version: So far, no reviews have explained the differences between Age of Empires Online (AOEO) and regular Age of Empires (AOE) titles such as AOE3. Here's a summary of the differences:
1) As you can see from the in-game images, the realistic graphics are dropped in favor of a cartoonish style which reminds me of Warcraft 3. This is not in itself a bad thing, it comes down to opinion.
2) The historical period depicted in the game is roughly similar to the one used in AOE2. Thus, you will have archers, spearmen, swordmen, etc, but not musketeers or cannons as in AOE3. Again, whether this is a pro or a con comes down to opinion.
3) The realism is considerably lower than in previous AOE editions. For example, there are items which "summon" 5 archers to fight at your side, similarly to the cards that were sent from your home city in AOE3. Even though the effect is the same, the fact that these units appear out of nowhere detracts from the realism (as opposed from being shipped from your Home City in AOE3). Furthermore, there are spell-like items which enhance your units' damage for a period of time, etc. Therefore, this is no longer a half-realistic game but a typical real-time strategy (RTS) title in this respect.
4) The business model is vastly different from any previous AOE titles. This is no longer a pay-and-own game like AOE2 or AOE3, but rather a game where a good part of the content is free (more on that later), and you can buy specific parts of the game for smaller prices than a full-fledged game. While a free game is obviously good in quality/price ratio, and the price of each civilization is relatively small (RRP of 20 pounds), the cost of the overall game is seriously overpriced. Note that with 40 pounds, the price of a normal game, you buy TWO civilizations. For comparison, AOE3 got you EIGHT civilizations, and it had a similar price when it launched.
5) The things to do are also different from previous AOE titles. The Home City concept from AOE3 is present: you still have a main city where you build buildings which give you certain upgrades: an item store to better outfit your troops, for example. The RPG-like element of AOE3's Home Cities are even more present in AOEO: you have crafting materials which you can use to create items, a tech tree much like Diablo 2's skill trees, blueprint stores for new buildings, etc. You cannot ever fill the entire tech tree, but only about half of it, even if you fully level your main city.
6) The multiplayer aspect is also quite different. While a MMO-like game such as AOEO could induce you to think that you'd be able to play big multiplayer matches, you can't. You are limited to small 1v1 or 2v2 games in PvP, and even then only in the paid version. On a positive note, the campaign mode contains some co-op missions which are an interesting twist from typical RTS modes. Sadly, these co-op missions are simply the single-player version of said missions with an extra town hall and a few extra villagers that the second player can control. In other words, there is not much added value from co-op missions: all of the missions simply become a bit easier because there are more starting resources on the human side if you co-op. Sadly, unless you practically beg on the chat for someone to team up with you, you will wait until the end of time for a co-op partner through the automatic system.
7) Finally, this game has an MMO (massively multiplayer online) flavor: you can chat with the other people on your server, trade items with them, visit their home cities (where you can undertake quests or buy stuff from their store, etc), etc.

So far, these are facts. As for my opinion, Microsoft deserves credit for thinking outside the box and creating what is probably the first MMORPG-RTS hybrid out there. Also, the return to an earlier period of History is something I like, but that is a matter of taste. However, in all other points I don't like this game. The cartoonish graphics are (in my opinion) a step down from the very nice graphics of AOE3, even with maxed settings -- I still get a "wow!" feeling in AOE3 when one of my heavy cannons scores a direct hit on an enemy infantry formation and the cannonball just pierces through it, sending several human bodies flying halfway across the map. You will most definitely NOT experience any feeling of the sort in AOEO. The existence of spell-like and summon-like items which you can "craft" severely detracts from the immersion I felt in AOE3. While the pay-per-civ model has a lower entry cost, the overall cost is ridiculously overpriced: at 20 pounds per civ, the eight civs of AOE3 would cost you 160! Even at half-price, as it is now here on Amazon, it's still expensive to pay 10 pounds for one civilization. The crafting and levelling is more confuse than it was in AOE3. The MMO dimension of AOEO is quite worthless: you can trade or team-up with specific players, but there is no auction house for server-wide trading, no co-op matchmaking system, and only 1v1 or 2v2 player-vs-player modes.

All in all, I appreciate the original concept but if you don't own AOE3 already, I recommend you spend your money there instead of on AOEO. If you already own AOE3 and you enjoy Farmville-like games, you will probably enjoy this, but you should always try the free version before you pay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Childish, 13 Sep 2011
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
I loved playing AoE for many years and took satisfaction from a meaningful strategy game that was based around historical fact. After waiting many years for AoE4 I was disappointed with this offering.

With AoE4 we now have more "fun" but this simply takes AoE away from its core values and leaves us with a new version of Settlers. The guidance rating has dropped from 12 to 3, which says much for the realism that AoE4 is lacking. Even my 10 year old son (who plays AoE3) considers the new game to be "for kids"!

Such a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Try before you buy, 1 Dec 2011
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
It almost looks like an AOE game. It may look cheap but youre only paying for a tiny part of the game. You only get 1 civ with this if you want others youll have to buy them too. If you want to play more than a few random quests youll have to buy more expansion packs.

The graphics are very poor and look like they belong on fb
The gameplay is still quite buggy. Your units dont do as you ask half the time. it can get very frustraiting.
The servers are not very good. If you dont live in the US youll lag trying to do just a 2 player coop. Not even worth trying 2v2
It lacks any real story to its single player quests.
It has a very poor AI so compensates by allowing the AI to "cheat" youll spend days/weeks getting items to make your troops stronger only for the AI to build "Elite" units that do 3x damage and have 3x health.

The game its trying to be a bit of everything and just fails to be good at any.

You can build and decorate your main city. It totally lacks any real customisation.A very limited amount of buildings. You cant even build roads and the few decorations costs more money.

It has a grindy quest rpg aspect. Again limited gear and quests that bug out when you try to play a coop with others.
The game is fun but only for a short time. Youll soon get bored of the same quest over and over again.

The pvp side is limited to just 1v1 and 2v2. No clans no lobby. you cant even choose who you play against.

I could easy go on for hours listing all the bad bit about the game.
There is so many better games out there. It should never have been released in this state its nowhere near ready.

Just looks like a quick cash in on an old title. A way to pull in some fast cash and move on. In its current state i cant see it lasting too long. The single player game is online only too so when the servers close your game is gone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PC Game, 20 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
Thank you for this one but I download the game and put the code in and it was not that good because you have to buy other items to play it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AOE IS BACK!, 31 Aug 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
I started playing aoeo last week and am hooked. (just bought upgrades)

It takes awhile to get used to, they have added alot "social" aspects to the game.

You can play normal single player and multi-player in a slightly different way.

You build your own city (this is outside of the actual game play)
In this city can buy upgrades and trade special items you find in games with other players.

In your city (and others) you will find quest givers. These quests are single player and co-op missions.

Im yet to try out the crete add on which is horde mode (waves of attacks).
You can play this again by yourself or with a friend.

There is also the spartan arena where you can play 1v1 or 2v2 pvp. This will be your standard multiplayer.

Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor advertising, 9 Sep 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
Due to a flaw in the advertising in this thing, upon loading up the game I was prompted to "UPGRADE NOW" on both civs, which I did. I then proceeded to buy the rest of the content before being made aware there is a "Season Pass", which would allow me to pay a straight up fee to get every bit of content released in the first 6 months.

ARE YOU KIDDING ME?! I've already purchased everything. There is no way to "upgrade" to the Season Pass to get 30% off. Due to an unresolved flaw in the management of MGS, I will only be able to get the Season Pass if I (that's right) pay not only for the content that isn't out yet, but for content I already have. It's really awful; telling us to "UPGRADE NOW" and afterwards making us aware we've been short changed.

I will not be buying any more of the content unless MGS allows be to purchase the Season Pass while taking into account what I've already purchased, hence the 1 star review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Money Making Scammers, 20 Sep 2011
By 
U. Tahir "Umer Tahir" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
First you have to pay initial price for the game and then for quests and add-ons you would be asked to pay for it or keep playing same mission hundred times to make enough coins to get over to the next step, while building your home city.
The graphics have been turned into cartoon chartacers type which makes it look quite childish.
If you get disconnection from internet during mid of your quest/mission, it just stops there and then you would have to restart the quest/mission again.

I was a big fan of Age of Empire games but after this release its impression is all down the drain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars POOR SUPPORT FOR PC, 21 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. C. Mann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
Having owned and played earlier versions of this game I am very suprised and dissapointed with this version. Do not buy it if you want it for pc. instead download the free version online. The reason i say this is I have uptil now been unable to get any benefit from paying for the bought version, as the online system keeps crashing when i try to redeem the code.The website offers no help on the issue and as such i have access to the free version only,
When you pay for this product all you recieve is a 20 digit code for the upgrade on a card, however if the site isnt working properly then it is useless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A rip off and a rubbish game!!, 23 Aug 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
OK, I am a huge fan of the AoE dynasty - until now.

I downloaded the free version, as I was not prepared to pay for a game with just TWO civs. Straight away, I was put off by the lame graphics - it reminds me of the old Asterix cartoons. Once into the gameplay, I became bored very quickly. There's no real storyline to it, just single missions to learn how to play, with one or two upgrades, then obviously multiplayer.

It occured to me that the people who purchase all of the civs as they become available would have to use all of those civs, in different cities, to get their money's worth. Nothing really adds up about this game.

The other gripe was that after just a few hours play, I logged back on and my city had been WIPED. Oh, and that was before a crappy logging in error started - LF004, which I am sure many of you will come across. If you have to play it, stick with the free download - it will ensure that you don't part with your money buying the so-called upgrades.

I grew up with the brilliant AoEII, and in light of that, I am sad to say that AoE online is a huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars much ado about nothing., 20 Oct 2011
By 
Bumblesquat "in the dark" (Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Age of Empires: Online (CD-ROM)
I have mixed feelings about this product it was not easy to initiate, and then I was not sure if it was working properly the progress was tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Age of Empires: Online
Age of Empires: Online by Microsoft (Windows 7 / Vista / XP)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews